Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 6Grades 3 - 5T4.557648
Harriet M. Welsch is a spy. In her notebook, she writes down everything she knows about everyone, even her classmates and her best friends. Then Harriet loses track of her notebook, and it ends up in the wrong hands. Before she can stop them, her friends have read the always truthful, sometimes awful things she’s written about each of them. Will Harriet find a way to put her life and her friendships back together?
Hardcover, 183 pages
Published on December 1, 1992 by Nelson Thornes Ltd
ISBN-10: 0174324944
ISBN-13: 9780174324942
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • KensieWednesday, November 15, 2017 at 9:19 am
    Harriet the Spy I am going to tell you about my opinion of Harriet the Spy by Louise Fitzhugh published in 1964. This book is about an eleven year old girl who goes to middle school and always carries around her journal where she writes things good and bad about everyone even her friends. In my opinion this is my favorite book. I like it because it gave me a lot of emotions like sadness, happiness, shock, anger and more. I think that fourth through sixth boys and girls would like this book. People who like to read chapter books and longer books would also like this book. This book is not the best for younger kids it has some big words and not many pictures.
    • lebronjames1
      lebronjames1Friday, May 20, 2016 at 10:27 am44 stars
      I really enjoy this book! Harriet the Spy is a brilliant classic that everyone should read. It talks about Harriet and her friend Sport. Harriet always says that you will only remember things if you write them down, so Harriet goes around spying on other people, learning their stories. Sport, of course, doesn't care, he just wants to be a ball player. You definitely should read this book, I recommend it highly.
      • songirl
        songirlTuesday, June 2, 2015 at 8:52 am55 stars
        I love this book! It is a mystery. It is about a girl in 4th grade who loves to spy in people with her best friends. If you have read the book then you might want to see the movie on Netflix.
        • candyexpress
          candyexpressTuesday, May 5, 2015 at 6:59 pm44 stars
          Harriet the Spy was pretty good. It's got a couple of problems that Harriet has to deal with like her nurse, Ole Golly, who leaves with this man because they love each other. Life and everything is difficult and Harriet realizes that there is no reason to mourn, and that Ole Golly would appreciate Harriet to move on and to stop crying. Harriet also has a notebook where is keeps her observations in. Soon her friends get their hands on it and they turn against her. But Harriet learns more about how life doesn't always takes the turns you want them to, and that there's always a solution if you try hard enough.
          • rainingsunshine
            rainingsunshineThursday, December 19, 2013 at 4:34 pm33 stars
            I like this book, but i feel like it didn't explain things that well.....
            • c-dog21
              c-dog21Monday, April 8, 2013 at 3:36 pm44 stars
              You should really read this book it is epic. I like the Sport a boy who's parents are divorced and he lives with his dad who's mom toke all the money.
              • josie_diva_5601
                josie_diva_5601Tuesday, April 2, 2013 at 1:10 pm
                i started it, and saw the movie. it was AWESOME!!!/EPIC!!!!
                • lillianna765
                  lillianna765Wednesday, November 28, 2012 at 5:34 pm55 stars
                  YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!! I READ THIS BOOK IN THE SUMMER, AND EVEN THOUGH IT WAS ONLY HOMEWORK, I LOVED IT AND ENJOYED IT!
                  • lillianna765
                    lillianna765Wednesday, November 28, 2012 at 5:33 pm55 stars
                    I read this book in the summer, and even though it was only homework, I loved it and enjoyed it! It's super!
                    • clumsy365
                      clumsy365Tuesday, July 31, 2012 at 7:31 am55 stars
                      Soooooooooooo Funny!