I Survived the Japanese Tsunami, 2011 (I Survived #8)

Book 8 of 18 in the I Survived Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5R4.611000
The disaster felt around the world . . .

Visiting his dad's hometown in Japan four months after his father's death would be hard enough for Ben. But one morning the pain turns to fear: first, a massive earthquake rocks the quiet coastal village, nearly toppling his uncle's house. Then the ocean waters rise and Ben and his family are swept away-and pulled apart-by a terrible tsunami.

Now Ben is alone, stranded in a strange country a million miles from home. Can he fight hard enough to survive one of the most epic disasters of all time?
Paperback, 112 pages
Published on August 27, 2013 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545459370
ISBN-13: 9780545459372
31 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ghost_dk_diemx
    ghost_dk_diemxSunday, November 10, 2019 at 8:17 pm44 stars
    Okay so I actually studied tsunamis and earthquakes in my class and when I read this book I know how all the action started. So when Ben felt the Earthquake it was the tectonic plates shifting and it most likely was happening in the ocean and when the tectonic plates shifted they moved the ocean floor and lifted the water and that's when Ben saw the tsunami. Ben was able to keep himself kind of in a safe place on a piece of furniture but he was still floating on the water. When the water was going back that was the ocean pulling back all the water but he was lucky to get to the school on the hill where other people who were safe were at. I haven't read this book since a year ago so if I got anything wrong I'm sorry to any viewers.
    • ajg16
      ajg16Friday, May 24, 2019 at 11:33 am44 stars
      Ben is staying in Japan in a town called Shogahama. It's where Ben's dad grew up. His parents announced they would be going on the trip but a few months after the announcement his father died in a car accident. Now they are going the trip without him and are going to stay with an Ojisan (uncle in Japanese) one day in the trip there's an earthquake that last for 5 minutes! (That's actually a long time.) Later they find out is had a magnitude of 9.03. Will Ben and his family survive the fourth-largest earthquake ever recorded in history and will they survive the deadly tsunami that follows after? Read the book to find out. I highly recommend this realistic fiction book about real life history. Thanks for reading -Ajg16's reviews
      • sweetcheese
        sweetcheeseMonday, May 20, 2019 at 8:10 am55 stars
        I recommend it to anyone who likes nonfiction and history. I read it with some friends at school and it was awesome and scary at the same time.
        • Alien DudeMonday, April 29, 2019 at 4:58 pm
          Tsunamis are scary
          • Book queenSaturday, April 6, 2019 at 12:02 pm
            I just found I survived books cuz I am new,and I absolutely loved it!!!!!!👍😁😄
            • mountaindrew29Wednesday, April 18, 2018 at 8:29 am
              This book is amazing and full of action
              • kingcam56792
                kingcam56792Tuesday, February 13, 2018 at 7:13 am55 stars
                i love this book :D
                • :)Sunday, February 11, 2018 at 12:21 pm
                  This book was super good. I loved the way the story was set up!
                  • bookie8
                    bookie8Sunday, September 3, 2017 at 1:32 pm
                    It is very exciting as the tsunami and earthquakes hit, The coolest part is that this was a real event.
                    • wiggy
                      wiggyWednesday, May 10, 2017 at 1:22 pm
                      i have this book