Ida B: . . . and Her Plans to Maximize Fun, Avoid Disaster, and (Possibly) Save the World

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10U5.335137

Who is Ida B. Applewood? She is a fourth grader like no other, living a life like no other, with a voice like no other, and her story will resonate long after you have put this book down. How does Ida B cope when outside forces—life, really—attempt to derail her and her family and her future? She enters her Black Period, and it is not pretty. But then, with the help of a patient teacher, a loyal cat and dog, her beloved apple trees, and parents who believe in the same things she does (even if they sometimes act as though they don't), the resilience that is the very essence of Ida B triumph...and Ida B. Applewood takes the hand that is extended and starts to grow up.

This first novel is both very funny and extraordinarily moving, and it introduces two shining stars—Katherine Hannigan and Ida B. Applewood.

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on August 17, 2004 by Greenwillow Books
ISBN-10: 0060730242
ISBN-13: 9780060730246
29 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • joshua54321
    joshua54321Thursday, February 20, 2020 at 3:08 pm33 stars
    I rate this book a 3 star rating because though it was a great book overall I think this was too sad for me. Ida B. Applewood lives in a world where everything is pretty near perfect. Her parents love her, and she loves them. The three of them live on a beautiful Wisconsin farm with lots of land, an apple orchard and a brook. And she has Rufus, a slobbery dog, to keep her company. Ida B has plenty of time to be alone, and she relishes being able to talk to the trees (whom she has named) and share her plans. Read more to find out what happens next! Tee connection I made was that I always have time to be alone.
    • savv0100
      savv0100Thursday, October 17, 2019 at 2:42 pmFeatured
      I always see inspirational poems and quotes all around my school, which really made me think about this book. Fourth grader Ida B is always living her life the same, by going outside and listening to the trees talk when all of a sudden the punk out of the trees ,Paulie T, warns Ida B about something bad that is going to happen. Of course Paulie T never tells the truth so Ida B doesn't believe him. Ida B soon finds out she is going to have to go to school and she is excited. When she got to school everything goes bad, her teacher calls her Ida (which you don't call her that because that's her mom's name,)she has to follow a LOT of rules, and doesn't get to have fun. So eventually after two weeks in school her parents announce that she is going to be home-schooled. Everything was fine until a couple years later, on one early morning ,her parents aren't acting the same. She asks what happened and they refuse to tell. Later they finally confess to her mom being diagnosed with cancer. Read more to see what happened! My connection to this book is that my grandma got diagnosed with cancer and passed away a month later.
      • gekixejago
        gekixejagoTuesday, November 7, 2017 at 11:27 am55 stars
        This book is really good. It describes a lot about how you can make things better.
        • 05cjackson
          05cjacksonWednesday, March 1, 2017 at 4:33 pm
          This book is so amazing. I read it in fourth grade an I have to say, it is probably one of my favorite books!
          • ley2006bookTuesday, January 3, 2017 at 9:28 am
            This book is really sad ,but it is still interesting.Also this book is lovely!
            • ajg16
              ajg16Thursday, December 8, 2016 at 7:19 am44 stars
              Ida b. (don't call her Ida that's her mothers name.) Has a hard life when her mother gets cancer and her dad has to sell parts of there land to pau medical bills. I really enjoyed this book imgive it 4 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐
              • knightowls
                Ms. KnightThursday, October 1, 2015 at 4:02 pm55 stars
                This is such a wonderful story. It will keep you turning the pages, a smile on your face, and maybe even an occasional tear.
                • hippogirl
                  hippogirlFriday, June 5, 2015 at 7:53 am
                  I started reading this book and it is very interesting I think that it is cool how the author writes the book how Ida B. talks to trees and there is something bad that the trees say is coming so she goes to a tree and asks him about it.
                  • smellyporkchop5000jr
                    smellyporkchop5000jrThursday, February 26, 2015 at 12:43 pm55 stars
                    My favorite part of the book was when , Ida B talked to the trees and the brook because............ she always talked to them in a funny way and she heard them in her heart. I recommend this book to anyone who likes sad/funny types of books! Thanks For Reading!
                    • may152003
                      may152003Wednesday, February 4, 2015 at 6:19 pm44 stars
                      I really like this book and it is awesome. I have to recommend it to everyone! Please don't call her Ida, her name is Ida B. Ida is her mother's name.