The Trials of Apollo, Book 1: The Hidden Oracle

Book 1 of 2 in the Trials of Apollo Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9Grades 3 - 6n/a5.183801
How do you punish an immortal?

By making him human.

After angering his father Zeus, the god Apollo is cast down from Olympus. Weak and disoriented, he lands in New York City as a regular teenage boy. Now, without his godly powers, the four-thousand-year-old deity must learn to survive in the modern world until he can somehow find a way to regain Zeus's favor.

But Apollo has many enemies-gods, monsters, and mortals who would love to see the former Olympian permanently destroyed. Apollo needs help, and he can think of only one place to go . . . an enclave of modern demigods known as Camp Half-Blood.
Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on May 3, 2016 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 148473274X
ISBN-13: 9781484732748
66 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • magicalmythical
    magicalmythicalTuesday, August 4, 2020 at 8:39 am55 stars
    I loved these books and I attend that everybody should read this amazing author's books!
    • swirlycool
      swirlycoolWednesday, July 8, 2020 at 12:23 pm55 stars
      Apollo has done many things in his immortal life, but he has never landed in a dumpster in an ally. He has been turned into a mortal, and has been blamed for the war that had happened in the Heroes of Olympus series. Apollo must serve a girl named Meg, the daughter of Demeter. Whenever Meg needs help, her friend Peaches comes to the rescue. Also, something strange is going on at Camp Halfblood. Demigods are going missing with no sign of where they could have gone. The oracles are not working. Not only that, but in Apollo's mind, what's worse is the fact that he is now named Lester and has acne. Overall, this book was funny and I enjoyed reading the haikus at the beginning of each chapter. I recommend this book to people who liked the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. I rate this book 5/5.
      • bucinegy-158515157526
        bucinegy-158515157526Wednesday, June 17, 2020 at 8:28 am55 stars
        i want to read it bad BEST BOOK EVER
        • nac
          nacThursday, May 21, 2020 at 8:39 am55 stars
          Something is wrong with the oracle, and now it's up to the mighty apollo to save the day. There is just one problem. Apollo is no longer mighty. As punishment for something that happened back at olympus, Apollo is now a normal teenager, bound to serve the very annoying Meg. But how is anyone, supposed to save anything as a normal human teenger. This book was funny and very adventurous. I recommend.
          • kotlcgirl
            kotlcgirlThursday, April 23, 2020 at 8:28 am44 stars
            This was a good book but on the downside, Apollo is very snobby, so it wasn't really "cool " On the good side, I enjoyed the poems at the start of the chapters when they weren't talking about Apollo's awesomeness. Riordan packed a lot of action in the book, just like Percy Jackson and Heroes of Olympus. This book has good sides but also has things that,in my opinion, could be improved.
            • nature123
              nature123Friday, April 3, 2020 at 10:02 am55 stars
              The book starts off when Apollo "the god everyone loves" get thrown into this dumpster and little girl who is also serious Meg now her master has to follow everywhere she goes and worst of that he's a puny mortal. This all happen because something that happens in the battle with the giants. SO in conclusion he also has to fight Python his greatest enemy and on the cherry on top is that he also needs to fight for his oracles one of his oldest possessions. Bye! Wait did I also tell you that he needs to defeat the Roman emperors.
              • kotlcgirl
                kotlcgirlSunday, March 29, 2020 at 10:25 am44 stars
                Hello! My dad is trying to persuade me to read the Trials of Apollo. I read Percy Jackson and Heroes of Olympus but should I read this series? Put a thumbs up if you recommend this series.
                • nala1019
                  nala1019Sunday, February 16, 2020 at 12:27 am55 stars
                  Very cool! The god of prophecy, Apollo, gets turned in to a mortal by his father, Zeus, because of something that happens in the heroes of Olympus. Super book! Any book that is related to Percy Jackson is good in my opinion.
                  • bookwormdude29
                    bookwormdude29Wednesday, January 1, 2020 at 9:21 am55 stars
                    I recently just started reading this series, and it is AWESOME. If you loved Percy Jackson, you’ll love this series, too, because it is in the same universe. As usual, Riordan has created a book that has tons of action, yet tons of laughs. Overall, this book is great, and I would recommend it for 5th graders and older.
                    • big_bobby_2008
                      big_bobby_2008Wednesday, December 4, 2019 at 9:00 am55 stars
                      This book is amazing. The best part is when Apollo is so angry that he is bad at archery and music that he swears that he won't use it again. Then people just stare at him and start to laugh. When he went on the 3 legged race he complained Meg was to slow so he kicked him but it didn't go so well after that. Later on in the story, Meg's Karpos Peaches tries to help meg escape but decides to start fighting the trees for no apparent reason. Will Meg return? Will Apollo find the other 4 Oracles? Read The Trials of Apollo to find out. I would suggest this book to be for 7th graders and higher leveled readers in 6th grade.