Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, Parts 1 & 2, Special Rehearsal Edition Script

Book 8 of 8 in the Harry Potter Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 1 - 4n/a3.945268
"The Eighth Story. Nineteen Years Later.

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places."
Paperback, 336 pages
Published on July 25, 2017 by Arthur A. Levine Books
ISBN-10: 133821666X
ISBN-13: 9781338216660
497 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • sirireads
    sirireadsTuesday, May 26, 2020 at 1:41 pm11 star
    Hate to be a buzzkill, but J.K. Rowling did not write this, nor does she approve of it being called the "8th" 🤮 book. It was, all in all, AWFUL. It made no sense, the authors, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne, must have had a few screws loose while writing this, because it is cray cray 🤯. NO ONE SHOULD READ THIS!!!!!!! It ruins the whole series.
    • minecrafter6898
      minecrafter6898Thursday, May 14, 2020 at 5:46 am55 stars
      I just love how Rowling made it, two enemys are now friends.
      • EggMayo Wednesday, May 13, 2020 at 4:25 am
        I LOVE this book poor Albus I cannot believe that Harry and Draco made friends it is crazy I recomend this book to everyone who has not read it
        • PotterHeadTuesday, March 24, 2020 at 12:50 pm
          I promise there are no spoilers here. I love this book! I have read all the Harry Potter series and this book almost 10 times. I never liked movies/plays. Then I read this book and it changed EVERYTHING. I am also going to see the play over the summer. No sadness, happiness only. If you never read any other books, don't read this book. It only makes sense if you know all the other information from all the other books. And that goes for all the books. They all are REALLY, REALLY connected with all the information and details. One of the best books, and compared to all the rest, not emotional at all. Interesting book for kids of all ages but it uses play references so you can see all the things that the original cast for the play did for the first time. Sorry this is so long, but in conclusion REALLY good book.
          • kaylaa_misch22
            kaylaa_misch22Thursday, March 12, 2020 at 7:10 pm44 stars
            19 years after the battle of Hogwarts everyone is grown up, Harry, Ron, Hermonie all have children attending Hogwarts. But when Harry and Ginny's son Albus is sorted into Slytherin a whole new wave of chaos comes for everyone. I can connect this to any of the Harry Potter books basically. It's just a sequel to what happens after everyone gets old. I give this three stars because first off it was a screenplay so some things were hard to understand, but it was pretty goofy so that made it ok.
            • breathofthewild
              breathofthewildMonday, March 9, 2020 at 9:39 am55 stars
              I love it so far! It has a lot of drama, like any good play script, And it has some new characters, the kids of the main ones. Albus is the main character in this story. His siblings are James and Lily potter. I definitely recommend for anyone who loves the Harry Potter series!
              • tiffanycurrier
                tiffanycurrierMonday, January 27, 2020 at 7:06 am55 stars
                I think that harre potter is a good dook
                • mynameisSunday, January 26, 2020 at 2:02 pm
                  the book was quite good to be honest
                  • Rachel and CharSunday, January 26, 2020 at 3:40 am
                    LOVE HARRY POTTER!!!!!!!!
                    • hi peopleMonday, January 20, 2020 at 2:11 pm
                      the play of this book is really long.it was like 6 hours and a 2 hour intermission .the play and the book was both good