Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8W3.521702

Kek comes from Africa. In America he sees snow for the first time, and feels its sting. He's never walked on ice, and he falls. He wonders if the people in this new place will be like the winter – cold and unkind.

In Africa, Kek lived with his mother, father, and brother. But only he and his mother have survived, and now she's missing. Kek is on his own. Slowly, he makes friends: a girl who is in foster care; an old woman who owns a rundown farm, and a cow whose name means "family" in Kek's native language. As Kek awaits word of his mother's fate, he weathers the tough Minnesota winter by finding warmth in his new friendships, strength in his memories, and belief in his new country.

Bestselling author Katherine Applegate presents a beautifully wrought novel about an immigrant's journey from hardship to hope.

Home of the Brave is a 2008 Bank Street - Best Children's Book of the Year.

Paperback, 272 pages
Published on December 23, 2008 by Square Fish
ISBN-10: 0312535635
ISBN-13: 9780312535636
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kmchaney
    kmchaneyWednesday, July 1, 2020 at 8:18 am55 stars
    My heart was pouring out love as I read read each page. What a beautiful reminder to us that our country offers so many opportunities that we take for granted. Be prepared to cry.
    • QWERTYUIOKJHGFDSaturday, May 30, 2020 at 2:10 pm
      The book is good
      • makian
        makianSunday, November 24, 2019 at 6:14 am55 stars
        Kel is a sweet boy I wonder what will happen at the end.πŸ““πŸ““????
        • lmhewlett
          lmhewlettWednesday, February 20, 2019 at 9:17 am55 starsFeatured
          This book is about a little kid named Kek who is from Africa and has been through a lot. He had to go to a refugee camp during a war but the camp was invaded, and he lost people he loved. He moves to America to live with his cousin and aunt, and works on a farm. He has a hard time adjusting to America and thinks Americans take things for granted. This book might make you sad, and it makes you think about the things we take for granted. It made me cry, it’s very emotional, and it makes me realize how much we have in America.
          • dmsquad
            dmsquadThursday, January 17, 2019 at 11:45 am55 stars
            This is a amazing book lots of detail the book is right in in verse and has an amazing plot
            • fovynufovegale
              fovynufovegaleThursday, November 15, 2018 at 1:02 pm44 stars
              IT is a very sad yet happy and interesting book so far. MY favorite character is Ganwar. He is sometimes mysterious and I like it.
              • henhen
                henhenThursday, November 8, 2018 at 5:55 pm55 stars
                Very good book for kids that are refugee
                • winterneeser
                  winterneeserTuesday, February 18, 2014 at 7:57 pm33 stars
                  Great Book!
                  • ezdragon
                    Ellen ZockThursday, August 1, 2013 at 3:25 pm55 stars
                    Another great book from the author of "The One and only Ivan" - fantastic! Her books are such great reads. Wonderful language and ease in reading. She make you "become" her characters and share in the same feelings as what she's writing. Love this book!
                    • mrsmccarthy
                      mrsmccarthyTuesday, January 17, 2012 at 5:15 am
                      Great book about a 5th grade boys journey from Africa to Minneapolis. He has to learn the language and culture. It is filled wit beautiful language, friendships and reinforces the power of family.