Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8V4.647079

Stanley Yelnats is sentenced to dig holes at Camp Green Lake detention centre for stealing a pair of trainers. Stanley's quest to discover what he is digging for leads to danger and adventure and to a confrontation with his family's past.

Paperback, 233 pages
Published on May 9, 2000 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0440414806
ISBN-13: 9780440414803
512 Book Reviews
  • angelachang
    angelachangTuesday, June 15, 2021 at 9:16 am55 stars
    I love this book! Stanley is so friendly that he even took his friend with him to leave.
    • sg123
      sg123Wednesday, June 9, 2021 at 12:29 pm55 stars
      This is one of the best books I have read in a long time. It is about this boy's adventure through his journey at a concentration camp. He makes many new friends and faces countless challenges through his stay. Will he be able to survive the harsh conditions at the camp green lake or not?
      • ilovbooks
        ilovbooksTuesday, June 1, 2021 at 8:22 am44 stars
        This is a pretty good book! It's all about a young boy named Stanley. He had to go to Camp Green Lake where there is no lake and no fun. Stanley has to dig holes to build character. But, is it true? Is the Warden making dig for character or for another thing? Stanley has only made a friendship, will this friendship help him throughout the book? Is the Warden making the boys dig for some valuable item? Who knows? Read the books to find out!
        • tay912
          tay912Monday, May 17, 2021 at 9:49 am
          Seen the movie, and want to read this book!
          • kittylover111
            kittylover111Wednesday, February 24, 2021 at 9:03 am55 stars
            Holes is kinda scary, but overall a super good book. I read it in my book club. Stanley is the main character, and it turns out Zero, his best friend, is the one who caused his crime to be sent to the horrible camp with the warden! I recommend this book a lot!
            • santaclaus539
              santaclaus539Wednesday, April 14, 2021 at 8:16 am55 stars
              No u spoiled the book A that's fine I'll still enjoy it
            • bookqueenpaige
              bookqueenpaigeWednesday, February 24, 2021 at 8:56 am
              So far so good
              • santaclaus539
                santaclaus539Wednesday, April 14, 2021 at 8:15 am55 stars
                I agree Can't wait to finish the book
              • happy-emma
                happy-emmaSunday, January 24, 2021 at 7:41 pm55 stars
                This book tells us about a boy called Stanley Yelnats. He is accused of stealing but he is actually innocent. The judge gives him a choice - either go to Camp Green Lake or Jail. So Stanley goes to Camp, since he never went before. But Camp Green Lake is horrible, and Stanley hates it...
                • gemluvssoccer37
                  gemluvssoccer37Tuesday, January 5, 2021 at 3:56 pm55 stars
                  I've read the book AND watched the movie!
                  • babyyodafan1
                    babyyodafan1Tuesday, January 5, 2021 at 3:18 pm44 stars
                    It's a cool book.
                    • gimmemy_pie
                      gimmemy_pieMonday, January 4, 2021 at 5:29 am55 stars
                      I love it my favorite character is zero and caveman