I Survived #6: I Survived the Attacks of September 11th, 2001

Book 6 of 18 in the I Survived Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.59503

On the day that shocks the world, one boy just wants to find his family. A powerful addition to the gripping I SURVIVED series.

The only thing Lucas loves more than football is his Uncle Benny, his dad's best friend at the fire department where they both work. Benny taught Lucas everything about football. So when Lucas's parents decide the sport is too dangerous and he needs to quit, Lucas has to talk to his biggest fan.

So the next morning, Lucas takes the train to the city instead of the bus to school. It's a bright, beautiful day in New York. But just as Lucas arrives at his uncle's firehouse, everything changes -- and nothing will ever be the same again.

Hardcover, 112 pages
Published on July 1, 2012 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545206936
ISBN-13: 9780545206938
133 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • 4usa
    4usaThursday, June 25, 2020 at 9:40 am33 stars
    This is not my kind of book but it is a good idea putting real life events into a perspective that kids can better understand. Lucas loves football but his parents won't allow him to risk another injury so one day he skips school to go discuss the matter with his fire fighting and football loving uncle. Little did he know that two of New York's most treasured buildings were about to be destroyed. Lucas watches as his uncle goes to save the people inside the buildings from the fire and debris.
    • kyloren08
      kyloren08Thursday, May 7, 2020 at 7:50 am55 stars
      I love learning about this event in history, because it is so interesting, so I decided to read this book, and I fell in love with it! I TOTALLY recommend this book, and all of the I SURVIVED series. Check them out! I hope you fall in love with them like I do!
      • prettygirl17
        prettygirl17Tuesday, May 5, 2020 at 7:29 am55 stars
        This book is a great book. It drifts you away and brings you to the date of September 11, 2001. The tragic day when thousands of people died. This is a historical fiction book, this means that the characters are fictional but the plot, setting and the event are real. It tells the life of a pre-teen boy who witnessed these tragic events. When two airplanes crash down into the side of two of the most important buildings in America at that time, people are killed and the buildings are falling how will this boy survive? I recommend this book for older more mature children as there are alot of death scenes.
        • KatieTuesday, March 24, 2020 at 8:49 pm
          it was sad but good story
          • casrui1
            casrui1Thursday, March 12, 2020 at 7:15 pm44 starsFeatured
            This book is about Lucas an 11 year old boy witnessing the Attacks of September 11th, 2001. His dad and uncle are fire fighters going through this journey. He goes by himself in the city looking for his uncle to talk to him about his football journey and not proceeding. This is when he first witnessed the attack. I relate to this book right now because this major cause happened and effected our world. Like the coronavirus. I rated this book a 4/5 stars because this book was very intriguing on how Lucas survived and went through the journey with his dad on his side.
            • eli1234567
              eli1234567Sunday, February 23, 2020 at 5:43 pm44 stars
              In this book, Lucas's favorite thing in the world is football. One day, this is taken away from him due to an injury. When he tries to get football back with help from his uncle, he witnesses the attack on the World Trade Center. I made a connection to this book because my mom told me about 911.
              • jayden6924
                jayden6924Friday, February 21, 2020 at 11:09 am33 stars
                I kind of liked this book although the other books are better. It focuses on Lucas, who loves football and uncle Benny. He goes on a train to school and then he reaches the firehouse. The airplanes start attacking and Lucas is calmer than I ever would have been. I can't connect to this book, and I would give this book 3 stars
                • How do you readWednesday, January 22, 2020 at 6:42 am
                  Can anybody tell me how to read this book cause I would like to read it???
                  • fikovuti-157849175294
                    fikovuti-157849175294Thursday, January 9, 2020 at 7:33 am
                    I like how it talks about reality and something important and true facts are in this so I like reality books so I chose to read this book.
                    • bjmo
                      bjmoThursday, October 17, 2019 at 6:37 am55 stars
                      I like this book because,It tells what really happened 18 years ago,and that there is more information in the book than what people knew from the news.I think you guys should read I Survived the Attacks of September 11th 2001.