Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 12Z5.940936
The bestselling memoir by Nobel Peace Prize winner Malala Yousafzai.

I Am Malala. This is my story.

Malala Yousafzai was only ten years old when the Taliban took control of her region. They said music was a crime. They said women weren't allowed to go to the market. They said girls couldn't go to school.

Raised in a once-peaceful area of Pakistan transformed by terrorism, Malala was taught to stand up for what she believes. So she fought for her right to be educated. And on October 9, 2012, she nearly lost her life for the cause: She was shot point-blank while riding the bus on her way home from school.

No one expected her to survive.

Now Malala is an international symbol of peaceful protest and the youngest ever Nobel Peace Prize winner. In this Young Readers Edition of her bestselling memoir, which has been reimagined specifically for a younger audience and includes exclusive photos and material, we hear firsthand the remarkable story of a girl who knew from a young age that she wanted to change the world -- and did.

Malala's powerful story will open your eyes to another world and will make you believe in hope, truth, miracles and the possibility that one person -- one young person -- can inspire change in her community and beyond.

Hardcover, 302 pages
Published on March 8, 2017 by Thorndike Press Large Print
ISBN-10: 1410499162
ISBN-13: 9781410499165
20 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • Book CriticSaturday, July 14, 2018 at 9:25 pm
    I felt the book was very inspiring. But, on the contrary, I felt it was a little too deviating from the main theme. I feel that the older version of the book might be a better one to read because it is helps you understand more about the setting of this memoir. This younger edition doesn't help you achieve that as well as the other version. The other version didn't deviate from the plot. Also I think that Malala is portrayed as a little biased towards her culture in both versions.
    • catkitty
      catkittyThursday, November 16, 2017 at 2:48 pm55 stars
      I LOVE IT WHEN I READ IT I FELL IN LOVE WITH THIS BOOK!!!
      • anajas1
        anajas1Thursday, November 16, 2017 at 2:10 pm55 stars
        Such an inspiring book!
        • kittylover8786
          kittylover8786Wednesday, October 11, 2017 at 1:19 pm55 stars
          This book is so good, it makes you think about everything you take for granted, like the school bus and food. This is an inspiring story of one's girl's dream to change the world! This is a great story for people everywhere!
          • fantomsky26
            fantomsky26Sunday, October 8, 2017 at 9:20 pm55 starsFeatured
            This book makes you feel bad about ever complaining about how hard your life is. I am Malala is about a girl who goes to school and stands up for the right for girls to be able to go to school even with danger lurking in every corner. Even after it is band for girls her age to go to school she still went to school and even wrote about it and shared it with the world. She lived with bombs going off on the her street for nearly two years and still stood up to them. Read about this amazing girls life in this book.
            • abbytheapple
              abbytheappleTuesday, November 15, 2016 at 8:50 am55 stars
              I love this book! It is so inspiring, it makes me want to let everybody know how great Malala is! She is brave and detirmined and kind to others all at the same tame! You should REALLY READ THIS
              • softball-831Tuesday, September 20, 2016 at 2:11 pm
                malala is a insparation
                • gardivor
                  gardivorMonday, September 19, 2016 at 6:39 pm
                  I need help I'm doing hw and it said (Malala describe what she tells the journalist who feel pity for her what does she mean)please help.
                  • wow257
                    wow257Wednesday, June 22, 2016 at 5:24 am44 stars
                    This story takes place in a rural countryside in Pakistan, during a time where there is civil unrest. A young girl, barely in her teens, tells her story through her poignant narratives that illustrates her life, and her reactions towards them: sometimes little things, like her wish to be tall, and sometimes major things, like how she wants her country to flourish and thrive once again. A lovely story that is a must-read!
                    • aub112705
                      aub112705Saturday, April 23, 2016 at 6:37 pm
                      I would love to meet Malala in real life.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      spykitten
                      spykitten wrote:

                      Yes, fairy tale twists are amazing!
                      Geekerella: A Fangirl Fairy Tale

                      hanpink800
                      hanpink800 wrote:

                      I love love love love love love ...
                      The Bad Guys (The Bad Guys #1)

                      hanpink800
                      hanpink800 wrote:

                      I love this book is about a supe...
                      Supergifted

                      meeeee wrote:

                      I'm in sixth grade and i loved t...
                      Superfudge (Fudge)

                      Our Apps and Plugins