I Survived the Sinking of the Titanic, 1912

Book 1 of 18 in the I Survived Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5Q3.910437
The most terrifying events in history are brought vividly to life in this new fictional series! In book 1, ten-year-old George is trapped on the Titanic -- how will he survive?

Ten-year-old George Calder can't believe his luck -- he and his little sister, Phoebe, are on the famous Titanic, crossing the ocean with their Aunt Daisy. The ship is full of exciting places to explore, but when George ventures into the first class storage cabin, a terrible boom shakes the entire boat. Suddenly, water is everywhere, and George's life changes forever.

Lauren Tarshis brings history's most exciting and terrifying events to life in this New York Times bestselling series. Readers will be transported by stories of amazing kids and how they survived!
Hardcover, 112 pages
Published on June 1, 2010 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545206871
ISBN-13: 9780545206877
231 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • catholic
    catholicFriday, July 24, 2020 at 1:15 pm55 stars
    I would really like to read this book because I only saw the movie. I'ts better to read the book than watching the movie so you can learn the history. Also this story is 107 years old and no I did not search how old it is but I know that my grandfather is only 1 year older than this story because he was born in 1911!
    • magicalmythical
      magicalmythicalMonday, June 15, 2020 at 5:49 pm55 stars
      I loved how the author had written the beginnings with parts of the story. Its so exciting and amazing! When I first read this book, the beginning convinced me that this book will be exciting for me. And when I finished the book, I was stunned. Then, BOOM! I loved it!
      • temit
        temitMonday, April 13, 2020 at 9:14 am11 star
        it seems intresting
        • acalzoa
          acalzoaWednesday, March 11, 2020 at 5:11 pm44 stars
          There this boy named George, his little sister phoebe and his Aunt Daisy went on the ship. One day George met these people who show him a layout of the ship. One night at twelve the Titanic hit an iceberg it was so dark the ship did not see it they tried there best to turn the ship around but it was too late. The side of the ship was all mess but there were wholes in the ship which made water going thought the ship much faster people running as fast as they can to get on a lifeboat there was only one problem there wasn't enough lifeboats for everyone. Read this book to see if his family survived the sinking ship. This book reminds of time if I went on a boat would this start to sink I would be so scared and I'm not the best swimmer. I give this book a four because I read so many books about the Titanic I knows what happen but I like this book because I love the thing about our history.
          • boy kidThursday, February 27, 2020 at 8:51 am
            A boy named George, his little sister Phoebe, and his aunt Aunt Daisy went on the Titanic when George met the person who made the ship who showed him a diagram of the ship and he met Enzo And Marco who were Italian . But when the ship sinks there is a problem and it is who will survive. But then George tried to escape. He met the same person that George met when he was sneaking out at night. I felt so excited when the end came closer and when I finished the book I was so entertained that it even gave true facts about the Titanic and how many people survived.I would recommend it to someone who loves short chapter books and likes facts about the Titanic.
            • bubblegumermaid
              bubblegumermaidSaturday, February 29, 2020 at 3:48 am
              Thx for telling me a bit about the book now i know if i want to get it
            • big_bobby_2008
              big_bobby_2008Monday, February 24, 2020 at 9:05 am44 stars
              This book was very interesting. It is nice to see a new point of view from accidental disasters that happened before I was even born! It was cool how George would be very descriptive and funny. I would rate this and recommend it for 4-6 graders.
              • mwyso13579
                mwyso13579Sunday, February 23, 2020 at 7:31 pm33 stars
                I didn't really love this book because it didn't give me a lot of information about the actual titanic sinking and more of an idea of what actually happened. Don't get me wrong, the concept and how they put it together was great, but it didn't really give me the feeling of being with the book. That is why I am only giving it three stars.
                • bookfan2008
                  bookfan2008Saturday, January 25, 2020 at 5:54 pm22 stars
                  i just read it it was okay but im not a big fan of the book
                  • crazytaco1
                    crazytaco1Tuesday, January 21, 2020 at 6:52 pm33 stars
                    it was 100% a historical fiction book it wasn't like the other ones I don't know.
                    • jayden6924
                      jayden6924Friday, January 10, 2020 at 11:57 am33 stars
                      I didn't like this book. It didn't really give me the feeling that other I survived books do. It is about a boy named George. He was coming back from England. He was on the Titanic and he sunk. I cant relate to this book whatsoever.