Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8V4.647079

Stanley Yelnats is sentenced to dig holes at Camp Green Lake detention centre for stealing a pair of trainers. Stanley's quest to discover what he is digging for leads to danger and adventure and to a confrontation with his family's past.

Hardcover, 265 pages
Published on September 2, 2008 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux
ISBN-10: 0374332665
ISBN-13: 9780374332662
462 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lilkhikhi25
    lilkhikhi25Wednesday, September 25, 2019 at 11:44 am
    it so fun i read it in 3rd grade
    • clover5
      clover5Saturday, September 14, 2019 at 5:10 am55 stars
      I like this book because the topic was quite unusual, but somehow interesting! It's about a horrible camp called Camp Green Lake, except that there is no lake!
      • itz_makayla07
        itz_makayla07Wednesday, August 28, 2019 at 10:31 am
        I love the book holes because it actually teach you that real friends will go out looking for you.Holes was about kids that had to pick out of jail or camp green lake
        • queenie_cupcake
          queenie_cupcakeSunday, August 18, 2019 at 3:59 pm55 stars
          My uncle gave this book to me, and I read it in one day. My dad was telling me to stop reading! I just loved this book. It's about a named Stanley. Stanley's family and he are always in the wrong place at the wrong time. Stanley and his family blamed things that went wrong on his, "no-good-dirty-rotten- pig-stealing-great-great-grandfather. Stanley who "stole" a pair of sneakers from his hero, went to court. Stanley's mother told Stanley before he went to court," just tell the truth,". At court Stanley was given a choice it was either to go to jail or Camp Green Lake. Stanley chose Camp Green Lake. Every day at the Camp Green lake you dug holes. The holes had to be 5 feet deep and 5 feet wide. The kids there gave Stanley a nickname, Caveman. A quiet kid, Zero became a good friend with Stanley over time. I like how the author included stories about when Green Lake was a real lake about a hundred years ago.
          • orangefoxes8
            orangefoxes8Thursday, May 30, 2019 at 6:37 am55 stars
            I decided to read this book-- well, our teacher did. We are still reading this book 'till this day! There is a kid named Stanley Yelnats, turns out his last name was spelled backwards and the same letters spelled forwards. So Stanley was innocent and told the officers he didn't steal it from the showcase. He was guilty and had a poor family. So all he had to do, was getting sent to camp for his own good. Not just any camp, Camp Green Lake. He told his cabin-mates he found the shoes by the shoes falling out of the sky for no reason. He thought it never belonged to someone. So he took it, and ran. He never knew why he was running. Probably from the guilt, or just running from another school day.
            • ilikebunnies
              ilikebunniesWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 6:56 pm
              this is a really good book about stanley yelnats and Zero try to get away. My favorite part was when they found gods thumb and were living there.
              • im-riddikulus
                im-riddikulusFriday, May 17, 2019 at 2:00 pm55 stars
                Ever complained about having to do a few chores? I know I have! However, after I read this book, I'm definitely glad that I only have to do a few! Holes is about Stanley Yelnats (yes his last name is Stanly spelled backward) who got in trouble for a crime he didn't commit. He has to go to Camp Greenlake (disclaimer: it's a dried up wasteland) and dig a hole every day that is 5 feet wide and 5 feet deep. As mysteries slowly unravel, Stanly has to decide where he stands and what he's going to do about his situation. I suggest this book to 4th grade and up. This is a great book!
                • jayjay_girl46
                  jayjay_girl46Friday, May 17, 2019 at 7:50 am55 stars
                  Actually best times of my life
                  • jayjay_girl46
                    jayjay_girl46Friday, May 17, 2019 at 7:49 am55 stars
                    I used to read this with my old class. Ah such good times
                    • DEVILMonday, May 6, 2019 at 9:40 pm
                      i think this is the best book i have ever read other then the B.F.G. which you should go read. I think the B.F.G. and the Malala Yousafzai book are one of the best books including this book, i have ever read.