I Survived the Sinking of the Titanic, 1912

Book 1 of 18 in the I Survived Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5Q3.910437
The most terrifying events in history are brought vividly to life in this new fictional series! In book 1, ten-year-old George is trapped on the Titanic -- how will he survive?

Ten-year-old George Calder can't believe his luck -- he and his little sister, Phoebe, are on the famous Titanic, crossing the ocean with their Aunt Daisy. The ship is full of exciting places to explore, but when George ventures into the first class storage cabin, a terrible boom shakes the entire boat. Suddenly, water is everywhere, and George's life changes forever.

Lauren Tarshis brings history's most exciting and terrifying events to life in this New York Times bestselling series. Readers will be transported by stories of amazing kids and how they survived!
Hardcover, 112 pages
Published on June 1, 2010 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545206871
ISBN-13: 9780545206877
217 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • wartinaly
    wartinalyFriday, October 18, 2019 at 6:50 am11 star
    I really didn't like this book because it didn't give to much information ,and that the timeline was going pretty fast of the story.
    • dr_alexei
      dr_alexeiThursday, September 26, 2019 at 7:43 pm33 stars
      when i was in 3rd grade i love learning about the titanic in 1912! i was so interested that i couldn't stop reading about it!
      • willhuffman667
        willhuffman667Thursday, September 26, 2019 at 5:21 pm44 stars
        I Survived the Sinking of the Titainic is by Lauren Tarshis. George was in a good relashonship with his sister. He was always in truoble, and loved to go on adventures. I think that reader 9-12 years of age would like this book. I liked this book and I think you will too.
        • shantzj
          shantzjThursday, September 19, 2019 at 4:58 pm44 stars
          "I Survived The Sinking of the Titanic," is about a boy named George who survived the sinking of the Titanic. George was a trouble maker and like to mess around. He was on board with his sister Phoebe, and his aunt Daisy, they were heading back home to New York City. They were come back from visiting aunt Daisy, in England. They were eating Dinner at the restaurant on board and a man told them that there was a Egyptian Princess on board, and it was 600 years old. They were confused but as the man was talking he said that it was a mummy. That night George waited until Phoebe and aunt Daisy were asleep and then he went down to the fist class luggage area. Not long after George came back to the room, men came nocking on there Dore and said that the ship was sinking and that you need to get on the deck. Aunt Daisy went to get Phoebe up, but she was gone. Find out if Aunt Daisy and Phoebe also survive when you Read "I Survived The Sinking Of The Titanic,"
          • izzyblue
            izzyblueFriday, May 24, 2019 at 11:05 am55 stars
            i had read like every single on of this books execpet this one
            • selo4
              selo4Thursday, May 23, 2019 at 11:04 am55 starsFeatured
              This book is a great book! It teaches you about history. As George who is a 10 year old boy was on the titanic ship. He was on it, the time that was starting to sink down. People screamed, cried, and were jumping off. But George just stood there. If you didn't know which you should know if your like 10+ the titanic took place in April 14th, 1912. This is probably one of my favorite I survived books. As George was there standing he was thinking about how scared he was. It is such an amazing book and I really recommend it! Hopefully you enjoy this book as much as I did. By the way, this book is not boring, it's a very exciting book. -Selo4
              • wolfdog
                wolfdogWednesday, May 1, 2019 at 8:58 am55 starsFeatured
                ''UNSINKABLE!!'' Well, not exactly. This is a historical fiction book, taking place on April 15th 1912, but you should already know your history! George Calder is the main character in this short (but still very awesome) novel. He boards the Titanic for one reason-- to see his father! George explores the inside of the soon-to-sink cruise ship, he even tries to find a mummy in the ship! But at precisely 2:20 AM on a COLD, LONELY night, the ship SINKS. The novel portrays exactly what it must've been like when the guests realized the ship WAS SINKING! Screaming, the sound of waves crashing, the devastating wreck, and how George felt about this terribly awful situation! I promise you this book isn't just the titanic sinking, it has more, it has more about George's life and why he's crossing the titanic, and the aftermath of it ALL. I recommend you READ IT because it SURE sent shivers down MY spine and it was so TENSE to read!
                • queen_glory
                  queen_gloryThursday, March 28, 2019 at 4:54 am55 stars
                  My favorite I Survived book!
                  • loner
                    lonerFriday, March 22, 2019 at 12:40 pm55 stars
                    Unsinkable 😡
                    • johnny0 Thursday, March 7, 2019 at 12:32 pm
                      My friend likes this book