Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5R3.910272
Based on true events! It's the summer of 1916 and the Jersey shore is being terrorized by a Great White shark. Can 10-year-old Chet and his friends survive a swim in the local creek?

In the summer of 1916, ten year-old Chet Roscow is captivated by the local news: A great white shark has been attacking and killing people up and down the Atlantic coast, not far from Chet's hometown of Springfield, New Jersey.

Then one day, swimming with his friends, Chet sees something in the water ...
Hardcover, 112 pages
Published on September 1, 2010 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 054520688X
ISBN-13: 9780545206884
91 Book Reviews
  • nightmare2
    nightmare2Saturday, February 20, 2021 at 10:36 am55 stars
    I love I Survived books I read most of them and I have 3 of them. this is probaly my favorite out of the series or maybe the bear one. *gives five star rating*
    • kittylover111
      kittylover111Monday, February 8, 2021 at 7:18 am44 stars
      This is a dangerous story with SHARKS. There are rumors is it, sharks are around them and people keep coming across them. I like it, and this is a pretty good book.
      • roxiewolf
        roxiewolfThursday, February 4, 2021 at 4:49 am44 stars
        i am so scared of sharks but this is a good read
        • Alicat5204Wednesday, February 3, 2021 at 4:43 pm
          This is a great book about a kid named chet roscow who gets a close encounter with a shark. For anyone who is 3rd grade and down will love this book and think it's exiting. I really loved this book. I hope I get lots of good reviews on this. I recommend this book to young readers.
          • jayden6924
            jayden6924Thursday, March 12, 2020 at 7:25 am33 stars
            This book is about Chet Roscow, a boy who lives in Springfield, New Jersey. He sees on the news that there recently has been shark attacks near his hometown on the Atlantic coast. One day Chet was swimming with his friends then he sees something. He takes a moment to think then... SHARK. I connected to this book because it reminded me when I went to the Atlantic coast. I would give this book 3 stars because it wasn't as exciting as I expected it to be.
            • becca7500
              becca7500Friday, January 10, 2020 at 12:05 pm44 stars
              I love sharks and this was a good book.
              • kyle414
                kyle414Thursday, January 9, 2020 at 7:52 pm44 stars
                I give this book a 3 out of 5 if you like sharks this book is for you. This book is about a boy named chet he lives with his uncle jerry. He goes to a diner with his friends Dewey, Sid, and Monty there was an article about a shark attack. Then he goes with his friends to a creek where his friends play a prank on that they got attacked by a shark. So the next day he tries to get them back but there is a shark in the water and his friends just think that he is playing around. What will happen next read more to find out.
                • Icecream129Saturday, October 19, 2019 at 10:22 am
                  Scary but interesting
                  • shantzj
                    shantzjFriday, October 18, 2019 at 4:22 pm55 stars
                    This was another great book from the series "I Survived,". In the story Chet lives with his uncle Jerry and helps with the diner that his uncle works at. And he was finally was starting to make friends in his new home. While he was eating breakfast he saw Dewey, Sid, and Monty walking in to the diner like they do every day on there way to the tile factory. They showed him a article in the paper about a shark attack. Chet stared to read it as uncle Jerry read over his shoulder. So his friends, asked him to go swim at the creek with them. Chet gladly excepted to go after his shift at the diner. Chet was so exited to hang out with them. When he got to the creek he saw Dewey, Sid, and Monty splashing in the water. After a long time of hanging out there was a shark fin sticking out of the water. Chet was trying to laugh thinking it was a joke, but as it got closer it sped up. Until a splash when over the guys and they were gone. Chet started to scream there names until Monty and Dewey popped out of the water laughing. Sid popped out too. The next day Chet planed to get them back but it went a little to far. They were all mad at Chet. Later Chet found out that there was a shark in the creek. Do they have what it takes to SURVIVE!!!
                    • dgsjhxhcxhdTuesday, September 17, 2019 at 12:00 pm
                      i can't read it all