This award-winning contemporary classic is the survival story with which all others are compared—and a page-turning, heart-stopping adventure, recipient of the Newbery Honor.

LOST

Brian Robertson, sole passenger on a Cessna 406, is on his way to visit his father when the tiny bush plane crashes in the Canadian wilderness. With nothing but his clothing, a tattered windbreaker, and the hatchet his mother had given him as a present, Brian finds himself completely alone.

Challenged by his fear and despair -- and plagued with the weight of a dreadful secret he's been keeping since his parent's divorce -- brian must tame his inner demons in order to survive. It will take all his know-how and determination, and more courage than he knew he possessed.
Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on September 25, 2007 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1416925082
ISBN-13: 9781416925088
259 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • artpanda
    artpandaSaturday, August 5, 2017 at 11:54 am55 stars
    Thirteen-year-old Brian Robeson is on his way to visit his father when the single-engine plane in which he is flying crashes. Suddenly, Brian finds himself alone in the Canadian wilderness with nothing but a tattered Windbreaker and the hatchet his mother gave him as a present—and the dreadful secret that has been tearing him apart since his parent’s divorce. But now Brian has no time for anger, self pity, or despair—it will take all his know-how and determination, and more courage than he knew he possessed, to survive.
    • arielmosho
      arielmoshoFriday, July 21, 2017 at 4:28 pm
      There's going to be a movie about the book in 2018??!!!
      • test2016
        test2016Wednesday, April 5, 2017 at 9:23 am
        We are reading Hatchet in class and it is an adventure story. Brian Robeson is stranded in Canada with only a hatchet.
        • diamond56
          diamond56Tuesday, April 4, 2017 at 5:57 am
          I think this book was amazing my class was reading this book and we loved it #Go Brian
          • ultimatesans
            ultimatesansFriday, March 31, 2017 at 5:03 am
            this book is very interesting
            • saucygirl28
              saucygirl28Thursday, March 30, 2017 at 6:11 am
              my class is reading it and it is so interesting #keepgoingbrian
              • Mini RonaldoTuesday, February 21, 2017 at 6:07 am
                This book is, so interesting to see whats coming next in the book and it has unusual event. This book is amazing
                • cbratsch
                  cbratschThursday, January 26, 2017 at 8:30 am44 stars
                  This book is about a boy who gets stranded and he has little supplies. He has to survive in the wilderness. He runs into big trouble and he does not give up. He learns how to do useful skills. Read this book and learn about the journey of a boy who must survive.
                  • jayceem22
                    jayceem22Wednesday, January 25, 2017 at 11:13 am55 stars
                    this book is great also listen to it with gary paulsens voice
                    • gdog17
                      gdog17Monday, January 23, 2017 at 7:46 am55 stars
                      Thirteen year old Brian Robeson goes on a plane ride to his dads in Canada but something went wrong with the pilots heart and he died. So Brian had to land the plane himself onto a lake. He laid on shore for a couple of days. Then he made a shelter under a rock. But he had to eat so he made a spear for fishing but it did't work so he made a bow. One day he got the survival kit out of the plane and got rescued by another pilot shortly after he made lunch.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      aracha
                      aracha wrote:

                      This is one of my favorite books...
                      The Truth About Stacey: Full-Col...

                      alestr1718
                      alestr1718 wrote:

                      I'd love to read this.
                      Surviving High School: A Novel

                      Jake Paul wrote:

                      Losers I already read it. Hahaha...
                      Wimpy Kid Movie Diary: The Next ...

                      Adhgjlggejj wrote:

                      I have that book already!!!?!
                      The Dragon of Fortune (Geronimo ...