Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 10R5.742328
This award-winning contemporary classic is the survival story with which all others are compared—and a page-turning, heart-stopping adventure, recipient of the Newbery Honor.

LOST

Brian Robertson, sole passenger on a Cessna 406, is on his way to visit his father when the tiny bush plane crashes in the Canadian wilderness. With nothing but his clothing, a tattered windbreaker, and the hatchet his mother had given him as a present, Brian finds himself completely alone.

Challenged by his fear and despair -- and plagued with the weight of a dreadful secret he's been keeping since his parent's divorce -- brian must tame his inner demons in order to survive. It will take all his know-how and determination, and more courage than he knew he possessed.
Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on September 25, 2007 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1416925082
ISBN-13: 9781416925088
379 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • renigade2020
    renigade2020Tuesday, June 30, 2020 at 10:24 am55 stars
    My mom read it when she was my age and she gave it to me and then I loved it it's about a kid named Brian and he had to survive a plain crash
    • willow123goma
      willow123gomaSunday, May 31, 2020 at 7:13 am44 stars
      This book shows the adventure of a boy whose plane crashed on an wilderness in Alaska, and he was the only one to survive. He has a hatchet that his Mom gave him, no food,and battered up clothes on his back . Yet he survives and paves out a life for himself in the wilderness . Definitely read this book!
      • bryton the broMonday, April 13, 2020 at 9:45 am
        I think this book is good. 5 stars.
        • bugga_boo
          bugga_booWednesday, April 1, 2020 at 11:47 am
          this book is very sad but also very intense gary pulson is a very popular auther that can take a sad story and bring it to life ! i allows recommend woods runner its very similar to brians searies but about someone else !!!! 5 stars please !
          • natcat13
            natcat13Tuesday, March 3, 2020 at 11:43 am44 stars
            Hatchet is about a boy named Brian who is going to visit his dad. His plane crashed on the way there. He has to survive for months waiting to be rescued using only a hatchet that his mom gave him. It is a really great book, but it is a little predictable, that is why I'm only giving it four stars. Overall it is a great book, and I would read it again.
            • forever_toast09
              forever_toast09Thursday, February 27, 2020 at 6:47 pm55 stars
              This is a wonderful book! It's about hunting and the wilderness, it is a pretty serious book so i wouldn't recommend the book to people who don't like to read serious books. I recommend this book to grades 5-7 because some words in the book could be hard to pronounce for 5th and 6th graders. Overall, I loved this book!
              • cmansell
                cmansellFriday, January 10, 2020 at 10:42 am44 stars
                Hatchet is a book about Brian who is going to visit his dad in Canada. On his way, his plane crashes. All he has to survive is a hatchet,his mom gave him. He survives on his own for a while and lived. Action packed. I'm rating it four stars, because it was predicting.
                • ksbenn19
                  ksbenn19Wednesday, November 20, 2019 at 6:30 pm55 stars
                  Hatchet tells a great story about how hard it is to live off the wild after living in modern society. Brian has to learn most of his skill for himself without any help. Brian starts out as a normal city child, but after he is forced to survive on his own, he becomes in tune with nature, and this is investigated further in later books in the series.
                  • kaiguy
                    kaiguyWednesday, November 20, 2019 at 3:34 pm
                    It's a very interesting book, I think there is a movie
                    • fudutesi-157003850165
                      fudutesi-157003850165Wednesday, November 6, 2019 at 10:55 am33 stars
                      The Hatchet book is a great book. It’s good because it was all about survival and the wild. Overall, this book may teach people about survival skills, like making a shelter or make fish-spears. The book was ok and I will rate it a three-star and may suggest this book. My favorite part of the book (SPOILERS) when he got rescued by a pilot and that part was funny. In my opinion, I think brian is the best character in the book because he changes in the book and did great things.