Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 10V6.784799
In one of the most hotly anticipated sequel in memory, J.K. Rowling takes up where she left off with Harry's second year at the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Old friends and new torments abound, including a spirit named Moaning Myrtle who haunts the girls' bathroom, an outrageously conceited professor, Gilderoy Lockheart, and a mysterious force that turns Hogwarts students to stone.
Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on July 1, 1999 by Scholastic
ISBN-10: 0439064864
ISBN-13: 9780439064866
494 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • sillylily
    sillylilyMonday, June 24, 2019 at 7:06 am55 stars
    I have now read "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone" and now this book! I am slowly working my way through the series, which I am loving so far! If you are a fan of magic, then these are the books for you! This book is about Harry, Ron, and Hermione as the trio discovers what is making everyone around the school freeze. Is it Harry after all? Read this book to find out!
    • zellydia
      zellydiaMonday, June 17, 2019 at 11:42 am55 stars
      It is a great book that is kind of gross in parts. If you like the other books, you will love this one,. There are some parts that are a little scary for small children.
      • lawalex
        lawalexMonday, June 17, 2019 at 7:17 am55 stars
        In this second book of the Harry Potter series, people are popping up frozen all over the place, and no one knows why. With potions brewing in the bathroom and a self-centered new teacher, this book is full of adventure.
        • brawlstarschamp
          brawlstarschampMonday, May 27, 2019 at 3:53 pm55 stars
          This book has many surprises! This is Ginny Weasley's first year at Hogwarts! This year the main bad guy is an evil journal/epic serpent! Harry feels a little bit more comfortable at Hogwarts because he is no longer a first year.
          • EVEMonday, May 27, 2019 at 7:32 am
            I did Quiz. Did anyone else did it? I think it's Fun!
            • zzayumi
              zzayumiMonday, May 27, 2019 at 7:21 am55 stars
              This is a great book! It is about Harry Potter who faces many difficult problems and challenges, like battling a giant snake. Harry Potter learns more about magic, and grows up to be a great wizard.
              • mini_coachFriday, May 24, 2019 at 12:28 pm
                This book is my favorite book from the series. It is a very good book.
                • ilikebunnies
                  ilikebunniesWednesday, May 22, 2019 at 7:38 pm55 stars
                  This is a great series so far and one of my favorite books. The mist exciting part for me was when Harry went into the Chamber of Secrets and rescued Ginny from Tom Riddle. This is a great book and I recommend it to anyone who likes action and adventure.
                  • natcat12
                    natcat12Sunday, May 19, 2019 at 6:03 pm55 stars
                    Ok so in this book Harry has 3 friends Ron, Hermione, and Hagred. Who opened the Chamber of Secrets? Was it Malfoy? Is He Who Must Not Be Named still alive? Find out in this book?
                    • rocky_reader
                      rocky_readerThursday, May 16, 2019 at 6:19 pm55 stars
                      its a grate book