I am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 5 - 12Z7.1n/a
A MEMOIR BY THE YOUNGEST RECIPIENT OF THE NOBEL PEACE PRIZE

"I come from a country that was created at midnight. When I almost died it was just after midday."

When the Taliban took control of the Swat Valley in Pakistan, one girl spoke out. Malala Yousafzai refused to be silenced and fought for her right to an education.

On Tuesday, October 9, 2012, when she was fifteen, she almost paid the ultimate price. She was shot in the head at point-blank range while riding the bus home from school, and few expected her to survive.

Instead, Malala's miraculous recovery has taken her on an extraordinary journey from a remote valley in northern Pakistan to the halls of the United Nations in New York. At sixteen, she became a global symbol of peaceful protest and the youngest nominee ever for the Nobel Peace Prize.

I AM MALALA is the remarkable tale of a family uprooted by global terrorism, of the fight for girls' education, of a father who, himself a school owner, championed and encouraged his daughter to write and attend school, and of brave parents who have a fierce love for their daughter in a society that prizes sons.

I AM MALALA will make you believe in the power of one person's voice to inspire change in the world.
Hardcover
ISBN-10: 0297870912
ISBN-13: 9780297870913
19 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • willow123goma
    willow123gomaSaturday, May 30, 2020 at 11:08 am
    Malala is a Pakistani Girl who tries to pursue her education, and help other Muslim girls in the middle east to pursue theirs, but was shot by the Taliban, and survived. This story proves that not everyone is fortunate enough to get an education, and not only are people risking their lives for their own, but risking their lives for other people. This made me thankful for all of the educational opportunities I have, and it made me admire Malala's effort to make this world a more equal place by still following customs and traditional values.
    • LillySaturday, November 16, 2019 at 12:57 am
      I love this book I am reading it in school And it is so interesting
      • celia_berry13
        celia_berry13Saturday, May 18, 2019 at 1:04 pm55 stars
        This book is the incredible tale of bravery and standing up for yourself. This is an inspiring tale of how Malala fought for girls rights to be educated. I suggest this book to 4th grade and up. Ages 10 and up.
        • laxiria
          laxiriaMonday, March 25, 2019 at 12:39 am55 stars
          It is a book which tells that if one book one teacher one student and one pen unite it can change the world Girls are the most powerful In world Quaid azam said there are two powers in this world it is the education or the war however if there is one more big power in this world so it is of woman
          • ggfyhh
            ggfyhhThursday, November 9, 2017 at 3:03 pm55 stars
            This book is about a girl Malala, she lives in Pakistan. In Pakistan girls arent allowed to get an education, but Malala wasnt going to just stand by and not get smart(er) She spoke up and fought by going to school. One day, she climbed onto her school bus and was driving home when all of a sudden Tailban (a terrorist organisation) cme and stopped the bus with big guns and climbed on. They said "Who is Malala?" Her friends looked at her, which obviously gave it away. She got shot in the head and few suspected her to survive. She was only 15 when this happened and when she did survive and a year later, she was the most inspiring girl in the world (thats what i think anyways, you may have a different opinion.) This is an AMAZING story and I hope everyone gets this and feels the same way I do.
            • awesome5712
              awesome5712Thursday, November 9, 2017 at 1:51 pm55 stars
              what i have read is it is amazing and i advize all the girls that want to stand up for whats right then you should read this book
              • graceTuesday, April 12, 2016 at 11:38 am
                it is a really great book
                • BlackThWDFriday, March 11, 2016 at 8:31 am
                  I Thought this book was wonderful. It is an amazing story that has an amazing plot to it.
                  • bo bo Tuesday, May 26, 2015 at 7:34 am
                    so sad:(
                    • muffinheadTuesday, March 24, 2015 at 2:17 pm
                      im in 5th grade and I'm reading it. ITS SO AWESOME