Ida B: . . . and Her Plans to Maximize Fun, Avoid Disaster, and (Possibly) Save the World

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10U5.335137

Who is Ida B. Applewood? She is a fourth grader like no other, living a life like no other, with a voice like no other, and her story will resonate long after you have put this book down. How does Ida B cope when outside forces—life, really—attempt to derail her and her family and her future? She enters her Black Period, and it is not pretty. But then, with the help of a patient teacher, a loyal cat and dog, her beloved apple trees, and parents who believe in the same things she does (even if they sometimes act as though they don't), the resilience that is the very essence of Ida B triumph...and Ida B. Applewood takes the hand that is extended and starts to grow up.

This first novel is both very funny and extraordinarily moving, and it introduces two shining stars—Katherine Hannigan and Ida B. Applewood.

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on August 17, 2004 by Greenwillow Books
ISBN-10: 0060730242
ISBN-13: 9780060730246
27 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • gekixejago
    gekixejagoTuesday, November 7, 2017 at 11:27 am55 stars
    This book is really good. It describes a lot about how you can make things better.
    • 05cjackson
      05cjacksonWednesday, March 1, 2017 at 4:33 pm
      This book is so amazing. I read it in fourth grade an I have to say, it is probably one of my favorite books!
      • ley2006bookTuesday, January 3, 2017 at 9:28 am
        This book is really sad ,but it is still interesting.Also this book is lovely!
        • ajg16
          ajg16Thursday, December 8, 2016 at 7:19 am44 stars
          Ida b. (don't call her Ida that's her mothers name.) Has a hard life when her mother gets cancer and her dad has to sell parts of there land to pau medical bills. I really enjoyed this book imgive it 4 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐
          • knightowls
            Ms. KnightThursday, October 1, 2015 at 4:02 pm55 stars
            This is such a wonderful story. It will keep you turning the pages, a smile on your face, and maybe even an occasional tear.
            • hippogirl
              hippogirlFriday, June 5, 2015 at 7:53 am
              I started reading this book and it is very interesting I think that it is cool how the author writes the book how Ida B. talks to trees and there is something bad that the trees say is coming so she goes to a tree and asks him about it.
              • smellyporkchop5000jr
                smellyporkchop5000jrThursday, February 26, 2015 at 12:43 pm55 stars
                My favorite part of the book was when , Ida B talked to the trees and the brook because............ she always talked to them in a funny way and she heard them in her heart. I recommend this book to anyone who likes sad/funny types of books! Thanks For Reading!
                • may152003
                  may152003Wednesday, February 4, 2015 at 6:19 pm44 stars
                  I really like this book and it is awesome. I have to recommend it to everyone! Please don't call her Ida, her name is Ida B. Ida is her mother's name.
                  • 00022939
                    00022939Wednesday, January 14, 2015 at 5:27 am55 stars
                    i love this book
                    • caitlin_ortiz
                      caitlin_ortizTuesday, January 13, 2015 at 8:01 am44 stars
                      my sister has read it and said it was sad:(