Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 6n/a5.276813
The pulse-pounding sequel to Proxy! Inspired by The Whipping Boy and Feed, this adrenaline-fueled thriller will appeal to fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent.

In the new world led by the Rebooters, former Proxy Syd is the figurehead of the Revolution, beloved by some and hated by others. Liam, a seventeen-year-old Rebooter, is Syd’s bodyguard and must protect him with his life. But armed Machinists aren’t the only danger.

People are falling ill—their veins show through their skin, they find it hard to speak, and sores erupt all over their bodies. Guardians, the violent enforcers of the old system, are hit first, and the government does nothing to help. The old elites fall next, and in the face of an indifferent government, Syd decides it’s up to him to find a cure . . . and what he discovers leaves him stunned.

This heart-stopping thriller is packed with action, adventure, and heroics. Guardian will leave you breathless until the final page.

A fast-paced, thrill-ride of novel full of non-stop action, heart-hammering suspense and true friendship—just as moving as it is exhilarating. Fans of Anthony Horowitz's Alex Rider series, James Dashner's Maze Runner, Patrick Ness's Chaos Walking series, and Marie Lu's Legend trilogy will be swept away by this story.

Praise for PROXY

"Put down what you're doing and read this book. Right now. The complex characters, intricate world, and blistering pace are off-the-charts amazing. I fell in love with this story from the first sentence to the final, epic page. London is a force to be reckoned with." —Marie Lu, author of the Legend trilogy

"Alex London is one of the most multi-dimensional writers out there. Proxy blew me away. It's deep, thrilling, thought-provoking, and at times simultaneously maddening and uplifting. I need to have more of Syd and Knox. Proxy is one stunning read!" —Andrew Smith, author of Winger and Grasshopper Jungle

Praise for GUARDIAN

"Corrupt powers, budding romance, an epidemic and grisly action synthesize to sate sci-fi fans."--Kirkus Reviews

"
Nonstop action and breakneck pace characterize this exceptional thriller. London provides his audience with an intricate plot, enriched by fine world-building and believable characters....This thought-provoking and breathtaking novel belongs in all collections serving young adults."--VOYA
Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on May 29, 2014 by Philomel Books
ISBN-10: 0399165762
ISBN-13: 9780399165764
1 Book Review
  • kkevinn
    kkevinnTuesday, March 8, 2016 at 11:00 am
    The author, Alex London changes everyone's predictions on how many people thought the “Proxy” trilogy was going to end. Alex adds a twist and turn at every corner making this book an outstanding book. This book is a great dystopian book and I also would rate this five out of five stars for many reasons. The main characters in “Guardian” are Syd, Liam, Marie, and Cousin. Syd, the protagonist, is the most important person in the revolution, without him, there wouldn't be a revolution. Throughout the book Syd is a hope for the people. Liam the bodyguard of Syd always tries to save Syd throughout the book. He also kills people with his iron fist. Marie was a rich patron before the revolution but because she helped Syd her parents weren't executed and she became a purifier. Cousin, the antagonist of the story, is a mysterious person, no one knows where he came from or who he really is. The setting is in old Detroit and about six months after Syd destroyed the system, a new government formed. In the beginning we meet the characters and find out about the disease. Near the middle the people start getting infected. Near the end Syd finds out something that changes everything about this disease. To find out what happened you have read the book. I rated this book a five out of five because “Guardian” is filled with different outcomes that you wouldn't expect. Another reason I gave it a five out five is because you can tell how the character feels at different points of the story and Alex London did that well. The type of reader that would like this book are people that love action packed books.