Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7n/an/an/an/a

Acclaimed and award-winning author Erin Entrada Kelly’s Hello, Universe is a funny and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships. Told from four intertwining points of view—two boys and two girls—the novel celebrates bravery, being different, and finding your inner bayani (hero), and it’s perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt, Thanhha Lai, and Rita Williams-Garcia.

In one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset, who is deaf, is smart, brave, and secretly lonely, and she loves everything about nature. Kaori Tanaka is a self-proclaimed psychic, whose little sister, Gen, is always following her around. And Chet Bullens wishes the weird kids would just stop being so different so that he can concentrate on basketball. They aren’t friends, at least not until Chet pulls a prank that traps Virgil and his pet guinea pig at the bottom of a well. This disaster leads Kaori, Gen, and Valencia on an epic quest to find the missing Virgil. Sometimes four can do what one cannot. Through luck, smarts, bravery, and a little help from the universe, a rescue is performed, a bully is put in his place, and friendship blooms. The acclaimed author of Blackbird Fly and The Land of Forgotten Girls writes with an authentic, humorous, and irresistible tween voice that will appeal to fans of Thanhha Lai and Rita Williams-Garcia.

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on March 14, 2017 by Greenwillow Books
ISBN-10: 0062414151
ISBN-13: 9780062414151
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • belle252
    belle252Thursday, July 2, 2020 at 2:03 am55 stars
    This is such a good book about a boy who is lost. He doesn't really know how to be brave and he doesn't believe in himself, and worst of all a bully is after his life literally. He has a pet Guiana pig named Gulliver and he seems like his only friend. One day the bully throws Virgil's(the boy)backpack into a well and Gulliver was inside the bag. Now it's up to Virgil to save his only friend. But Virgil gets stuck inside the well and now it seems like the end for him. He has no hope and even his phone is broken, read this book to find out if he gets out of the well.
    • hedgeguin2
      hedgeguin2Thursday, May 28, 2020 at 10:41 am44 stars
      This book is pretty good so far. I like how they tell you the story of a time in their life in four different perspectives, each very different. I can’t wait o finish reading this! :)
      • diamond897
        diamond897Sunday, May 24, 2020 at 4:10 pm55 stars
        This was very good book a boy gets stuck in a well with his hamster. A bully of his pushed him into the well. Then some of his friends go and look for him. Days later they find him and he is sent home.
        • sukijeta-157615959642
          sukijeta-157615959642Thursday, December 12, 2019 at 6:56 am44 stars
          Hello, Universe is an amazing book with a great plot and moral (compliments of Erin Entrada Kelly). It shows us how we should be courageous and that we need to stand up for ourselves, and with friends we are unstoppable.
          • mooncakemaniac
            mooncakemaniacSaturday, November 16, 2019 at 8:05 am55 stars
            This book was really nice, really exciting, and I bet a lot of people could relate to this character. Read it!
            • & EmmaThursday, July 11, 2019 at 12:42 pm
              I read this book for school. It wasn’t really for me. I’m used to reading long books with action, a little bit of violence, and multiple character deaths that impact the main character. I’m in 7th going into 8th grade. I have been reading 8th grade books. I read the Divergent series, Gone series, and many more exciting long books that made me want to read more. I didn’t really like this book nothing made me want to ready more.
              • auntieb
                auntiebMonday, July 9, 2018 at 4:47 pm44 stars
                I read this book a couple of years ago and enjoyed it!
                • soccerrunner
                  soccerrunnerThursday, March 1, 2018 at 5:54 am55 stars
                  This book is amazing!!!!! I love how it has a theme of even if you seem to have no meaning you can do great things.