Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 4 - 8n/a6.4163266

Celaena has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak-but at an unspeakable cost. Now, she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth . . . a truth about her heritage that could change her life-and her future-forever. Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. Will Celaena find the strength to not only fight her inner demons, but to take on the evil that is about to be unleashed?

The bestselling series that has captured readers all over the world reaches new heights in this sequel to the New York Times best-selling Crown of Midnight. Packed with heart-pounding action, fierce new characters, and swoon-worthy romance, this third book will enthrall readers from start to finish.

Paperback, 592 pages
Published on September 1, 2015 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
ISBN-10: 1619630672
ISBN-13: 9781619630673
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • armcginn
    armcginnWednesday, November 18, 2020 at 4:38 pm55 starsFeatured
    Our favorite, feisty assassin is back again in the third installment of Sarah J. Maas’ Throne Of Glass Series! Celaena is on her way to Wendlyn- lost, broken, and set on revenge. But her Aunt Maeve- the Fae queen, has ordered her tracked down and brought in. Celeana questions her about the Wyrdkeys… but nothing comes without a cost. She trains with the Fae warrior Rowan Whitethorn, learning to control her power as requested by Maeve- in a world full of immortal warriors, being an assassin isn’t enough to keep you alive. But to unlock her true power she must stop running from who she’s meant to be- and become who she was born to be. Enthralling, gripping, delightful, and inspiring, Throne of Glass has yet to disappoint- the series is artfully written, the characters are well-formed & complex and the plotline is beautifully structured. Be sure to have the next book- Queen of Shadows ready for when you finish, you won’t be able to put it down! I would recommend the series for middle school and up.
    • kkgautamm
      kkgautammMonday, June 29, 2020 at 1:04 pm55 stars
      i think this might even have been my favorite book in the whole series. i fell in love with rowan at first sight, and sorcha and dorian were so cute! aelin and rowans friendship was vv significant, but the book is a little bit slow.
      • Ellie SFriday, April 19, 2019 at 7:52 pm
        This book would definitely be one of my favourites. I would also want more Rowaelin scenes. I didn't really enjoy the jumping back to other people parts especially when it was a good scene for another character at that time. Overall, I wanted to know more every minute that went by.
        • anonMonday, September 28, 2015 at 10:59 pm
          Amazing read. This installment introduced us to a lot of new characters, all of whom were wonderfully developed. Manon Blackbeak, heir to the Blackbeak witches, was absolutely epic and a strong character. Rowan Whitethorn was difficult to like at the beginning, but I got heavily invested in his character and loyalty. Aedion Ashryver was a lot of fun. The plot thickens phenomenally, and I can't wait to get my hands on Queen of Shadows.
          • kasia11
            kasia11Saturday, June 20, 2015 at 4:15 am55 stars
            Another great entry for Sarah J. Maas. Aealin made it through the conflict. Can't wait for her next book. Everyone must read this book.
            • fany13
              fany13Sunday, June 14, 2015 at 12:08 pm55 stars
              After an inevitable death and a feeling of betrayal, Celeana Sardothien is sent to Erilea's neighbor continent, Wendlyn to kill the royal family. Still grieving the death of her friend, she instead follows a fae warrior to train with him, learn to control her own fae powers, and accept her place as the righful queen of Terrasen, Aelin Galathynius. Meanwhile in Adarlan, the crown prince and the captain of the guard are greeted with the Wolf of the North, Aelin's cousin. As Aelin learns to control her powers, demi-fae are found dead, the product of terrible creatures which Aelin will have to fight.
              • ness33
                ness33Monday, January 19, 2015 at 7:08 pm55 stars
                I finished this book in the early hour of 4 am and i was near crazy with sleep deprivation but dang. this book is definitely one of my must-reads. over all, this trilogy was one of the best i've ever read, it didn't lose its luster after the sequel, it stayed golden and wonderful. There is definitely mature content throughout the whole series. I thought Throne of Glass was targeted at maybe young teens, but Crown of Midnight and Heir of Fire was definitely targeted towards more mature audiences. This book was stunning and I loved it. But there isn't any real ending, you don't know whether Aelin/Celeana actually wins the war and what about the witches? I'm really confused as to what they're meant for?? Definitely a good book, and you should really try this series out. PLUS THE COVERS ARE AMAZING
                • skullsmasher201
                  skullsmasher201Friday, November 21, 2014 at 9:41 am
                  it looks good I've read all of the beyond series and more books by other authors but none by Maas