Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9Grades 2 - 5n/a4.546958
What dangers do runaway demigods Luke and Thalia face on their way to Camp Half-Blood? Are Percy and Annabeth up to the task of rescuing stolen goods from a fire-breathing giant who doesn't take kindly to intruders? How exactly are Leo, Piper, and Jason supposed to find a runaway table, dodge a band of party-loving Maenads (who just might be a little psychotic), and stave off a massive explosion...all in one hour or less?

With his trademark wit and creativity, Rick Riordan answers these questions and more in three never-before-seen short stories that provide vital back-story to the Heroes of Olympus and Percy Jackson books. Original art, enlightening character interviews and illustrated profiles, puzzles, and a quiz add to the fun in this action-packed collection that is sure to delight legions of loyal fans.
Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on August 14, 2012 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423163001
ISBN-13: 9781423163008
24 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • jaden07
    jaden07Sunday, August 18, 2019 at 8:20 pm55 stars
    You will find out background information the the Greek demigod series in this, Such as Luke. You find out the events of. What happened the night Grover led Luke, Thaila, and Annabeth to Camp half blood. You’ll find out other tales in this as well. BTW if you show a mortal this It’d be a guide on how to deal with poison ivy or something like that.
    • clarinetgirl
      clarinetgirlSunday, March 17, 2019 at 10:46 am55 stars
      This book has several fun stories to go along with the Percy Jackson novels. Also, there are games and puzzles.
      • ajg16
        ajg16Friday, November 24, 2017 at 1:29 pm55 stars
        So I went to the library and I was going to start 'The Kane Chronicles' but they only had the first one so I got that and this book. I wasn't sure if I was gonna like it even though I'm a huge Percy Jackson fan but I got it anyways...and I LOVED it! WARNING: could be spoilers ahead.................(anddd start) The first part is called 'The Diary Of Luke Castellan' and it's about when Luke (son of Hermes) and Thalia (daughter of Zeus) are on an adventure to survive and then they meet Annabeth (daughter of Athena) who is it only 7 years old. Honestly Rick could have wrote a few books off that diary entry. The second part of this book is called 'Percy Jackson and the Staff Of Hermes' ok so this part of the book starts off with Percy and Annabeth are having a picnic then Hermes pulls up and gives Percy a quest to find his caduceus—his staff of power which has to snakes—george and martha wrapped around it. So they (percy and annabeth) go on an adventure to find it (and theres always a time-limit.) They fight a giant come back just in time and Hermes does Percy a favor that I'm not gonna spoil...so read the book 👍 the next part of the book is a short interview with George and Martha, Hermes snakes. The next story is called 'Leo Valdez and the Quest for Buford' this story (I'm gonna try not to spoil too much) ok so first Leo blames Windex for this entire story :) ok so basically Buford is a table, this table can move Leo is building something that needs a certain piece if that piece does not go on what he's building it will explode half of Camp Half-Blood...so Leo, Piper, and Jason all go through the woods and —————————i didn't want to spoil it sorry... Anyways the last story in the book is not written by rick Riordan but his SON Haley Riordan and all I could say about it was "WHERE IS THE SERIES FOR THIS STORY!?!?" no joke it's so amazing its called 'Son Of Magic' it starts of as a normal mortal (Dr. Claymore) who writes books about death (I'm pretty sure) anyways let's fast-forward ------------ Dr. Claymore meets Alabaster a magic half-blood that fought with kronos in the titan war. Anywaysss alabasters monster sister tries to kill him an dr. Claymore helps him. I don't wanna spoil anymore and I've been typing this for an hour so thanks for reading. This is an amazing book I 100% thank you! And good-bye ❤❤❤❤
        • ajg16
          ajg16Saturday, November 25, 2017 at 2:47 pm55 stars
          ......I think I might have typed to much....
        • kltoad
          kltoadSunday, April 2, 2017 at 6:59 am55 stars
          Has cool stories about other demigods than Percy Jackson. Some have suspense and I think some stories have cliff-hangers. I rate 5/5 stars.
          • JThursday, December 3, 2015 at 6:48 am
            I hope they make more
            • fanThursday, January 15, 2015 at 1:13 pm
              BEST BOOKS EVER!
              • swimmer_girl02
                swimmer_girl02Saturday, November 22, 2014 at 3:20 pm55 stars
                rick riordan is a must read for everyone! The humor and facts balance perfectly! Also, I am A HUGE riordan fan! I buy every single book the day it comes out!
                • analise
                  analiseWednesday, November 19, 2014 at 12:41 pm55 stars
                  I read every single book by Rick Riordan. AND IVE LOVED EVERY SINGLE ONE! Great book! Riordan balances funny, scary, suspense, and serious! YOU MUST READ HIS BOOKS!
                  • slidies1
                    slidies1Sunday, November 16, 2014 at 1:20 pm55 stars
                    This book is very, very good! I recommend it to anyone 10 and up.It is very exciting and adventurous. Please go to your local library and check out this book. You will enjoy it.
                    • mysteriousbird
                      mysteriousbirdSaturday, September 6, 2014 at 1:16 pm55 stars
                      This companion book has four new stories and character interviews, and it also contains some info about the new characters in the next series... :)