Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8W5.261113
This Newbery Honor-winning, hilarious Floridian adventure involves new kids, bullies, alligators, eco-warriors, pancakes, pint-sized owls, and more. A New York Times bestseller!

Everybody loves Mother Paula’s pancakes. Everybody, that is, except the colony of cute but endangered owls that live on the building site of the new restaurant. Can the awkward new kid and his feral friend prank the pancake people out of town? Or is the owls’ fate cemented in pancake batter?

“A wonderful tour de-force.” —The Boston Globe

“A rollicking, righteous story.” —The Miami Herald

“Yes, it is a hoot.”—The Washington Post
Paperback, 56 pages
Published on November 5, 2007 by Mary Glasgow Magazines
ISBN-10: 1905775040
ISBN-13: 9781905775040
152 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • starlordWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 6:04 am
    I love this book so much :)
    • alienkid12Tuesday, May 28, 2019 at 11:15 am
      I love this book so much. I own it at home, and I recommend it to anyone age 7-100. I'm reading it aloud to my younger siblings. They love it.
      • inmemoryofcpr
        inmemoryofcprSaturday, May 25, 2019 at 11:00 am
        If you liked The FunJungle series then I would recommend this book. It's not really a mystery novel but it is centered around saving animals. I would definitely recommend this book.
        • quail
          quailThursday, May 16, 2019 at 4:34 pm55 stars
          Everybody loves pancakes. Well everybody except a small family of owls hiding underneath the construction site for the brand new Mother Paula pancake house that is. So when a boy stumbles upon this brood he knows he cant just let them die or have to relocate. He knows that he must stop the evil pancake people before its too late! But he cant do it alone; Through this compelling tale of love, protection and new beginning's Roy Eberhardt, Beatrice Leap and a kid named Mullet Fingers out smart the police and a guy named Curly and even the school bully Dana Matherson. All just to speak up for those without a voice. Save the owls!!!
          • kdsoccer28
            kdsoccer28Sunday, April 14, 2019 at 4:07 pm44 stars
            Great book cant stop reading it
            • a personWednesday, March 27, 2019 at 2:32 pm
              I realy liked this book and how they sacrifice the pancakes for owls <3
              • wezavihuzesahe
                wezavihuzesaheTuesday, March 12, 2019 at 5:37 am
                this is a goodbook you should read this bookitsalotoffun
                • unicorn4
                  unicorn4Friday, November 16, 2018 at 4:59 am55 stars
                  this book is a really good book I loved it and it has a lot of adventure.
                  • MimiTuesday, May 22, 2018 at 10:03 am
                    Great interesting!
                    • MiguelTuesday, May 22, 2018 at 10:00 am
                      I thought this book was pretty good and exciting.