Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5T3.927357
Jamie Grimm is a middle schooler on a mission: he wants to become the world's greatest standup comedian--even if he doesn't have a lot to laugh about these days. He's new in town and stuck living with his aunt, uncle, and their evil son Stevie, a bully who doesn't let Jamie's wheelchair stop him from messing with Jamie as much as possible. But Jamie doesn't let his situation get him down. When his Uncle Frankie mentions a contest called The Planet's Funniest Kid Comic, Jamie knows he has to enter. But are the judges only rewarding him out of pity because of his wheelchair, like Stevie suggests? Will Jamie ever share the secret of his troubled past instead of hiding behind his comedy act?

Following the bestselling success of the hilarious Middle School, The Worst Years of My Life, James Patterson continues to dish out the funnies in another highly-illustrated, heartfelt middle school story. (Includes more than 175 black-and-white illustrations.)

Hardcover
Published on December 6, 2012 by Little Brown & Company
ISBN-10: 0099567393
ISBN-13: 9780099567394
182 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • marrigold137
    marrigold137Thursday, June 6, 2019 at 5:16 pm55 stars
    I thought it was so funny that Jamie had to teach a class on being funny. He was so flustered at the beginning ! I was glad when he stopped that and started to really help all of his "students" feel the groove .I personally loved the ending.
    • Cool dudeThursday, December 27, 2018 at 4:08 pm
      good book I recommend it
      • astrydnayanahs
        astrydnayanahsSunday, August 26, 2018 at 4:17 pm22 stars
        This book needed some work. I got totally bored with it, it was funny some of the time but not as funny as it seemed it would be. I will be reading the next book all though I think it will be just like the first one, but that of course is just my opinion.
        • odellbeck5
          odellbeck5Wednesday, December 20, 2017 at 7:28 am11 star
          I like Middle School better but this book was fine
          • din10
            din10Thursday, October 19, 2017 at 8:16 am33 stars
            this book was ok but i think that his series middle school is better
            • fro-lo
              fro-loTuesday, September 5, 2017 at 9:19 am
              I love it. Jamie funnie
              • NateIsLITTuesday, August 29, 2017 at 3:47 pm
                I funny was a great book. Took a good spin on different handicapped people. Shows you that even when life is lookin down try to overcome it. Filled with funny jokes and good story line
                • armcginn
                  armcginnSunday, May 21, 2017 at 10:34 am55 stars
                  This was a very funny book (obviously - look at the title). It is a great story with a great moral: you can do anything no matter what. I recommend it for all ages that can read at this level!
                  • IFunnyIsDaBestWednesday, September 28, 2016 at 6:25 am
                    this is one of the best books i have ever read in my life! it has a great storyline and everthing! if you like books with a lot of detail and comedy then this is the book for you!
                    • memoiloveit
                      memoiloveitFriday, June 3, 2016 at 12:33 pm55 stars
                      really funny book