Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8W5.013157

Run run run.

That's what twelve-year-old Annie loves to do. When she's barefoot and running, she can hear her heart beating . . .

thump-thump, thump-thump.

It's a rhythm that makes sense in a year when everything's shifting: Her mother is pregnant, her grandfather is forgetful, and her best friend, Max, is always moody. Everything is changing, just like the apple Annie's been assigned to draw a hundred times.

Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech masterfully weaves this story about a young girl beginning to understand the many rhythms of life and how she fits within them.

Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on March 16, 2004 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0060540222
ISBN-13: 9780060540227
14 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • applemango
    applemangoSaturday, May 16, 2020 at 4:09 pm55 stars
    Annie loves to run, like the wind. When Annie runs she forgets all her worries and she just feels the wind on her face. She always runs barefoot hearing the soft and firm ‘thump, thump’. She is learning new words, she loves to laugh, to draw and most of all to run. Max, is Annie’s friend. He is on the school track team. He asks Annie to go to the track team too. He takes leaves out of Annie’s hair, he pesters Annie, and sometimes he is moody. These two friends lives entangle because of running. What they both like best. Meanwhile, Annie has a mother with a “alien baby” inside her, which is a human when born(thankfully). Annie has a new baby Joey and a grandpa who is becoming forgetful..
    • olliebob
      olliebobWednesday, May 16, 2018 at 9:03 pm33 stars
      Heartbeat is about a girl named Annie who loves to run. She runs ALL the time! She has a school assignment to draw the same apple everyday, which surprisingly gives her new perspective on her changing life. Between running all the time and drawing her apple, maybe she can find a little bit of balance in her topsy-turvy life.
      • snowboard12
        snowboard12Monday, December 28, 2015 at 11:14 am
        I would love to read this book because it relates to me in a way... I think Sharon Creech's books add sort of a special touch to my life.
        • demosthenes
          demosthenesFriday, November 6, 2015 at 11:12 am55 stars
          I just finished this and adore it. it is a classic Creech, and though Creech's books are all similar and written the same, each of her stories have a special simplicity in them they're all unique Thank You Sharon Creech!!!
          • demosthenes
            demosthenesMonday, October 26, 2015 at 4:59 pm55 stars
            I want his book so bad!! I've read almost all of Sharon Creech books and I need this one too!!!
            • maryframpton
              maryframptonTuesday, February 10, 2015 at 5:25 pm33 stars
              This book was not outstanding, but it was a good book. I like how the author left you on a cliff hanger and I also like how she used it in the format of a poem. I recommend this book to someone who likes an inspirational story.
              • happyface7
                happyface7Tuesday, June 24, 2014 at 4:47 pm
                i really want to read this, everybody is aging that it is a good book
                • olliebob
                  olliebobMonday, September 14, 2015 at 5:09 pm33 stars
                  It's great! You should see if it's at your local library.
                • happyface7
                  happyface7Tuesday, June 24, 2014 at 4:46 pm
                  i so want to read this so badly like so badly
                  • rozeb
                    rozebFriday, September 13, 2013 at 4:33 pm
                    It was kind of easy to read because it was written in poem form (it only took me about 1 hour to finish) it was really good. I was kind of surprised that her grandpa didn't die.
                    • sweetcandi_123
                      sweetcandi_123Wednesday, February 13, 2013 at 4:39 pm55 stars
                      It's a really good book. It's written in poem form!