Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 10R5.742328
This award-winning contemporary classic is the survival story with which all others are compared—and a page-turning, heart-stopping adventure, recipient of the Newbery Honor.

LOST

Brian Robertson, sole passenger on a Cessna 406, is on his way to visit his father when the tiny bush plane crashes in the Canadian wilderness. With nothing but his clothing, a tattered windbreaker, and the hatchet his mother had given him as a present, Brian finds himself completely alone.

Challenged by his fear and despair -- and plagued with the weight of a dreadful secret he's been keeping since his parent's divorce -- brian must tame his inner demons in order to survive. It will take all his know-how and determination, and more courage than he knew he possessed.
Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on September 25, 2007 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1416925082
ISBN-13: 9781416925088
421 Book Reviews
  • eagle_fan555
    eagle_fan555Tuesday, May 4, 2021 at 6:28 am55 stars
    Hatchet is a really good book it is about a boy named 13 year old named Brian Robertson he is going to see his dad for the summer but something happens to the pilot Brian needs to find a spot to land the plane. Then Brian has to survive in the wilderness on his own he has to get his own food, make his own shelter, make hunting tools and stuff like that. Read the book Hatchet if you want to find out if Brian will have to survive on the island for the rest of his life or will he be saved and taken home.
    • wolfieland
      wolfielandTuesday, May 4, 2021 at 6:22 am
      I've read a book called Alone and its simaler to this book! And thats how I'm getting interested in this book.
      • eviejobs764
        eviejobs764Wednesday, March 24, 2021 at 3:54 pm55 stars
        This book is super awesome! Thirteen year old Brian Robeson survived a plane crash and found himself stranded in the wilderness. He does not have time the feel sad about "The secret" and he must use his wits to build a shelter, find food and water, make a fire, gather materials, and stay safe from animals to survive.
        • kittyluvskookie
          kittyluvskookieMonday, March 15, 2021 at 6:04 am55 stars
          Its all adventurous and inspiring for me. It shows perseverance too. I really would like to see a part two
          • lucky_jean
            lucky_jeanMonday, December 7, 2020 at 5:47 pm33 stars
            The charter's parents are divorced he saw her mother kissing another man.And now he is going to visit his fatherand tge plane crashes and he is now alone in an island.He would have to survive and return. Will he??
            • jkbear
              jkbearTuesday, November 10, 2020 at 2:09 pm55 stars
              this is a great book!!!!
              • SpoilerThursday, November 5, 2020 at 6:34 pm
                Brian survives and lives!!!
                • quarantined
                  quarantinedWednesday, November 4, 2020 at 10:33 am55 stars
                  I am in the middle of reading this book! Don't spoil it!
                  • bookqueenpaige
                    bookqueenpaigeWednesday, October 28, 2020 at 11:30 am55 stars
                    I read this for school with my class, and honestly I will say this book is absolutely Wonderful!!!
                    • gabbie1004
                      gabbie1004Monday, October 26, 2020 at 3:36 pm55 stars
                      I read this story for school already, and I am so amazed by the courage and how strong brian is. I love it.