Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 6n/a5.6127167

The #1 NEW YORK TIMES bestseller that Gregory Maguire (Wicked and After Alice) calls "full of heart."

Long before she was the terror of Wonderland, she was just a girl who wanted to fall in love.

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland, and a favorite of the unmarried King of Hearts, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, all she wants is to open a shop with her best friend. But according to her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for the young woman who could be the next queen.

Then Cath meets Jest, the handsome and mysterious court joker. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the king and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into an intense, secret courtship. Cath is determined to define her own destiny and fall in love on her terms. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

In her first stand-alone teen novel, the New York Times-bestselling author dazzles us with a prequel to Alice's Adventures in Wonderland.

Hardcover, 464 pages
Published on November 8, 2016 by Feiwel & Friends
ISBN-10: 1250044650
ISBN-13: 9781250044655
15 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • queenavocado
    queenavocadoTuesday, May 8, 2018 at 2:33 pm55 stars
    This is one of my all time favorite books. Marissa Meyer is an amazing young adult writer, and this book shows why. It is the story of how the Queen of Hearts became the Queen we all know today. I would recommend this to anybody!
    • queenavocado
      queenavocadoTuesday, May 8, 2018 at 2:33 pm55 stars
      This is one of my all time favorite books. Marissa Meyer is an amazing young adult writer, and this book shows why. It is the story of how the Queen of Hearts became the Queen we all know today. I would recommend this to anybody!
      • Booklover145💖Sunday, March 4, 2018 at 5:47 pm
        I love this book to pieces. I love it when Jest and Cath kiss. I cried when Jest died. Amazing book.
        • meenu_800
          meenu_800Friday, October 13, 2017 at 8:12 am55 stars
          Awesomeness
          • meenu_800
            meenu_800Friday, October 13, 2017 at 8:12 am55 stars
            I love this.
            • april_hough2022
              april_hough2022Tuesday, October 10, 2017 at 7:00 pm55 stars
              If you love Alice in Wonderland you gotta read this book. It has a lot of emotions, too.
              • piccadillypie
                piccadillypieTuesday, August 1, 2017 at 9:45 pm55 stars
                This tale is a prequel to Alice in Wonderland, and Catherine has found someone she loves, but her parents want her to marry the king. When tragedy strikes, she does the unthinkable. I recommend this heartbreaking book for readers above the age of 10.
                • bige71148
                  bige71148Thursday, June 29, 2017 at 9:23 am55 stars
                  A great book to read to show that not everything was made evil or good and sometimes thing change into something else.
                  • mamabird
                    mamabirdWednesday, June 7, 2017 at 5:02 pm55 stars
                    I was consumed by this book from the moment I opened it. I was so enthralled by the story, wishing that I could somehow be a part of this world, this romance, this story.. <3
                    • idaholibrarian
                      idaholibrarianFriday, April 21, 2017 at 7:56 am44 stars
                      Not quite as charming as Cinder, this book still has lots of fun twists and imaginings. For example, a boa constrictor performing a Heimlich maneuver. Kathy is charming and an excellent baker, but she does not want to marry the king. She loves the court Jester. Her parents are pushing her to accept the king's proposal. But will she?

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      gamer wrote:

                      She is a grate leader
                      Who Was Rosa Parks?

                      mybooksandi

                      Where, oh where should I start w...
                      Cinder

                      reader_red
                      reader_red wrote:

                      This book was a fun one that I f...
                      Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminat...

                      awesomessb
                      awesomessb wrote:

                      This newer and modern adaptation...
                      Journey on a Runaway Train (The ...