I Survived the Sinking of the Titanic, 1912

Book 1 of 18 in the I Survived Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5Q3.910437
The most terrifying events in history are brought vividly to life in this new fictional series! In book 1, ten-year-old George is trapped on the Titanic -- how will he survive?

Ten-year-old George Calder can't believe his luck -- he and his little sister, Phoebe, are on the famous Titanic, crossing the ocean with their Aunt Daisy. The ship is full of exciting places to explore, but when George ventures into the first class storage cabin, a terrible boom shakes the entire boat. Suddenly, water is everywhere, and George's life changes forever.

Lauren Tarshis brings history's most exciting and terrifying events to life in this New York Times bestselling series. Readers will be transported by stories of amazing kids and how they survived!
Hardcover, 112 pages
Published on June 1, 2010 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545206871
ISBN-13: 9780545206877
213 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • izzyblue
    izzyblueFriday, May 24, 2019 at 11:05 am55 stars
    i had read like every single on of this books execpet this one
    • selo4
      selo4Thursday, May 23, 2019 at 11:04 am55 starsFeatured
      This book is a great book! It teaches you about history. As George who is a 10 year old boy was on the titanic ship. He was on it, the time that was starting to sink down. People screamed, cried, and were jumping off. But George just stood there. If you didn't know which you should know if your like 10+ the titanic took place in April 14th, 1912. This is probably one of my favorite I survived books. As George was there standing he was thinking about how scared he was. It is such an amazing book and I really recommend it! Hopefully you enjoy this book as much as I did. By the way, this book is not boring, it's a very exciting book. -Selo4
      • wolfdog
        wolfdogWednesday, May 1, 2019 at 8:58 am55 starsFeatured
        ''UNSINKABLE!!'' Well, not exactly. This is a historical fiction book, taking place on April 15th 1912, but you should already know your history! George Calder is the main character in this short (but still very awesome) novel. He boards the Titanic for one reason-- to see his father! George explores the inside of the soon-to-sink cruise ship, he even tries to find a mummy in the ship! But at precisely 2:20 AM on a COLD, LONELY night, the ship SINKS. The novel portrays exactly what it must've been like when the guests realized the ship WAS SINKING! Screaming, the sound of waves crashing, the devastating wreck, and how George felt about this terribly awful situation! I promise you this book isn't just the titanic sinking, it has more, it has more about George's life and why he's crossing the titanic, and the aftermath of it ALL. I recommend you READ IT because it SURE sent shivers down MY spine and it was so TENSE to read!
        • queen_glory
          queen_gloryThursday, March 28, 2019 at 4:54 am55 stars
          My favorite I Survived book!
          • loner
            lonerFriday, March 22, 2019 at 12:40 pm55 stars
            Unsinkable 😡
            • johnny0 Thursday, March 7, 2019 at 12:32 pm
              My friend likes this book
              • fsertufgWednesday, March 6, 2019 at 6:14 am
                I love this book
                • aaa57
                  aaa57Saturday, March 2, 2019 at 9:46 am44 stars
                  I quite liked this book. It was wonderful I loved listening to it on audio book.
                  • aaa57
                    aaa57Wednesday, February 20, 2019 at 2:29 pm44 stars
                    Good book. I love Marco.
                    • addiekatee
                      addiekateeTuesday, February 19, 2019 at 7:05 am
                      I read this book with my classmates in fourth grade is is amazing