I Survived the Joplin Tornado, 2011 (I Survived #12)

Book 12 of 18 in the I Survived Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.113677
A destructive force is about to hit the city of Joplin...

Eleven-year-old Dexter has always wanted to see a tornado. So when he gets the incredible opportunity to go storm chasing with the famous Dr. Norman Rays, he has to say yes! Dr. Rays is the host of Tornado Mysteries, the show that Dex and his older brother, Jeremy, watched every night until Jeremy joined the U.S. Navy SEALs and left Joplin.

Dex certainly knows how deadly tornadoes can be, but this one isn't heading toward Joplin, and wouldn't it be great to have a brave and exciting story of his own to tell Jeremy when he comes home? But when the tornado shifts direction, Dexter's bravery is about to get seriously tested...

Hardcover, 112 pages
Published on August 25, 2015 by Scholastic Paperbacks
ISBN-10: 0545852323
ISBN-13: 9780545852326
65 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • wolfiewizard
    wolfiewizardMonday, June 10, 2019 at 2:16 pm55 stars
    I decided to read this book because when i saw the cover, i fell in love with it so i decided to start reading it. I think this book is AMAZING. After reading this book, i decided to read the rest. I thank Lauren Tarshis for making these books! Thank you so much! They are full of action. They take me back to when the disasters happened! Thank you again so much!
    • wolfiewizard
      wolfiewizardMonday, June 10, 2019 at 2:16 pm55 stars
      I decided to read this book because when i saw the cover, i fell in love with it so i decided to start reading it. I think this book is AMAZING. After reading this book, i decided to read the rest. I thank Laura Tarshis for making these books! Thank you so much! They are full of action. They take me back to when the disasters happend! Thank you again so much!
      • ajg16
        ajg16Friday, May 24, 2019 at 11:22 am44 stars
        Dexter is eleven and has ALWAYS wanted to see a tornado and he loves watching storm chasers on Tv. When Dr. Norman Gage almost hits him in it his van he invites Dexter to go along on a ride to possibly see tornado form. What nobody knows is it's going to be the deadliest tornado in America in fifth years! 158 people died and 1,100 were wounded. The author of this book actually spoke to people from Joplin and decided dozens of true stories to help her write it. About 2 days ago was the 8 year anniversary of the actual storm. I highly recommend this to all t seeds and learn about this crazy storm. Thanks for reading -Ajg16's reviews
        • Jolly jolly Saturday, March 30, 2019 at 9:27 am
          Great book
          • yeet micgeThursday, March 28, 2019 at 3:59 pm
            I loved this book the best ever
            • zombiesniper
              zombiesniperThursday, March 14, 2019 at 12:44 pm55 stars
              Best I survived book ever
              • Luis llanosWednesday, March 6, 2019 at 6:18 am
                i love this book
                • no no no no Thursday, February 28, 2019 at 4:03 pm
                  best book ever
                  • XDDDWednesday, December 12, 2018 at 5:42 am
                    I LOVE this book and i would rate it five stars it has information, action, and it makes you feel like you are in this sicuation.
                    • pdogwar1821
                      pdogwar1821Tuesday, December 4, 2018 at 9:52 am55 stars
                      i love this book she is the best author ever i always by her books. I think everyone should read this series .