Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 10R5.742328
This award-winning contemporary classic is the survival story with which all others are compared—and a page-turning, heart-stopping adventure, recipient of the Newbery Honor.

LOST

Brian Robertson, sole passenger on a Cessna 406, is on his way to visit his father when the tiny bush plane crashes in the Canadian wilderness. With nothing but his clothing, a tattered windbreaker, and the hatchet his mother had given him as a present, Brian finds himself completely alone.

Challenged by his fear and despair -- and plagued with the weight of a dreadful secret he's been keeping since his parent's divorce -- brian must tame his inner demons in order to survive. It will take all his know-how and determination, and more courage than he knew he possessed.
Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on September 25, 2007 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1416925082
ISBN-13: 9781416925088
369 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • flowerfox
    flowerfoxFriday, October 18, 2019 at 6:23 am44 stars
    Hatchet is a book about a boy named Brian Robeson. He is the only passenger on a single-engine plane he is flying in to go visit his dad for the first time after his parents divorce that happened because of the "Secret". The pilot suddenly has a heart attack and Brian has to crash-land the plane into the Canadian wilderness and learn to survive there.
    • blobfish101
      blobfish101Thursday, October 17, 2019 at 3:45 pm44 starsFeatured
      The book Hatchet is an exciting, action packed adventure story, focusing on a boy named Brian who spends many days in the Canadian wilderness; starting with nothing but a hatchet after his plane goes down over the forest, Brian is forced to learn how to survive. This is a great book for kids fourth grade and up that are interested in thrilling survival and suspense stories. My favorite part is when Brian gets visited by a small creature in the middle of the night thieving Brian’s essentials. My opinion on the pilot character is not exactly being rude or terribly kind, but more “passive” at first. When he livens up a bit, he appears fairly nice, however. I believe this is a suspenseful story with many surprising twists that no reader could ever be prepared for. The conclusion is predictable but exciting nonetheless. This book kept me on the edge of my seat and wanting more, so if you are a kid eager for adventure, Hatchet is the book for you.
      • kbug007
        kbug007Thursday, October 17, 2019 at 1:30 pm55 stars
        The book Hatchet is an action- packed story with a 13 year- old boy named, Brian, as the main character. In addition, Brian goes to visit his divorced father in Canada, but as he travels there, his plane crashes. Only Brian survived the crash, but now he has to survive the wild forest of Canada with no food, tools, or communication. Brian struggles to survive and sometimes loses hope in himself, my favorite part was when Brian discovered something sticking out of the lake and tries to retrieve something from it. And although some may say this book is boring or too long, I recommend this book to people who love mystery, action, drama and the wilderness, and I also think Brian is a brave character who doesn’t give up.
        • sophia1234
          sophia1234Thursday, October 17, 2019 at 1:25 pm44 stars
          This book is a good book if you love outdoor adventurers. Hatchet had a lot of elaboration and creativity which made it a lot more interesting in my opinion. In a good book you need good elaboration because if you don't the readers wont want to read the book Hatchet had a lot of that. Brians mom helped a lot in this story . She gave him the hatchet which helped him kill animals to eat . She also, Kept a huge secret which Brians dad doesn't know about , this affected brian in the story because he has to be the one to tell him why she called the divorce. SPOILER: My favorite part of the story was when Brian found the survival bag . This was my favorite part of the story because he actually had real food .This made it a lot easier for him because he didn't have to fish anymore.
          • Classic bookTuesday, October 15, 2019 at 7:46 am
            Classic book resurged in popularity apparently So good... read it,
            • brooke1234
              brooke1234Monday, October 14, 2019 at 11:50 am44 starsFeatured
              In my opinion this book was very interesting and it is an attention grabber. It shows a lot of enthusiasm and excitement that pulls you into the book. Especially at the part where Brian finds something that is life changing for him. It is also very interesting because it kinda shows real world problems that could help your life, if you are ever stranded in a forest. This book was also very intense because you are eager to see what happens next. It even has a little drama about what happened between the parents. I also think his mother is very rude and dishonest about lying to her family. Overall this book was very good and I liked it a lot. I recommend you read it.
              • devinmthepug
                devinmthepugFriday, October 11, 2019 at 1:00 pm55 stars
                Hatchet Book Review I loved this book because it had a lot of action and was full of suspense. I always wanted to read more to see what happens to the characters. My opinion on Brain’s mom is that she was the reason for Brain’s parents having a divorce. If she didn’t make the decisions she did then Brain would have a happier life and miss the plane crash. My favorite part of the book was when he got something that would change his life in a good way. I liked this part of the book because it gave Brain a boost in many different aspects. Another thing that I liked about the book is that I was able to relate to things that they talked about in the book. This book was very entertaining and I had a good time reading it. I would recommend this book to all readers.
                • bunnygirl554
                  bunnygirl554Thursday, October 10, 2019 at 4:53 pm
                  I'd really like to read it
                  • hedgehog_god
                    hedgehog_godThursday, October 10, 2019 at 3:38 pm55 stars
                    This book was really good, I definitely enjoyed it, Hatchet has a lot of laughing points and some sad parts, but it was highly entertaining. I would recommend it to anyone who likes adventure stories, this book made me feel as if I was in the wild it pulled me into it and at some parts, and slowly pushed away in others. It was very suspenseful and Brian used a lot of creativity while surviving. My favorite part of the book was in the last chapter when he found something special in the water.
                    • ivanmanboi1
                      ivanmanboi1Thursday, October 10, 2019 at 1:38 pm55 stars
                      Hatchet Book Review I give the book Hatchet a 5 star rating. The book has many different exciting and interesting parts. Spoiler: My Favorite part of the book is when he gets rescued. This is my favorite part of the book because he thought that he would live in the Canadian wilderness for ever. My favorite character in the book is Brian because he is very brave and never gives up on something that needs to be done. Not only but also Brian is very energetic. Maybe you should give this book a try and see how you like it.