Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8V6.7106821

For twelve long years, the dread fortress of Azkaban held an infamous prisoner named Sirius Black. Convicted of killing thirteen people with a single curse, he was said to be the heir apparent to the Dark Lord, Voldemort.

Now he has escaped, leaving only two clues as to where he might be headed: Harry Potter's defeat of You-Know-Who was Black's downfall as well. And the Azkaban guards heard Black muttering in his sleep, "He's at Hogwarts . . . he's at Hogwarts."

Harry Potter isn't safe, not even within the walls of his magical school, surrounded by his friends. Because on top of it all, there may well be a traitor in their midst.

Paperback, 302 pages
Published on January 1, 2000 by Munhak Sucheob
ISBN-10: 8983920726
ISBN-13: 9788983920720
472 Book Reviews
  • dolphinqueen18
    dolphinqueen18Saturday, May 1, 2021 at 3:04 am55 stars
    This is my favorite HP book. Dementors are looking for Sirius Black, who escaped Azkaban... What will happen? Wait to find out!!!! It's my favorite book, and I love it. But read one and two before you read this because It will make more sense.
    • bookapple
      bookappleFriday, April 23, 2021 at 2:40 am55 stars
      This book is absolutely splendid. Harry,Ron and Hermione are back with their 3rd year at Hogwarts, while the criminal Sirius Black has escaped from jail and is out on the loose. Read the book to see the thrilling adventures of Harry and his friends and what connection Sirius and Harry have!
      • lumber_mouse
        lumber_mouseThursday, March 18, 2021 at 5:21 pm55 stars
        I love the way the story slowly reveals who Sirius Black actually is and why he was imprisoned. Complex characters are so interesting and it's so important that every criminal has a story!
        • akaya
          akayaSaturday, February 27, 2021 at 6:37 pm
          J.K Rowlings description is absolutely unbelievable. "Harry Potter" is a tapestry of words and spaces and ink, conglomerating into a sensory masterpiece. The book follows a boy named Harry Potter, in such a horrible state he lives under the stairs. He's treated so poorly, and one day a letter arrives. He get's enrolled into a magic school, such called "Hogwarts". Everything is fine, until he meets Draco Malfoy, and many more villans. Through out the story, he is faced with many problems in the series. But there is good problems too. He meets Hermione, Ron, and many more astonishing people. He's starting his third year but- there is a criminal on the loose. Sirius Black. A beautiful, lavishly-worded series about magic, and the hard stories that come your way in life.
          • rgjj2
            rgjj2Saturday, February 27, 2021 at 5:48 pm55 stars
            it's funny when you relize the name has been changed from what the original name was going to be. I loved all the Harry Potter books especially since i am a gryphindore.
            • reader1695
              reader1695Friday, March 19, 2021 at 12:50 am
              You mean griffindor right
            • erpandareader
              erpandareaderMonday, February 22, 2021 at 11:11 am55 stars
              I really love this book, I recently finished it, I recommend to keep reading the series and read this if you have already read Harry Potter and the Sorceres stone.
              • connieflowapowa
                connieflowapowaWednesday, February 10, 2021 at 10:57 am55 stars
                This is my favourite HP book EVER, and I am a huge fan of Harry Potter
                • 2bacat
                  2bacatMonday, February 1, 2021 at 9:25 am55 stars
                  Really good book. My favorite character/Thing is definitely Buckbeak. I love him so much. Now reading the goblet of fire!
                  • warriorcatskid
                    warriorcatskidTuesday, January 26, 2021 at 1:37 pm55 stars
                    My Favorite Harry potter book! Join Harry, Ron and Hermione as they they face secrets not known to the friends. Learn breathtaking truths as Harry Potter tries to save two lives...by going back and making things right!
                    • hackerfox
                      hackerfoxSunday, January 10, 2021 at 6:05 pm55 stars
                      LOVE THIS BOOK, i love the plot twist at the end, introduces the MARAUDERS, and their MaP, but being honest if you payed attention in the first book this book doesn't make a lot of sense BOOK 1: "young sirius black gave it to me sir" this book : "sirius black is a nitrous mass murder"