Holes (Cascades)

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8V4.647079
Stanley Yelnats is sentenced to dig holes at Camp Green Lake detention centre for stealing a pair of trainers. Stanley's quest to discover what he is digging for leads to danger and adventure and to a confrontation with his family's past.
Paperback
Published on October 3, 2011 by Galaxy
ISBN-10: 1445820021
ISBN-13: 9781445820026
210 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • m1lk3y_w4y
    m1lk3y_w4yFriday, June 23, 2017 at 3:38 pm55 starsFeatured
    Holes seems like a classic book. It is a book that I would recommend to anyone who wants a sense of adventure as they read about Stanley Yelnats IV, who is once again up to no good. Stanley is falsely accused of stealing a new pair of baseball shoes that a famous baseball player donated to a homeless shelter auction. In court, Stanley is given the choice to either go to jail or to go to a camp that builds character. When he admits he has never been to camp before, the Judge sends him over to Camp Green Lake. Yet, this camp is not your ordinary camp. You see, in Camp Green Lake, Mr. Sir, a counselor, says that if you take a bad boy and make him dig a hole in the staggering heat every day, he will become a good boy. Yup, holes in the ground! What will happen to Stanley when he enters a world filled with hole and poisonous yellow-spotted lizards? Will he survive? How will he ever escape from this camp? In fact, there is an astounding reason behind making the boys in the camp dig those holes. To learn more, you have to read this five-star book, which will leave you standing on your tippy-toes. This book was a great page-turner and is great for young readers.
    • l_linnell_117
      l_linnell_117Friday, June 23, 2017 at 1:54 pm
      I read this book in 5th grade just looking at the cover I was not so sure I would like it but I should game never judged the book by the cover the use of words are incredible this book is great for girls and boys so do not think the book is not for you this book is for anyone fember after you read the book to review it and then to watch the movie you can probably find it at your local library or rent it trust me it is worth the money please remember to like and follow if you enjoy this post I promise there will be many more like it since I love to read
      • avatar1
        avatar1Friday, June 23, 2017 at 12:33 pm55 stars
        I really loved how Stanley is accused of stealing when he really had nothing to feel guilty about. It wasn't his fault that he found that pair of trainers. They still sent him to detention camp.
        • lotusdance
          lotusdanceThursday, June 22, 2017 at 1:01 pm44 stars
          I like the suspense in each chapter in holes. I enjoyed the whole book and have reread it a couple of times. It did not look like a good book to me from the cover but once I started reading it I loved it.
          • kulkid
            kulkidWednesday, June 21, 2017 at 8:25 am55 stars
            Louis Sachar did wonderfully on this book. I highly recommend it. My favorite character is Twitch because he helps the main character escape from camp.
            • gedwards
              gedwardsTuesday, June 20, 2017 at 6:05 pm55 stars
              Holes is a really good book! It's about a kid named Stanley Yelnates who's family is cursed by his no-good-dirty-rotten-pig-stealing- great-great-grandfather. Stanley gets in trouble because they think he stole a pair of sneakers and he is sentenced to go to camp. At the camp, it's no fun at all. He has dig holes for the mean warden who's after the treasure of Kissin' Kate Barlow. He makes a friend named Zero (who was really the one who stole the shoes) and he ends up carrying him up the side of a mountain and breaking his families curse.
              • beaverbot2.0Monday, June 19, 2017 at 9:13 am
                This book is very intense and I've read it so many times as well as watching the movie a ton.
                • cobrazeus10
                  cobrazeus10Saturday, June 17, 2017 at 3:42 pm22 stars
                  I hwd heard s lot of good things about this book, but was a little disappointed when i finally read it. It was kind of boring. However i did like the characters and enjoyed the backstory mentioned in the book.
                  • awesomessb
                    awesomessbWednesday, June 14, 2017 at 2:38 pm55 stars
                    Holes is a great Louis Sachar book! It was different than some of his other books like Wayside School. I think anyone will enjoy this book!
                    • GeekGirl47Wednesday, June 14, 2017 at 7:44 am
                      Great Book

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      callie_is_cool

                      OK, this book is AWESOME. Fast-f...
                      Cinder: Book One in the Lunar Ch...

                      railz
                      railz wrote:

                      This is about a boy who is a sci...
                      Frank Einstein and the Antimatte...

                      railz
                      railz wrote:

                      I like this book because it remi...
                      Smile

                      divadancer101

                      This Graphic novel is about Rain...
                      Smile