Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8V4.647079

Stanley Yelnats is sentenced to dig holes at Camp Green Lake detention centre for stealing a pair of trainers. Stanley's quest to discover what he is digging for leads to danger and adventure and to a confrontation with his family's past.

Paperback
Published on July 12, 2009 by by Louis Sachar
474 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • alex_alexiee
    alex_alexieeThursday, October 31, 2019 at 2:22 am44 stars
    HOLES is a great book that i had read in 3rd grade when i was a level v and now i'm in 5th and a level z!HOLES is a book with action,adventure and you can learn things like integrety.When i read the book i instantly fell in love with it.so if your bored and just wanna read,i think you should read holes.
    • fortnitegamer
      fortnitegamerTuesday, October 29, 2019 at 3:18 pm55 stars
      i love holes the movie is great
      • waddlesgmes
        waddlesgmesTuesday, October 29, 2019 at 11:18 am55 stars
        I LOVE holes. The plot, rising action, falling action, It was all awesome!
        • leadership1
          leadership1Tuesday, October 29, 2019 at 9:38 am
          This was a really good book. I like it because it is about a boy who is like me. He is brave and stands up for friends. I also like it because he was wrongly chosen and it was exciting to know who was going to end up good and who was going to end up bad. I also like it because he goes to prison camp. I really like this book.
          • midnight_moon
            midnight_moonFriday, October 25, 2019 at 9:26 am55 stars
            i loved holes it was so good but i haven't seen the movie
            • rickdog
              rickdogThursday, October 24, 2019 at 5:40 pm55 stars
              Holes is a 1998 young adult novel written by Louis Sachar. The book is mainly about an unlucky teenage boy named Stanley Yelnats, who is sent to Camp Green Lake - a juvenile corrections facility in a desert in Texas - after being falsely accused of theft. The plot explores the history of the area and how the actions of several characters in the past have affected Stanley's life in the present. These interconnecting stories touch on themes such as racism, homelessness, & illiteracy. Much of the praise for the book has centered around its complex plot, interesting characters, and representation of people of color and youth. I won't lie, but this book was really entertaining to read because all the characters shined their own personality which I think made the book great. I hope that all of you would consider reading this book because it was amazing! so who ever wins go luck and hope you read it alot
              • moonlightwolf
                moonlightwolfThursday, October 24, 2019 at 11:05 am55 stars
                so cool
                • moonlightwolf
                  moonlightwolfThursday, October 24, 2019 at 8:25 am55 stars
                  such a good book cool book not a hot grade too bayliem i read it and watched the movie sooo awesome
                  • moonlightwolf
                    moonlightwolfThursday, October 24, 2019 at 8:22 am55 stars
                    Love the book. is the best book I have ever read
                    • moonlightwolf
                      moonlightwolfThursday, October 24, 2019 at 8:20 am55 stars
                      I love that book! I think that it is the best book in the world