Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 3Grades 1 - 3J1.5384
Back in 1957, Theodor Geisel responded to an article in Life magazine that lamented the use of boring reading primers in schools. Using the pseudonym of "Dr. Seuss" (Seuss was Geisel's middle name) and only two hundred twenty-three words, Geisel created a replacement for those dull primers: "The Cat in the Hat." The instant success of the book prompted Geisel and his wife to found Beginner Books, and Geisel wrote many popular books in this series, including "Hop on Pop, " "Fox in Socks, " and "Green Eggs and Ham." Other favorite titles in this series are "Go, Dog, Go!" and "Are You My Mother?" by P. D. Eastman, "A Fly Went By, " by Mike McClintock, and "Put Me in the Zoo, " by Robert Lopshire. These affordable hardcover books combine large print, easy vocabulary, and large, bright illustrations in stories kids will want to read again and again. Grades 1 - Grades 2.
Hardcover, 72 pages
Published on February 12, 1963 by Beginner Books / Random House
ISBN-10: 039480029X
ISBN-13: 9780394800295
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • tvic
    tvicMonday, April 29, 2019 at 4:07 pm
    So funny and good
    • tgnftgnfghnfth
      tgnftgnfghnfthSunday, March 5, 2017 at 6:54 am
      IT is amazing
      • aries6
        aries6Tuesday, December 11, 2012 at 8:28 am55 stars
        these books teach u how to rhyme and other interactive things to do.
        • jade24
          jade24Thursday, March 29, 2012 at 6:44 pm44 stars
          the i read this book i was in kindergarten. i feel in love with this book. iread it every day. it is awesome. now i read it sometimes to my brother. he loves it just as much as i do
          • pianogirl
            pianogirlThursday, March 29, 2012 at 9:44 am55 stars
            i love hop on pop because it is so so so so so so so cccooollll awesome the best ever
            • naomiann
              naomiannMonday, March 26, 2012 at 7:18 am55 stars
              I LOVE DR.SEUSS.Never in my whole life have I read a children book so awesome.All the children books are weird.Not Dr.Seuss.He makes it so amusing.I recommened this book to any little kid who just started reading.
              • bella982
                bella982Friday, March 23, 2012 at 5:27 pm55 stars
                I love Dr. Seuss books!! I mostly like the ones that say by Dr. Seuss because they rhyme. I really like this one. I like this one and you will too.
                • swirlylollypops
                  swirlylollypopsMonday, January 9, 2012 at 8:56 pm55 stars
                  used to read it all the time! still do! and i'm in gr. 8! :) brings back childhood memories! *sigh*
                  • lovbug
                    lovbugMonday, November 14, 2011 at 5:17 pm
                    it was so awesome it blows my socks off and my mind.