Growing Up with Aloha: A Nanea Classic 1 (American Girl Beforever Classic)

Nine-year-old Nanea may be the youngest in her family, but she still wants to "dip her paddle in" and be useful. She knows she's grown-up enough to help in her grandparents' market. But before she can prove that she's ready for more responsibility, the unthinkable happens: Japan attacks Pearl Harbor, the naval base where her father works, and America is at war! With friends and family missing, and rumors of more attacks to come, Nanea worries―will life ever be the same again?

Enter to Win FREE Book

Paperback, 216 pages
Published on August 21, 2017 by American Girl
ISBN-10: 1683370228
ISBN-13: 9781683370222
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • swirlycool
    swirlycoolThursday, June 4, 2020 at 1:31 pm55 stars
    This book is about a girl named Nanea who is tired of being called the baby of the family. When there's an attack on Pearl Harbor, she wonders if anything will ever be the same again. Overall, I think this book was really good and it gave you an idea of what life was like during this time period as a kid. I recommend this book to people who want to learn more about Pearl Harbor, and want to see what it would be like from a kid's point of view. I rate this 5/5.
    • crazy7701
      crazy7701Tuesday, April 24, 2018 at 6:27 am55 stars
      Tells about during pearl harbor and some of her struggles. The kittens sound like really good friends. Lily way over reacts though.
      • callie_b
        callie_bWednesday, November 1, 2017 at 10:54 am44 starsFeatured
        When I received this book from DOGObooks, I was thrilled to start reading! Nanea Mitchell is a 9-year-old girl who is growing up during the beginning of World War II in Hawaii. Nanea is tired of being called the baby of the family and is determined to prove herself responsible by winning a 'Helping Hand' contest with the help of her 2 best friends, Lily and Donna. But after the attacks by the Japanese on Pearl Harbor, where Nanea's dad works, the contest doesn't seem to matter anymore. Lily's father has been taken away, and Donna and her mother might have to leave Hawaii because they are labeled "unnecessary" by the government! Plus, Nanea's beloved puppy is missing! Everything is a mess. Nanea doesn't know what to do besides try to help out as much as she can. But being a kid amidst the war, it will be hard. Will life in Hawaii ever be the same? This book is outstanding! I didn't know too much about Pearl Harbor before reading this book, but now I've learned a lot! This book has humor, adventure, and a twist at the end that will make you want to read the sequel! I recommend this book for kids 8+!
        • animal loverThursday, September 21, 2017 at 8:05 am
          i love the dolls to and the books to 😊😊😊😊😊😊
          • pigloverWednesday, September 20, 2017 at 7:18 am
            awesome
            • boomzoom
              boomzoomWednesday, September 6, 2017 at 9:37 pm55 stars
              I am a huge fan of American Girl books (and dolls of course). I'm going to get this one!
              • SUBSTITUTESunday, August 27, 2017 at 8:16 pm
                WHY ARE THEY SUBSTITUTING KANANI!!! THERE IS ALREADY A HAWAIIAN AMERICAN GIRL DOLL!!! 2011 HAWAIIAN AMERICAN GIRL DOLL!! (Not trying to be rude, I'm just very protective of my precious mini-me...) MY PRECIOUS!!!!
                • mummajeffjunior
                  mummajeffjuniorThursday, August 24, 2017 at 4:41 pm
                  OMG THIS BOOK IS OUTSTANDING
                  • mummajeff1
                    mummajeff1Thursday, August 24, 2017 at 4:38 pm
                    omg i wish i could have this book so much