Stanley Yelnats is sentenced to dig holes at Camp Green Lake detention centre for stealing a pair of trainers. Stanley's quest to discover what he is digging for leads to danger and adventure and to a confrontation with his family's past.

Paperback
Published on October 3, 2011 by Galaxy
ISBN-10: 1445820021
ISBN-13: 9781445820026
414 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • danipuppygirl
    danipuppygirlMonday, August 14, 2017 at 11:28 am
    I read the book with my dad. He said that he read it a long time ago. I like that the family never gave up on there dream to find a sink free shoe. One should be good and not hold grudges with others. good book. saw the move this past weekend. good too
    • georgiasilver
      georgiasilverWednesday, August 9, 2017 at 4:57 pm44 stars
      An intriguing and lovable story, the heartbreak and struggle throughout Holes shows the readers the life of a teen and the experiences he gains that will change his life.
      • beast2323
        beast2323Tuesday, August 8, 2017 at 7:10 pm44 stars
        This book is about Stanley Yelnats, who has been arrested for a crime he didn't commit, and he's on a bus headed for Camp Green Lake. He starts digging holes and finds more about his family's past.
        • dumbles
          dumblesSaturday, August 5, 2017 at 12:45 pm
          We're headed to camp! Actually, scratch that exclamation point: Holes begins with a description of Camp Green Lake, a juvenile detention facility in Texas. Basically, it's a place for kids who have committed crimes. Stanley Yelnats, overweight, lonely, and poor, has been arrested for a crime he didn't commit, and he's on a bus headed for Camp Green Lake. Stanley's arrest is just the latest in a string of bad fortunes for the Yelnats family. Turns out that several generations back, the Yelnatses were cursed by a one-legged gypsy. And over the course of the book, we get a glimpse into some different time periods: the story of Stanley Yelnats and his unlikely friendship with another camper named Zero; the story of Stanley's great-great-grandpa who was cursed by Madame Zeroni; and the story of Miss Katherine's transformation to Kissin' Kate Barlow after a failed love affair with an onion man. In the end, all of these stories come together, and – spoiler alert – Stanley Yelnats comes out on top and the underdog prevails. Booya.
          • abrightstar101 Tuesday, August 1, 2017 at 6:42 am
            I read this in school as our class novel it's really fun and exciting. You can almost feel the sun blazing on face as you read it. I love when he goes back to one hundred years ago. I love kissen Kate Barlow
            • panda13Thursday, July 27, 2017 at 10:03 pm
              Best movie ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!And Hector is so nice
              • tlivi
                tliviThursday, July 27, 2017 at 1:49 pm55 stars
                Stanley gets sent to a Camp because his family has bad luck because they were cursed. He has to dig lots of holes. He finds out they are actually looking for buried treasure.
                • fluffy16
                  fluffy16Sunday, July 23, 2017 at 10:47 am55 stars
                  the book was great. I found it very interesting. I definitely recommend this book to those who enjoy adventure and being at the edge of their seat. loved it. enjoy!
                  • lilibelle
                    lilibelleTuesday, July 18, 2017 at 8:32 pm44 stars
                    After seeing the Disney movie Holes countless times, I looked forward to reading the book. As always the book was just as good, if not better than the movie. Louis Sachar tells a story about the past and present all at the same time. I definitely recommend this book!
                    • lilibelle
                      lilibelleTuesday, July 18, 2017 at 8:07 pm44 stars
                      After seeing the Disney movie Holes countless times, I looked forward to reading the book. As always the book was just as good, if not better than the movie. Louis Sachar tells a story about the past and present all at the same time. I definitely recommend this book!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Kenny wrote:

                      i really enjoyed this book
                      Molly's Story: A Dog's Purpose N...

                      stromtrooper75 wrote:

                      Calvin creates a snow goon which...
                      ATTACK OF THE DERANGED MUTANT KI...

                      klbaek26
                      klbaek26 wrote:

                      I loved the book Secret Garden!!!!!
                      The Secret Garden