Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 6n/a5.6127167

The #1 NEW YORK TIMES bestseller that Gregory Maguire (Wicked and After Alice) calls "full of heart."

Long before she was the terror of Wonderland, she was just a girl who wanted to fall in love.

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland, and a favorite of the unmarried King of Hearts, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, all she wants is to open a shop with her best friend. But according to her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for the young woman who could be the next queen.

Then Cath meets Jest, the handsome and mysterious court joker. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the king and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into an intense, secret courtship. Cath is determined to define her own destiny and fall in love on her terms. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

In her first stand-alone teen novel, the New York Times-bestselling author dazzles us with a prequel to Alice's Adventures in Wonderland.

Hardcover, 464 pages
Published on November 8, 2016 by Feiwel & Friends
ISBN-10: 1250044650
ISBN-13: 9781250044655
21 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kgautam
    kgautamThursday, May 30, 2019 at 9:59 am55 stars
    this book made me cry, multiple times. the story and its characters are extremely lovable, and i could not get enough of them. another stunning novel by marissa meyer. i especially enjoyed it because i love wonderland!
    • kgautam
      kgautamWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 10:48 am55 stars
      this book made me cry, multiple times. the story and its characters are extremely lovable, and i could not get enough of them. another amazing book by marissa meyer. i especially loved it because i love wonderland!
      • bookstory13
        bookstory13Wednesday, January 23, 2019 at 2:18 pm11 star
        I should probably explain my star rating. One out of five. I did not like this book. Here is why...good things in this book: the author is a great writer. I was immediately entranced with the kingdom of Hearts, the talking, human-like animals, the foods that come from dreams, and how most everyone is nice. I liked the beginning of the plot, with the Jabberwock and the Cath's frustrating, complicating relationships with the King and Jest. I loved Jest himself, he's basically a book crush. Jest was funny and caring and gentle. Was willing to go great distances to ensure Cath's safety. I understood Cath's feelings toward her controlling mother. I met characters like the Mad Hatter and the March Hare and the White Rabbit. Once, Cath's dad even mentioned Alice! I liked how Cath saved Mary Ann (her maid friend) at the end. I loved Cath's dream of starting a bakery. I loved how she wanted to follow her dreams, and nothing would stop her. But then the prophecy came. A murderer, a monarch, a martyr, and mad. One for Raven, Jest, Hatte, and Cath. The prophecy showed Cath agreeing to marry the king and having a hard face. The prophecy showed Raven with an ax over a dead Jest. The prophecy showed Hatte going crazy. And then do you want to know what happened!??!? Why my rating dropped so much?!!? *spoiler* JEST WAS MURDERED AND THE AUTHOR DID NOTHING TO FIX IT!!! I had such high hopes for this after the Lunar Chronicles series. This book....it most definitely wasn't a happily-ever-after where all the characters live in peace and joy the rest of their days. Cath turns into the cold hearted Queen of Hearts after the brutal death of Jest (WHY!!?!?!?) and Jest dies (WHY!?!??!) and Raven also becomes dark and withdrawn, and the Mad Hatter went insane. All in all, this was an extremely disappointing book that made me cry. I would not recommend it if unless you enjoy terrible, sad endings.
        • shootingstars
          shootingstarsThursday, January 24, 2019 at 11:47 am
          Wow 0-0
        • BookwormWednesday, October 24, 2018 at 10:21 am
          OUtstanding
          • hollowitz
            hollowitzMonday, July 23, 2018 at 8:50 pm44 stars
            I love the story. However I just couldn't bear how Kathy became the notorious Queen of Hearts. It was just sooo sad to see Kathy and her sweet dream to open up a bakery with her friend come to an end. (The worst part is that I knew she was going to be the 'heartless' Queen of Hearts she is now (how ironic)). I just maybe hoped that Kathy could have a happy 'life of baking and friends' ending that usually every fairy tale girl should have.
            • queenavocado
              queenavocadoTuesday, May 8, 2018 at 2:33 pm55 stars
              This is one of my all time favorite books. Marissa Meyer is an amazing young adult writer, and this book shows why. It is the story of how the Queen of Hearts became the Queen we all know today. I would recommend this to anybody!
              • queenavocado
                queenavocadoTuesday, May 8, 2018 at 2:33 pm55 stars
                This is one of my all time favorite books. Marissa Meyer is an amazing young adult writer, and this book shows why. It is the story of how the Queen of Hearts became the Queen we all know today. I would recommend this to anybody!
                • Booklover145💖Sunday, March 4, 2018 at 5:47 pm
                  I love this book to pieces. I love it when Jest and Cath kiss. I cried when Jest died. Amazing book.
                  • meenu_800
                    meenu_800Friday, October 13, 2017 at 8:12 am55 stars
                    Awesomeness
                    • meenu_800
                      meenu_800Friday, October 13, 2017 at 8:12 am55 stars
                      I love this.