Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8V4.855665
This irresistible first novel tells the story of a quiet boy who embarks on a dangerous quest in order to fulfill his destiny -- and find his father -- in a strange world beneath New York City.

When Gregor falls through a grate in the laundry room of his apartment building, he hurtles into the dark Underland, where spiders, rats, cockroaches coexist uneasily with humans. This world is on the brink of war, and Gregor's arrival is no accident. A prophecy foretells that Gregor has a role to play in the Underland's uncertain future. Gregor wants no part of it -- until he realizes it's the only way to solve the mystery of his father's disappearance. Reluctantly, Gregor embarks on a dangerous adventure that will change both him and the Underland forever.
Paperback
Published on November 3, 2016 by SCHOLASTIC CHILDREN'S BOOKS
ISBN-10: 1407172581
ISBN-13: 9781407172583
71 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • toono
    toonoWednesday, January 13, 2021 at 9:26 am55 stars
    OMG OMG OMG Best book ever!!!! I started the first one this week and a am already on book #3 you NEED to read this!! Bye got to keep reading!!
    • chromatic1
      chromatic1Friday, November 13, 2020 at 9:35 am55 stars
      Great series.
      • dlight18
        dlight18Saturday, April 4, 2020 at 1:49 pm55 stars
        This book was about a boy who falls in a hole near his washing machine into a place called The Underland. The Underland is a place with really big bugs, bats and rats, Gregor's father is held hostage by rats. I like the action and a part when Gregor throws rootbeer at a spider. This is one of my favorite books. I went on to read the whole series.
        • alan dolahzuxgySaturday, February 15, 2020 at 11:34 pm
          this book is not that good
          • celia_berry13
            celia_berry13Friday, January 24, 2020 at 2:25 pm55 stars
            Gregor the Overlander is an exciting novel about Gregor and his little sister Boots. One day when they are in the laundry room, they fall through a vent and find themselves is the wondrous Underland. There, they have to overcome challenges in hopes of finding his long lost father. I'd rate this book 5/5 stars because it has deep characters and it's very exciting! I would suggest this to 5th grade and up due to violence. I suggest you read this book!
            • Yeet_YeetFriday, July 19, 2019 at 6:38 pm
              The rating for this means it's meant for children but there are many scenes where you really question that. In the last book, there's a war, and it describes the body and how he's feeling. Literally one of the scenes has a sentence saying "They were fighting on a carpet of corpses" If that counts as children's books then I don't know what to tell you. Very good book series.
              • reader_red
                reader_redFriday, July 19, 2019 at 8:51 am44 stars
                After Gregor accidently falls through a grate in his laundry room, he reluctantly goes on a quest to find his father. All the while he must protect his baby sisters from the many dangers in this strange Underland.
                • alSunday, June 9, 2019 at 11:43 am
                  exiting
                  • MasonTuesday, June 4, 2019 at 7:47 am
                    Amazing action packed story
                    • boiWednesday, May 22, 2019 at 10:53 am
                      I liked this book because it had action, but it was missing that real feeling to it.