Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7n/an/an/an/a

Acclaimed and award-winning author Erin Entrada Kelly’s Hello, Universe is a funny and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships. Told from four intertwining points of view—two boys and two girls—the novel celebrates bravery, being different, and finding your inner bayani (hero), and it’s perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt, Thanhha Lai, and Rita Williams-Garcia.

In one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset, who is deaf, is smart, brave, and secretly lonely, and she loves everything about nature. Kaori Tanaka is a self-proclaimed psychic, whose little sister, Gen, is always following her around. And Chet Bullens wishes the weird kids would just stop being so different so that he can concentrate on basketball. They aren’t friends, at least not until Chet pulls a prank that traps Virgil and his pet guinea pig at the bottom of a well. This disaster leads Kaori, Gen, and Valencia on an epic quest to find the missing Virgil. Sometimes four can do what one cannot. Through luck, smarts, bravery, and a little help from the universe, a rescue is performed, a bully is put in his place, and friendship blooms. The acclaimed author of Blackbird Fly and The Land of Forgotten Girls writes with an authentic, humorous, and irresistible tween voice that will appeal to fans of Thanhha Lai and Rita Williams-Garcia.

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on March 14, 2017 by Greenwillow Books
ISBN-10: 0062414151
ISBN-13: 9780062414151
3 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • & EmmaThursday, July 11, 2019 at 12:42 pm
    I read this book for school. It wasn’t really for me. I’m used to reading long books with action, a little bit of violence, and multiple character deaths that impact the main character. I’m in 7th going into 8th grade. I have been reading 8th grade books. I read the Divergent series, Gone series, and many more exciting long books that made me want to read more. I didn’t really like this book nothing made me want to ready more.
    • auntieb
      auntiebMonday, July 9, 2018 at 4:47 pm44 stars
      I read this book a couple of years ago and enjoyed it!
      • soccerrunner
        soccerrunnerThursday, March 1, 2018 at 5:54 am55 stars
        This book is amazing!!!!! I love how it has a theme of even if you seem to have no meaning you can do great things.