Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5Q4.011782
The horror of Hurricane Katrina is brought vividly to life in this fictional account of a boy, a dog, and the storm of the century.

Barry's family tries to evacuate before Hurricane Katrina hits their home in New Orleans. But when Barry's little sister gets terribly sick, they're forced to stay home and wait out the storm.

At first, Katrina doesn't seem to be as bad as predicted. But overnight the levees break, and Barry's world is literally torn apart. He's swept away by the floodwaters, away from his family. Can he survive the storm of the century -- alone?
Hardcover, 112 pages
Published on August 10, 2015 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545206898
ISBN-13: 9780545206891
67 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • belle252
    belle252Monday, May 25, 2020 at 1:10 pm55 stars
    This is an amazing book that shows the adventure of Barry during a storm named Hurricane Katrina. Barry has quite an adventure through this book. This book reflects bravery and shows how you can deal with any situation with courage. Hurricanes or blizzards or any natural disasters are a problem, but dealing with the problem is what requires a hero, which is the role Barry plays. Overall, this is a nice book that I love and will read again and again.
    • bjmo
      bjmoFriday, October 18, 2019 at 6:53 am55 stars
      I love this book because this is one of the biggest hurrincane's ,and it was really interesting that they packed all this information in this book and thats why i love this book.
      • savv0100
        savv0100Thursday, October 17, 2019 at 5:48 amFeatured
        I read a book last year, about the great Chicago fire. As I was reading this book, i realized that it's very similar because they both are 11 years old and worry about the same things like family, friends, their home, etc. The main character is 11 year Barry Tuckers is with his friend on his porch when his dad comes out of his house and says get packed there's a catagory 5 hurricane coming. He gets packed and get on the road only to see a HUGE traffic jam and his little sister gets sick, so they turn back. That night the hurricane approaches and water starts to flood the house, they are forced to keep traveling higher in their house until they get to the attic. Water keeps coming to they have to get onto the roof , once their on the winds are so strong Barry flies off the roof and into the water. The rest may still be a secret until you read the book! Now ,my connection to this book is I was in the car on the highway and a terrible storm and we had to stop, the wind was so loud and trees started falling.
        • ajg16
          ajg16Friday, May 31, 2019 at 2:52 pm44 stars
          Barry and his family are trying to evacuate there home in the upcoming presence of Hurricane Katrina but after sitting in the car for hours in traffic his little sister Cleo starts to throw up. They have to choice but to go home and wait out the storm. When there home starts to flood they escape to the attic and later on to the roof, it then barry is separated from his family !! Will he be able survive this horrifying storm alone?? Read to find out. Recommended to 12+ Thanks for reading -Ajg16's reviews
          • TrueblueTuesday, April 16, 2019 at 3:18 pm
            I read most of them this are the best.
            • Sammy Kidd yoSaturday, April 6, 2019 at 10:39 am
              Also extremely interesting LOL.
              • Sammy Kidd yoSaturday, April 6, 2019 at 10:37 am
                Sounds great,I really wanna read it.BTW I really like I Survived books.
                • kidz bop fanThursday, February 21, 2019 at 11:33 am
                  i relly want to read it
                  • metasate-154824Thursday, February 21, 2019 at 5:21 am
                    I've read some of this, and it was fantastic and action-packed. The main character Barry had to survive Hurricane Katrina and it was hilarious when his little sister said Hurricane Katrina was a lady
                    • the best book Tuesday, February 19, 2019 at 7:29 am
                      it is so cool