Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 10R5.742328
This award-winning contemporary classic is the survival story with which all others are comparedā€”and a page-turning, heart-stopping adventure, recipient of the Newbery Honor.

LOST

Brian Robertson, sole passenger on a Cessna 406, is on his way to visit his father when the tiny bush plane crashes in the Canadian wilderness. With nothing but his clothing, a tattered windbreaker, and the hatchet his mother had given him as a present, Brian finds himself completely alone.

Challenged by his fear and despair -- and plagued with the weight of a dreadful secret he's been keeping since his parent's divorce -- brian must tame his inner demons in order to survive. It will take all his know-how and determination, and more courage than he knew he possessed.
Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on September 25, 2007 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1416925082
ISBN-13: 9781416925088
289 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • hailey1032
    hailey1032Wednesday, August 15, 2018 at 5:20 pm55 stars
    Great book! It makes me imagine what would happen if I was lost in the wilderness.
    • trwSaturday, May 26, 2018 at 6:16 am
      cool
      • awesome_actress
        awesome_actressThursday, May 24, 2018 at 11:03 am44 stars
        Awesome book! If you like survival skills and the wild I'm sure you will like this book!
        • ADDIEThursday, May 24, 2018 at 8:23 am
          umm this book was okay it took a while to read for me and i like books that go fast but i like it kind of me and my friend would probaly agree on this rating and comment
          • hawiian_girl
            hawiian_girlTuesday, May 1, 2018 at 4:33 pm55 stars
            I read this book in 5th grade, it as really good!!
            • Ranger51Tuesday, March 6, 2018 at 7:04 am
              I got this book for Christmas about 3 years ago and am absolutely all into survival. I mean, I got two survival guides, a survival kit, a backpack to carry my survival gear around in, (also knives, fire-starters, etc.). Seriously, I was so excited to read a survival BOOK! However, I started reading this and totally wasn't hooked. I always try to finish this book, telling myself it'll get better and suddenly I'll be downing it up. Nope. I was halfway through and nothing had really happened. It was more, "He did this, then he was hungry. He did that." and I felt it was more factual and all... I mean, Brian had feelings about his parent's divorce and the secret, but I wished it was more hooking. Maybe that's just what survival books are like, but I'm planning on getting another Gary Paulsen book to see if I just didn't like Hatchet in particular. Maybe I just don't like survival books as much as I like the idea of survival.... I'm not totally sure. But eh... it wasn't great. I still haven't finished it though, so really, I can't say.
              • stardarling30
                stardarling30Thursday, January 25, 2018 at 8:08 am55 stars
                I Asolutely love this bookšŸ˜
                • aarondalmighty
                  aarondalmightyFriday, January 12, 2018 at 12:14 pm44 stars
                  Epic so far.
                  • maryg0125
                    maryg0125Saturday, December 23, 2017 at 9:02 am33 stars
                    I think the book is pretty cool because he is on his way to see his dad and all of a sudden, the pilot has a heart attack!! Jack is only a teenager and he all alone the woods with nothing but a hatchet. I give this book a 3 star review because I haven't read all of it yet but so far, I think it is pretty interesting.
                    • pugguy22brodie
                      pugguy22brodieTuesday, December 19, 2017 at 10:20 am55 stars
                      Its a good book because its a good book

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      mimi wrote:

                      i love this book! there should b...
                      The Inventors at No. 8

                      pizzagirl7
                      pizzagirl7 wrote:

                      I got this book for a prize and ...
                      Weird But True Animals

                      pizzagirl7
                      pizzagirl7 wrote:

                      My little brother loves this boo...
                      World of Reading: Jake and the N...

                      pizzagirl7
                      pizzagirl7 wrote:

                      I love reading this with my litt...
                      Sofia the First The Royal Slumbe...

                      Our Apps and Plugins