Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5T4.034585

Half of me was thinking, Georgina, don't do this. Stealing a dog is just plain wrong. The other half of me was thinking, Georgina, you're in a bad fix and you got to do whatever it takes to get yourself out of it.

Georgina Hayes is desperate. Ever since her father left and they were evicted from their apartment, her family has been living in their car. With her mama juggling two jobs and trying to make enough money to find a place to live, Georgina is stuck looking after her younger brother, Toby. And she has her heart set on improving their situation. When Georgina spots a missing-dog poster with a reward of five hundred dollars, the solution to all her problems suddenly seems within reach. All she has to do is "borrow" the right dog and its owners are sure to offer a reward. What happens next is the last thing she expected.

With unmistakable sympathy, Barbara O'Connor tells the story of a young girl struggling to see what's right when everything else seems wrong.

How to Steal a Dog is a 2008 Bank Street - Best Children's Book of the Year.

Paperback, 192 pages
Published on April 27, 2009 by Square Fish
ISBN-10: 0312561121
ISBN-13: 9780312561123
71 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • piggie101
    piggie101Tuesday, January 29, 2019 at 6:19 am44 stars
    This is a good book for fifth grades because the vocabulary is easy but challenging so this is a great book for every grade it has a engrossing story you feel the characters struggles and the book is just amazing. 4 stars
    • ElizabethWednesday, January 16, 2019 at 7:58 am
      i like this book because mealdoy is like me sometimes
      • danceing_queen
        danceing_queenWednesday, November 7, 2018 at 12:17 pm55 stars
        Because it's such a humor book . she is a good character and she have lots of feelings in this book and it give so much details .
        • bookstory13
          bookstory13Wednesday, May 9, 2018 at 1:46 pm55 stars
          This story teaches you the plain "wrong" from just plain WRONG. I read this book a while ago, but I really liked it. It also teaches you that sometimes things aren't what they seem.
          • AngelicaTuesday, May 8, 2018 at 8:55 am
            this is a great book its a wonderful story i mean how do these people write these books how ever they did they need to keep up the good work!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
            • LandonFriday, January 19, 2018 at 10:03 am
              want it
              • puggirl
                puggirlTuesday, January 2, 2018 at 7:11 am55 stars
                Book was so good and funny and funny and funny and funny and funny it was really really really really funny and I really really
                • sparklingirl
                  sparklingirlFriday, April 28, 2017 at 9:49 am
                  toby is hilarious
                  • sparklingirl
                    sparklingirlFriday, April 28, 2017 at 9:49 am
                    great book i want to read it again
                    • kawiiqueen1
                      kawiiqueen1Friday, February 3, 2017 at 5:53 pm55 stars
                      IT WAS AMAZING!!! some parts, i didn't get but besides that, like i said IT WAS AMAZING!!! I KNOW YOU'LL LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!