I Survived the Sinking of the Titanic, 1912

Book 1 of 18 in the I Survived Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5Q3.910437
The most terrifying events in history are brought vividly to life in this new fictional series! In book 1, ten-year-old George is trapped on the Titanic -- how will he survive?

Ten-year-old George Calder can't believe his luck -- he and his little sister, Phoebe, are on the famous Titanic, crossing the ocean with their Aunt Daisy. The ship is full of exciting places to explore, but when George ventures into the first class storage cabin, a terrible boom shakes the entire boat. Suddenly, water is everywhere, and George's life changes forever.

Lauren Tarshis brings history's most exciting and terrifying events to life in this New York Times bestselling series. Readers will be transported by stories of amazing kids and how they survived!
Hardcover, 112 pages
Published on June 1, 2010 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545206871
ISBN-13: 9780545206877
244 Book Reviews
  • cocoa14
    cocoa14Monday, April 19, 2021 at 6:54 am
    I soooooo want to read this book. I made up a little challenge for myself that i have to read 13 books before the next school year and that book is in my reading list online and in my book basket which holds all 13 books except 1 because I'm reading it. Tell me if any of you have read Saving Zasha. But i totally want to read the book "i survived the sinking of the titanic.
    • hermionereader
      hermionereaderFriday, April 16, 2021 at 6:39 pm55 stars
      This book was really short, but that's probably because I was so engaged the whole time and never once thought to take a break from it! Also, even though they're short, they're only about $5 dollars each, and I can see myself rereading this book at some point, making it worth the money. Lastly, these books are great for teaching you about different events in history, and this book really made me realize how traumatic the sinking of the Titanic was. All in all, I recommend this book a lot!
      • givylusu-161642451477
        givylusu-161642451477Monday, March 22, 2021 at 7:55 am55 stars
        I enjoyed how the book was silly, realistic, and tragic.
        • ivywolf
          ivywolfThursday, March 4, 2021 at 3:44 pm33 stars
          I haven't read this book for like two years, but I remember it was quite a thriller. All the I survived series books are great fictional recreations of historical events.javascript:void(0)
          • 90mk
            90mkTuesday, January 19, 2021 at 2:17 pm11 star
            I can't open the book but I love the Arthur,!
            • rileylovesjesus
              rileylovesjesusWednesday, January 6, 2021 at 6:12 pm55 stars
              I listened to this book in epic
              • 90mk
                90mkTuesday, January 19, 2021 at 2:18 pm11 star
                you now epic 😎
              • Megan SchweizerThursday, December 24, 2020 at 10:45 am
                My kid always reads these I survived books he is in second grade and 4.0 reading level!
                • aininakifaaidan
                  aininakifaaidanTuesday, December 1, 2020 at 12:51 am
                  I think it was romantic that Rose and Jack fell in love and the sacrifice between themselves is risky though.
                  • Hailey502jasyjaSaturday, November 7, 2020 at 6:39 am
                    This movie i watched so many times it is a true story and the titanic is still underground the water and there is objects and people that survived.🤷‍♂️🤗
                    • jb9
                      jb9Thursday, October 29, 2020 at 4:34 am55 stars
                      I love learning about her titanic