Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8V4.647079

Stanley Yelnats is sentenced to dig holes at Camp Green Lake detention centre for stealing a pair of trainers. Stanley's quest to discover what he is digging for leads to danger and adventure and to a confrontation with his family's past.

Paperback, 233 pages
Published on May 9, 2000 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0440414806
ISBN-13: 9780440414803
489 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • booksrule473
    booksrule473Monday, September 7, 2020 at 1:39 pm55 stars
    I'm almost finished holes! so far its very interesting . can't wait to see what happens next. if You haven't read this READ IT!!!!!
    • bookfan2008
      bookfan2008Monday, July 20, 2020 at 5:17 pm55 stars
      SO GOOD!!! Very enjoable and captivating to read as well!
      • leiker1414
        leiker1414Saturday, July 4, 2020 at 5:36 pm
        It's my favorite movie you should watch it if u have not seen it or read the book. U have to dig a hole every day at camp green lake to make u a better kid. I won't spoil any of it though.
        • lovereading310
          lovereading310Monday, June 29, 2020 at 4:35 pm55 stars
          i read it in school! very good!
          • effie302
            effie302Friday, June 12, 2020 at 7:06 am
            its very interesting I must say, but I think the movie is better, but I did read this book, very cool ending, I recommend!
            • adamthekid
              adamthekidThursday, June 4, 2020 at 6:34 am44 stars
              I really liked this book because it was really funny, and intresting.
              • bookfan2008
                bookfan2008Sunday, April 5, 2020 at 1:11 pm55 stars
                I loved this book. Very intresting book.
                • cbear165
                  cbear165Monday, March 16, 2020 at 10:39 am55 stars
                  I love this book. I would recommend this book for 8 year olds and up. I first read this book for a school assignment. It was a good book to read. It was so good I am reading it again.
                  • starkk_22
                    starkk_22Friday, March 13, 2020 at 5:36 am44 stars
                    This book is about Stanley Yelnats who's been convicted of stealing shoes. For his punishment he goes to a detention center in the middle of the desert. One day while digging he finds something interesting which leads him on an adventure through the desert. I connected to this book because it shows how he didn't really get to choose what happened to him after he got convicted and I've been in that situation a few times.
                    • mimiv
                      mimivThursday, March 12, 2020 at 6:55 pm55 stars
                      The book starts out with a boy named Stanley convicted of a crime he didn't commit but his story is a little off so the judge doesn't believe him. He is sent to Camp Green Lake the camp is meant to build character in a boy and toughen them up in the real world. Most of the story surrounds that setting of Camp Green Lake. But near the end, he runs away. This book is very interesting. I give it 5 stars because it kept me interested. There were no boring parts like most books. You may find the book a little confusing because it bounces back and forth between the past and present. I found this book relatable because of how he was given a second chance to fight his case in court. Showing how everyone needs a second chance because the first time around may not be correct.