This award-winning contemporary classic is the survival story with which all others are compared—and a page-turning, heart-stopping adventure, recipient of the Newbery Honor.

LOST

Brian Robertson, sole passenger on a Cessna 406, is on his way to visit his father when the tiny bush plane crashes in the Canadian wilderness. With nothing but his clothing, a tattered windbreaker, and the hatchet his mother had given him as a present, Brian finds himself completely alone.

Challenged by his fear and despair -- and plagued with the weight of a dreadful secret he's been keeping since his parent's divorce -- brian must tame his inner demons in order to survive. It will take all his know-how and determination, and more courage than he knew he possessed.
Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on September 25, 2007 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1416925082
ISBN-13: 9781416925088
273 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • dingbat56
    dingbat56Wednesday, November 15, 2017 at 4:06 pm55 stars
    I love this book so much!!
    • becca2
      becca2Wednesday, November 15, 2017 at 7:17 am55 stars
      great book, you need to read it.
      • LoganTuesday, November 14, 2017 at 9:34 am
        Today I will tell you about the book named Hatchet by Gary Paulsen. It was published in September 30,1987.The characters in this book are Brian, Brian’s mom/dad,and Terry. This book in my opinion for grade level is 3-6 This book is about a kid named Brian whose mom gives him a hatchet and then gets into a bush plane to fly to his dad and during the fight they have trouble,and Brian has to survive in the wild. Read the book for more.I like this book because it is crazy what a kid will do to survive. I recommend this book for thrill seekers.
        • lypetapahu
          lypetapahuMonday, November 13, 2017 at 11:19 am44 stars
          This book will take you on a great adventure if you are interested in adventure books. I hope you will read this amazing book and I hope you like it when you read it.
          • jynyhivafi
            jynyhivafiFriday, November 10, 2017 at 8:00 am
            Hatchet is about a boy who his mom gives him a cool hatchet and sends him on a private plane but then the pilot has a heart attack and he gets starnded with only a hatchet then at the end relizez the secret of how he surived
            • dudunevata
              dudunevataMonday, November 6, 2017 at 11:09 am55 stars
              This book is about a kid named Brian who went on a plane to go visit his father when the pilot had a heart attack and the plane crashed in the Canadian Woods. Brian hoped that someone would come and save him very soon but no-one did. He was there for days, weeks, and even months. Will someone come to save Brian? Will Brian make it? Read the book to find out more......
              • puxalivyno
                puxalivynoFriday, November 3, 2017 at 11:19 am55 stars
                This book is about a thirteen-year old boy who crashes in a plane when the pilot died. Find out how or IF he survived and join his journey to survive.
                • rohasymybo
                  rohasymyboFriday, November 3, 2017 at 11:12 am11 star
                  this book was amazing from the detail to the actions
                  • zilazacige
                    zilazacigeFriday, November 3, 2017 at 11:10 am55 stars
                    This book is about a great advnture with alot of obiskiels
                    • MarkFriday, November 3, 2017 at 10:05 am
                      This book is awesome!! My favorite part is the secret

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      animal lover wrote:

                      I loved the puppy and I wish I h...
                      Dork Diaries 12: Tales from a No...

                      gusto
                      gusto wrote:

                      This is a great story!
                      The Tapper Twins Go to War (With...

                      madimin05
                      madimin05 wrote:

                      Yes, I have read the book and th...
                      The Land of Stories: Worlds Collide

                      immaweirdo14

                      i wanted to read this book becau...
                      Tom the Turkey (Thanksgiving Boo...