Holes (Thorndike Press Large Print Literacy Bridge Series)

"Thorndike Press Large Print The Literacy Bridge"--Copyright page.
Hardcover, 289 pages
Published on August 2, 2017 by Thorndike Press Large Print
ISBN-10: 1432841866
ISBN-13: 9781432841867
18 Book Reviews
  • oe26dustinu
    oe26dustinuWednesday, March 3, 2021 at 10:54 am55 stars
    This book is awesome!
    • Dustin UWednesday, March 3, 2021 at 10:45 am
      I read this book for a book report and loved it!
      • girlpower4ever
        girlpower4everThursday, July 2, 2020 at 10:20 am55 stars
        Stanley Yelnats is always in the wrong place at the wrong time, and it's all thanks to his no-good-dirty-rotten-pig-stealing-great-great-grandfather. When a pair of shoes inexplicably fall on Stanley's head, it's the last straw: it turns out that they belong to the famous baseball player Clyde Livingston, who had donated them to the orphanage to be auctioned. In court, Stanley's "they fell out of the sky" reason sounds pretty lame to his own ears, and it does to the court judge, too. He gives Stanley and his parents a choice. Either Stanley serves time or he goes to Camp Green Lake. Stanley was never rich enough to go to camp, so of course, he picks CGL, but it turns out to be beyond his wildest dreams - in the worst way possible. Barely any water, scorching conditions, hostile campmates, selfish camp directors, and having to dig a six-by-six foot hole every day is nothing like the camps Stanley has heard of. But when a miraculous encounter with Zero, a fellow camper, shows that their family lines may have crossed before, Stanley's wrong-place-at-the-wrong-time curse has a chance to be lifted.
        • webubani-158023957842
          webubani-158023957842Monday, February 3, 2020 at 4:06 am55 stars
          This book is about a kid named Stanley Yelnats who is accused of a crime he did not do. He is sent to a camp called "Camp Green Lake" (there is no lake) where kids dig holes to find a treasure. I liked the book and would recommend for a read with its action at moments, suspense, and it's plot in general. It was good but the background is a little vauge on what happened.
          • alien_9233009Friday, January 31, 2020 at 7:57 am
            This story is about a boy named Stanley Yelnats, who is convicted of a crime he didn't commit. He is sent to Camp Green Lake (ironic because there is no lake), and he is forced to dig holes every day. In my opinion, I wasn't a fan of this book because I thought the book had a vague plot. The climax happened a little too late and it wasn't the kind I expected. The willpower of Stanley is not what I expected. He's got too much to deal with, like the bullies at school, teachers, and now ending up in a camp that is an equivalent to jail. He doesn't speak up enough. I did like the backstories and how they tied to each of the characters. After all, I'm going to have to rate this 3 stars. Don't take my word for it. Go read Holes and see how you like it.
            • elle_0724
              elle_0724Friday, January 10, 2020 at 7:43 am55 stars
              In my opinion, this book was very good. Stanley Yelnats was a an poor high school boy. One day a famous sports players sneakers fell from the sky into Stanley's arms. The cops then came and arrested him for theft. Little did they know, Stanley didn't steal the sneakers. Stanley was then sent to a place called Camp Green lake to fulfill his sentence. The prisoners must dig holes to find a lost treasure. Stanley finds out that the treasure belongs to him. Stanley then takes his treasure (A lot of money,) and he becomes wealthy. I can relate to this story because I have had hard time just like Stanley. I am rating this book five stars because it really explains Stanley's life perfectly.
              • ntill4265
                ntill4265Tuesday, January 7, 2020 at 6:45 am55 stars
                In my opinion, I really liked this book. One reason why is that it was descriptive. Another reason why is at one spot it got really suspenseful. The last reason why is near the middle it got really interesting . My favorite part is when the author wrote down that the holes that they are digging is 5 ft deep and 5 ft wide. You might like this book if you like mystery and suspenseful. You should read this book because it is a really good
                • lime_skater0707
                  lime_skater0707Tuesday, July 9, 2019 at 4:53 pm55 stars
                  This book is about this character digging a hole. Instead of going to jail, he went to a desert and he have to dig a hole that is 5 feet deep. I feel really bad for the character. I really like this book and you should read it. Also, my school recommend this book so yeah. Bye. Nope you enjoy this book.
                  • entitypro303Friday, May 3, 2019 at 8:52 am
                    #AWESOME!
                    • holesFriday, May 3, 2019 at 7:38 am
                      it is a good movie and a book but i think it has some cursing