Schneider Family Book Award-winning author Ginny Rorby has created an irresistible dolphin story about a girl's struggle to help her autistic brother and herself. Lily loves her half-brother, Adam, but she has always struggled with him, too. He's definitely on the autism spectrum -- though her step-father, Don, can barely bring himself to admit it -- and caring for him has forced Lily to become as much mother as sister. All Lily wants is for her step-father to acknowledge that Adam has a real issue, that they need to find some kind of program that can help him. Then maybe she can have a life of her own.

Adam's always loved dolphins, so when Don, an oncologist, hears about a young dolphin with cancer, he offers to help. He brings Lily and Adam along, and Adam and the dolphin -- Nori -- bond instantly.

But though Lily sees how much Adam loves Nori, she also sees that the dolphin shouldn't spend the rest of her life in captivity, away from her family. Can Adam find real help somewhere else? And can Lily help Nori regain her freedom without betraying her family?
Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on May 26, 2015 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545676053
ISBN-13: 9780545676052
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • I love booksTuesday, February 28, 2017 at 6:41 pm
    I really loved this book. It was about a girl named lily that was trying to do a go thing for her half brother Adam (who has autism). Adam really loves Dolphins,at an aquarium Their is this Dolphin that is named Nori that Adam falls in love with. Then that's were the real adventure begins in this book (while I was reading this book I was crying)
    • crystal123432
      crystal123432Monday, November 21, 2016 at 8:58 am55 stars
      I love this book it has a sad part to it . im really attached to this book right now.
      • 31artemisdancer
        31artemisdancerSunday, October 16, 2016 at 7:25 am
        This book looks really good I can't wait to read it!
        • lrohne24
          lrohne24Saturday, October 15, 2016 at 9:59 am
          This is one of the best books I have ever read. I love the way Lily loves and cares for Adam, and I love Nori's story. I definitely recommend it.
          • hihi2468
            hihi2468Sunday, March 6, 2016 at 6:24 pm
            Lily and her brother, Adam, have the most heart warming relationship! Likewise to Adam and Nori. It is an AWESOME read. My second fav book. :D
            • jlanders
              jlandersWednesday, September 2, 2015 at 9:43 am
              im not done with the book yet but so far i love it! i recommend this to anybody who loves to get lost in a good book. one reason why i love this book is that my little cousin who is 4 has autism. at the beginning it was hard for me to watch her struggle. but she is doing really good! so this book really speaks to my heart. my little cousin really loves to read thats why i read this. i love the way the author has so many diffrent components. i love this book so much!
              • kmiranda14
                kmiranda14Thursday, May 28, 2015 at 7:55 am
                I really want to read this book it sound very interesting have not read it yet and actually my friend has read it and she says its a very interesting book. (:
                • allygirl
                  allygirlWednesday, May 27, 2015 at 2:38 pm44 stars
                  I liked this book because it had dolphins in it
                  • allygirl
                    allygirlWednesday, May 27, 2015 at 2:34 pm44 stars
                    Very good book.
                    • allygirl
                      allygirlWednesday, May 27, 2015 at 2:29 pm44 stars
                      One of my favorites

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      D.R wrote:

                      I think that Tales of a Fourth G...
                      Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing ...

                      LR wrote:

                      It was pretty interesting becaus...
                      Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing ...

                      J.B wrote:

                      The reason I say it was a excell...
                      Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing ...

                      c.k.w wrote:

                      This was just an OK book because...
                      Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing ...