I Survived #4: I Survived the Bombing of Pearl Harbor, 1941

Book 4 of 18 in the I Survived Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.310756
70 years later, the bombing of Pearl Harbor comes to life for a new generation of readers!

History's most terrifying moments are brought vividly to life in the action-packed fictional I SURVIVED series! Do you have what it takes to survive ... the bombing of Pearl Harbor?

Eleven-year-old Danny Crane is alone on his favorite beach in Hawaii when the world is torn apart and World War II officially hits the United States. Does he have what it takes to find his way home in the midst of the bombs, the smoke, and the destruction of the day that will live in infamy?
Hardcover, 112 pages
Published on October 1, 2011 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 054520691X
ISBN-13: 9780545206914
57 Book Reviews
  • popnexas
    popnexasThursday, April 8, 2021 at 2:58 pm55 stars
    I really like it, I wouldn't recommend buying it but ask your teacher if there is a website that you can read it on. If you get bored easily then I would have someone read it to you or get an audiobook.
    • kid_nature
      kid_natureWednesday, November 18, 2020 at 10:08 am55 stars
      I love the seires
      • H.P NerdTuesday, October 20, 2020 at 8:53 am
        I have never read this but it looks really good I am pretty sure we have it at my school. Can someone tell me what the Bombings of Pearl Harbor is about??
        • belle252
          belle252Friday, June 12, 2020 at 9:40 pm
          The Bombings of Pearl Harbor is an amazing book that describes the story of a boy in midst of smoke, bombings, and deaths. In this book, the boy moved to Hawaii, only to find out that bombings are threatening his life. Does he have the hero inside him or will the bombings win against him?
          • mazerunner08
            mazerunner08Thursday, May 7, 2020 at 7:53 am55 stars
            I just can't get over these books that Lauren Tarshis has written! This is one of my new favorite books. It is about a kid, who leaves New York, because he and hs friend get in trouble a lot, and one day his friend (Finn) gets hurt, and has to go to the hospital. Danny (the kid) is now moving to Hawaii, to get a fresh start. A couple weeks after they move there though, Danny gets wrapped up in the bombing of Pearl Harbor! Read this book to find out what happens next to Danny, and his new neighborhood!
            • savv0100
              savv0100Saturday, February 15, 2020 at 9:03 pm55 stars
              I've seen lots of articles about this incident and have even written about it. This book is about 11 year- old Danny and his mom getting a job in Hawaii. Danny was at the beach talking to a man when the bombing of pearl harbor first started. Everyone started running from the shooters on land except Danny and two men. The three hid behind a car to shield themselves after one of the three was shot. The man was protecting Danny and saw the injured man helpless and decided to risk his life for him. Read the rest of this book to see how it plays out and what happens next. I definitely recommend this book to historical lovers. I personally don't have a connection to this book.
              • reiley628576
                reiley628576Thursday, October 17, 2019 at 12:43 pm44 stars
                It is is a really good book if you like learning about history.In some parts it is sad but it is a very exciting.It is about a boy who moves from New York to Hawaii for a job his mom has.By the title you should know that the Pearl Harbor gets bombed.The reason it is so important is because the mom works there.I really liked the book but I didn't connect to it but you might.So,I really think you should read The Bombing of Pearl Harbor.
                • bladerunner2049Monday, December 3, 2018 at 10:50 am
                  I love it
                  • pdogwar1821
                    pdogwar1821Monday, December 3, 2018 at 10:25 am55 stars
                    I survived pearl harbor is a good book if you are in to historical fiction.I think it is a good book because it builds so much suspense i never want to put the book down.It has such good detail I see a full movie in my mind while i am reading.
                    • tcwgaming
                      tcwgamingThursday, February 8, 2018 at 12:56 pm55 stars
                      i started this series with this book and it was amazing!