Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 12Z5.940936
The bestselling memoir by Nobel Peace Prize winner Malala Yousafzai.

I Am Malala. This is my story.

Malala Yousafzai was only ten years old when the Taliban took control of her region. They said music was a crime. They said women weren't allowed to go to the market. They said girls couldn't go to school.

Raised in a once-peaceful area of Pakistan transformed by terrorism, Malala was taught to stand up for what she believes. So she fought for her right to be educated. And on October 9, 2012, she nearly lost her life for the cause: She was shot point-blank while riding the bus on her way home from school.

No one expected her to survive.

Now Malala is an international symbol of peaceful protest and the youngest ever Nobel Peace Prize winner. In this Young Readers Edition of her bestselling memoir, which has been reimagined specifically for a younger audience and includes exclusive photos and material, we hear firsthand the remarkable story of a girl who knew from a young age that she wanted to change the world -- and did.

Malala's powerful story will open your eyes to another world and will make you believe in hope, truth, miracles and the possibility that one person -- one young person -- can inspire change in her community and beyond.

Hardcover, 302 pages
Published on March 8, 2017 by Thorndike Press Large Print
ISBN-10: 1410499162
ISBN-13: 9781410499165
24 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Panda_Warrior32Tuesday, January 15, 2019 at 11:57 am
    i understand, since i am a girl i think this will inspire other girls that it is not to late to change the world ^_^
    • NinjaKat123Tuesday, January 15, 2019 at 11:51 am
      This book is very inspiring, malala sounds like a very wonderful, i hope i can learn about her soon or later...but since this is a VERY beutiful tale, i will read the book. And learn more about this wonderful teen.
      • cadepuridamypu
        cadepuridamypuTuesday, January 15, 2019 at 10:15 am55 stars
        "I Am Malala" is a 193-page autobiography by Malala Yousafzai with Patricia McCormick. This book is non-fiction, and the pictures are from Malala. In this attention-grabbing book, Malala Yousafzai faces challenges as she stands up to the Taliban, a terrorist gang, and goes through a hard war of the Taliban versus the Pakistani Army. Malala learns to overcome these challenges, and finds her voice as she campaigns for girls' rights. But will she be able to use it to help out the world? In this book, the reader learns to never give up, no matter what sort of impediments may get in their way. For example, Malala shows relentless determination through her hard work with her campaign for girls' rights. While doing this, she overcomes challenges that most Americans wouldn't even be able to imagine. You should follow Malala's lead because Malala pushed through her challenges. By never giving up, she raised the hopes and voices of Many. This book is about courage, determination, and always trying again. I would love to recommend this book, because it is full of inspiring action, and is very entertaining. It helps you understand what other countries are going through, and that knowledge can be very useful. All in all, I would say this is an exciting read that would leave many surprised, inspired, influenced, and with more knowledge about the outside world. Also, if there was one thing I could ask Malala, it would be, "What made you keep fighting for your rights? Was it the want for a better country, helping friends and family, or something else?" I definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys action, courageous people, and a good story, because this book provides it all!
        • ottergirl4ev
          ottergirl4evMonday, December 17, 2018 at 5:12 pm55 stars
          this book was so inspiring. I'm a girl so i feel like this is what i want to do. i want to change the world for other girls and children. you have to read this book. you will be inspired.
          • sully1Tuesday, September 18, 2018 at 10:22 am
            It is a story of trust and belief. This is a beautiful tale.
            • Book CriticSaturday, July 14, 2018 at 9:25 pm
              I felt the book was very inspiring. But, on the contrary, I felt it was a little too deviating from the main theme. I feel that the older version of the book might be a better one to read because it is helps you understand more about the setting of this memoir. This younger edition doesn't help you achieve that as well as the other version. The other version didn't deviate from the plot. Also I think that Malala is portrayed as a little biased towards her culture in both versions.
              • catkitty
                catkittyThursday, November 16, 2017 at 2:48 pm55 stars
                I LOVE IT WHEN I READ IT I FELL IN LOVE WITH THIS BOOK!!!
                • kittylover8786
                  kittylover8786Wednesday, October 11, 2017 at 1:19 pm55 stars
                  This book is so good, it makes you think about everything you take for granted, like the school bus and food. This is an inspiring story of one's girl's dream to change the world! This is a great story for people everywhere!
                  • fantomsky26
                    fantomsky26Sunday, October 8, 2017 at 9:20 pm55 starsFeatured
                    This book makes you feel bad about ever complaining about how hard your life is. I am Malala is about a girl who goes to school and stands up for the right for girls to be able to go to school even with danger lurking in every corner. Even after it is band for girls her age to go to school she still went to school and even wrote about it and shared it with the world. She lived with bombs going off on the her street for nearly two years and still stood up to them. Read about this amazing girls life in this book.
                    • abbytheapple
                      abbytheappleTuesday, November 15, 2016 at 8:50 am55 stars
                      I love this book! It is so inspiring, it makes me want to let everybody know how great Malala is! She is brave and detirmined and kind to others all at the same tame! You should REALLY READ THIS

                      Our Apps and Plugins