Half of me was thinking, Georgina, don't do this. Stealing a dog is just plain wrong. The other half of me was thinking, Georgina, you're in a bad fix and you got to do whatever it takes to get yourself out of it.

Georgina Hayes is desperate. Ever since her father left and they were evicted from their apartment, her family has been living in their car. With her mama juggling two jobs and trying to make enough money to find a place to live, Georgina is stuck looking after her younger brother, Toby. And she has her heart set on improving their situation. When Georgina spots a missing-dog poster with a reward of five hundred dollars, the solution to all her problems suddenly seems within reach. All she has to do is "borrow" the right dog and its owners are sure to offer a reward. What happens next is the last thing she expected.

With unmistakable sympathy, Barbara O'Connor tells the story of a young girl struggling to see what's right when everything else seems wrong.

How to Steal a Dog is a 2008 Bank Street - Best Children's Book of the Year.

Paperback, 192 pages
Published on April 27, 2009 by Square Fish
ISBN-10: 0312561121
ISBN-13: 9780312561123
66 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • LandonFriday, January 19, 2018 at 10:03 am
    want it
    • puggirl
      puggirlTuesday, January 2, 2018 at 7:11 am55 stars
      Book was so good and funny and funny and funny and funny and funny it was really really really really funny and I really really
      • sparklingirl
        sparklingirlFriday, April 28, 2017 at 9:49 am
        toby is hilarious
        • sparklingirl
          sparklingirlFriday, April 28, 2017 at 9:49 am
          great book i want to read it again
          • kawiiqueen1
            kawiiqueen1Friday, February 3, 2017 at 5:53 pm55 stars
            IT WAS AMAZING!!! some parts, i didn't get but besides that, like i said IT WAS AMAZING!!! I KNOW YOU'LL LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
            • OrcapodThursday, November 17, 2016 at 10:08 am
              Sounds neat
              • igsocean
                igsoceanWednesday, November 16, 2016 at 12:36 pm
                cool
                • buttercupWednesday, May 4, 2016 at 5:44 pm
                  sounds great!
                  • sugar642
                    sugar642Thursday, March 3, 2016 at 11:57 am55 stars
                    very good but verry easy 4 me
                    • peaunutbutterMonday, February 29, 2016 at 12:55 pm
                      It sounds like a good book

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Braelynn Nicole wrote:

                      This is an awesome book for kids...
                      How to Draw Emojis: A Step by St...

                      jtd
                      jtd wrote:

                      Best book series ever
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Book 1

                      cool wrote:

                      this book is cool and the movie
                      Wonder

                      catslovewaffles

                      Karen is facing some hard change...
                      It's Not the End of the World