Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 10R5.742328
This award-winning contemporary classic is the survival story with which all others are compared—and a page-turning, heart-stopping adventure, recipient of the Newbery Honor.

LOST

Brian Robertson, sole passenger on a Cessna 406, is on his way to visit his father when the tiny bush plane crashes in the Canadian wilderness. With nothing but his clothing, a tattered windbreaker, and the hatchet his mother had given him as a present, Brian finds himself completely alone.

Challenged by his fear and despair -- and plagued with the weight of a dreadful secret he's been keeping since his parent's divorce -- brian must tame his inner demons in order to survive. It will take all his know-how and determination, and more courage than he knew he possessed.
Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on September 25, 2007 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1416925082
ISBN-13: 9781416925088
328 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • foxtastic
    foxtasticThursday, June 6, 2019 at 4:26 pm44 stars
    How would you feel if you suddenly crashed into a random forest with no warning, all alone? Sad? Angry? Confused? Scared? That's how Brian Robertson felt when he had crashed into a Canadian forest all alone. Surviving was not an easy feat. He had already been trying to bear living between his divorced parents and his mom, who has a terrible secret he found out, and now, stuck all by himself, Brian must find a way to survive, and find a way out of this forest. From cherries that make him sick, will Brian make it to the end? Will he reveal the Secret to his dad?
    • jj512
      jj512Sunday, June 2, 2019 at 11:21 am11 star
      Do not read it so boring. I love all of the parts about the secret though. I would have loved this if it was exciting.
      • jj512
        jj512Sunday, June 2, 2019 at 11:14 am11 star
        This is a book about a boy who gets stranded in the wilderness. He starts to settle in with a hatchet on his side but then something horrible happens. After a recent divorce he blind sided about the wilderness. Will being in the wilderness change him for the better? And even if he does change will anyone ever see him again to find out?!!
        • tulip9284736
          tulip9284736Saturday, June 1, 2019 at 8:23 am55 stars
          This is a really good book. I give it 5 out of 5 stars because I think that the Author did a great job writing this book.
          • sprinkledsugar
            sprinkledsugarFriday, May 31, 2019 at 7:39 am55 starsFeatured
            You are probably used to the luxury of having food available to you for every meal of every day of every week of every month. But not all kids can enjoy this luxury... at least not for long. Brian Robeson, the son of divorced parents, has experienced an extreme deterioration in the happiness of his life, and he's about to make it worse. It's the beginning of summer and Brian flies on a rickety plane with an old pilot all the way to go to Canada to reunite with his father. Nothing could go wrong, right? Unfortunately, that's not true. While hovering over the middle of the forest, the engine of the plane dismantles, and Brian crashes into the middle of nowhere. He has no idea where he is. But he only has to things on his mind: 1) He has to fend for himself. 2) He has to keep his fingers crossed that someone will come for him. Personally, this book has been one of the most adventurous books I've ever read. This is not only because the adventure the character experiences is unique, but also because the moral the character learns from the book of being able to be independent is important.
            • jj_ellie
              jj_ellieThursday, May 30, 2019 at 9:16 am
              Brian is a 13 years old boy. He was going his dad's. He has to do this because her parents for divorce. Brian is flying over the Canadian wilderness. Suddenly, the pilot suffers from a heart attach and dies. Brian somehow keeps the plane flying for a while longer, but eventually crashes in a large lake. Brian is not found by search and rescue. Brian learns how to survive in the wilderness while battling a secret of his own. For example, can I eat this? My opinion, the ending was not the best. It was pretty much confusing.
              • ilikebunnies
                ilikebunniesWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 7:15 pm
                this is a good book about a boy who is stranded in a forest and has to survive with only a hatchet. In this book my favorite part is when he gets the supplies from in the ship and is rescued
                • tyrocova-155904856639
                  tyrocova-155904856639Tuesday, May 28, 2019 at 6:58 am55 stars
                  This book is very good with a lot of adventure. If you like adventure this would be a great book for you.
                  • lilbug747
                    lilbug747Sunday, May 26, 2019 at 6:38 pm33 starsFeatured
                    Imagine balancing the weight of a parents divorce, and only getting to see your dad every once and a while. For Brian and many people this is a reality. However a plane ride to visit dad changed his life. To us, getting food from the grocery store every week is no big deal, and we use our microwave, oven, or stove to cook it for breakfast lunch and dinner. But Brian can’t do any of that, not in the woods at least. Brian has very little background info on this topic and is left only with the hatchet his mother gave him as a goodbye gift .Is he stuck, can he find his way out, will anyone rescue him? You’ll see if you read the book. This book is not my taste, but that’s a personal thing, I totally recommend it for anyone who loves the great outdoors and survivalist stuff!
                    • oofdoof
                      oofdoofTuesday, May 21, 2019 at 3:52 am11 star
                      i did not like this book! it felt clunky and hard to read, there was very little description of whon the boy was or the place he was in. overall i would not recommend.