Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets: The Illustrated Edition (Harry Potter, Book 2)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 7n/a6.784799
The Dursleys were so mean and hideous that summer that all Harry Potter wanted was to get back to the Hogwarts School for Witchcraft and Wizardry. But just as he's packing his bags, Harry receives a warning from a strange, impish creature named Dobby who says that if Harry Potter returns to Hogwarts, disaster will strike.

And strike it does. For in Harry's second year at Hogwarts, fresh torments and horrors arise, including an outrageously stuck-up new professor, Gilderoy Lockhart, a spirit named Moaning Myrtle who haunts the girls' bathroom, and the unwanted attentions of Ron Weasley's younger sister, Ginny.

But each of these seem minor annoyances when the real trouble begins, and someone -- or something -- starts turning Hogwarts students to stone. Could it be Draco Malfoy, a more poisonous rival than ever? Could it possibly be Hagrid, whose mysterious past is finally told? Or could it be the one everyone at Hogwarts most suspects... Harry Potter himself?

Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on October 4, 2016 by Arthur A. Levine Books
ISBN-10: 0545791324
ISBN-13: 9780545791328
13 Book Reviews
  • erpandareader
    erpandareaderMonday, February 22, 2021 at 11:12 am55 stars
    I recently finished this and i love it! Btw Harry Potter is my all time favorite book series so if you have not read it you should!
    • eddecree3754534
      eddecree3754534Sunday, November 8, 2020 at 5:43 pm55 stars
      A great sequel! If you liked the first one then you're going to love this! There's a darker atmosphere this time around and more characters are introduced including Gilderoy Lockhart, Draco Malfoy's father, Lucius, Ron's father, Arthur, and the mysterious Dobby the house-elf.
      • xxtashaxx
        xxtashaxxThursday, June 25, 2020 at 4:10 pm55 stars
        I love this book , It's so descriptive i feel like im really there. I wish that one day I can glide through the air on a broom just like Harry. My favorite part of the book is when Harry tricks Lucius Malfoy into freeing Dobby by giving him a sock. If you want to read this book I recommend you read the first one.
        • rishurishi
          rishurishiSunday, June 14, 2020 at 7:24 pm55 stars
          In this book, Harry Potter gets locked inside his home by when "he", which is actually an elf, does some magic to get him in trouble so he doesn't go to school, telling him that there is a great danger. Once at school, he starts hearing voices in his head.
          • twiggyboy
            twiggyboyTuesday, March 17, 2020 at 10:44 am55 stars
            i love this book so much! i am a harry potter geek!!!!
            • ursusmajor01
              ursusmajor01Friday, November 1, 2019 at 8:11 am55 stars
              These books are simply amazing, not only is the storyline easy to follow it is most definitely int err testing for the characters are rich in mannerisms and depth of feeling. The housings are tremendous and the magic is simply stupendous. I can just see everything as it happens. WOW.
              • pikachu1228
                pikachu1228Saturday, November 3, 2018 at 8:22 am55 stars
                It is a fun and exciting book about the world of magic. I recommend this book to someone who likes fiction.
                • somebodymeme
                  somebodymemeThursday, August 23, 2018 at 4:31 am55 stars
                  I think this book is amazing because it's about snakes and I love snakes.
                  • ima-hufflepuff
                    ima-hufflepuffTuesday, April 10, 2018 at 5:55 pm44 stars
                    This book is so good! The only problem that I had with it is, that (if you don't want a spoiler then stop reading) Tom Riddle and him had a 6 page talk and a one paragraph battle with the basilisk and Harry.
                    • azim
                      azimSaturday, December 9, 2017 at 6:24 am55 stars
                      i am on the the 5 chapter were harry was traped in the wopping willow harry and ron get out of it