Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 6Z+5.349653
In a single moment, everything changes. Seventeenyear- old Mia has no memory of the accident; she can only recall riding along the snow-wet Oregon road with her family. Then, in a blink, she fi nds herself watching as her own damaged body is taken from the wreck...

A sophisticated, layered, and heartachingly beautiful story about the power of family and friends, the choices we all make—and the ultimate choice Mia commands.

Hardcover
ISBN-10: 0385616201
ISBN-13: 9780385616201
84 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Swimmer Monday, July 22, 2019 at 8:24 am
    The book is soo good makes me sad in some parts of it which doesn’t happen a lot
    • freckleface04
      freckleface04Wednesday, December 19, 2018 at 7:53 am44 stars
      this book is very interesting and i hope she goes back to her body it is very sad how she sees everyone but cant really go anywhere
      • grapefruit
        grapefruitFriday, November 17, 2017 at 4:20 am55 starsFeatured
        Mia has a beautiful future--a music-academy scholarship, an emo-core FAMOUS punk star boyfriend, the perfect family that everyone wants.But then her life changes terribly.A car accident leaves her beloved parents dead, and Mia herself is severely injured and of medical need.Then a strange thing happens--Mia finds herself looking at her ruptured body being carried to the hospital, watching herself being repaired, fixed...She starts thinking about her past life-her beautiful relationship with Adam the punk rocker, her rebel BFF Kim, her cellist dreams..everything drifts through her mind, bringing pain and happiness to her fragile heart.As Mia nears death,Adam grabs her hand--and FLASH!Mia is back in her own body, feeling more alive and staring back at Adam.This is the book that makes you wanna cry, smile, and throw the book against a wall at the same time!It is so touching you will want to read it again, again and again.Fans of THE FAULT IN OUR STARS by John Green will love this and all the other books by SPEAK publishers!
        • heidinger6
          heidinger6Wednesday, January 18, 2017 at 7:40 am
          If I Stay By Gayle Forman In the book “If I Stay” there are 2 main characters, Mia & Adam. The book takes place outside, and in a hospital. There is a very tense moment at the end. It is a young adult fiction. The book is about a girl (Mia) that likes a boy (Adam). Mia and her family get in a car crash, and the whole family dies except one person… Can you guess who it is? My favorite part in the book is when they get in a car crash and her soul takes over. When she is in the hospital nobody can see her soul. So she starts to freak out. I would recommend this book if you like relatable books or if you like book that make you tense up. This book took me about six days to read. I also watched the movie that went with it..
          • dogwithpaws260
            dogwithpaws260Thursday, March 3, 2016 at 9:08 am44 stars
            This book is really emotional I would cry and smile I fell in love it's all of the characters they are just to sweet.
            • 22taylokaml
              22taylokamlWednesday, March 2, 2016 at 3:53 pm55 stars
              i've watched the movie its a really sad movie.But it grabs your attention without you noticing and then all of a sudden your reading the book.
              • cater
                caterWednesday, March 2, 2016 at 8:36 am44 stars
                At first this may not grab your attention, but just keep on reading it. I'm sure you'll like it. Watch the movie after reading. Movies ruin books!!!
                • Miranda sings Tuesday, February 2, 2016 at 8:39 am
                  I think the book of I stay is a wonderful book it made me read and that never happens thinks go you gayle Forman you got ME to read!!!!!!!! Xoxoxo puglife/thuglife
                  • adaia1234
                    adaia1234Thursday, January 28, 2016 at 5:27 am
                    I like this book its sad. I like the way they put the book together if you like true love books than this is the book for you
                    • melodyt
                      melodytThursday, January 28, 2016 at 2:11 am
                      This book is really sad and emotional, I think that this is a really really true story. many people on earth is lonely no family member. When Mia was in the hospital she wasn't dead but then her soul was already not inside her body. Love is the most important thing in the world. love can make someone alive. Love makes everything better. I recommend this book to people who is sad and I think that this book will really help you and encourage.