Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8V4.855665
This irresistible first novel tells the story of a quiet boy who embarks on a dangerous quest in order to fulfill his destiny -- and find his father -- in a strange world beneath New York City.

When Gregor falls through a grate in the laundry room of his apartment building, he hurtles into the dark Underland, where spiders, rats, cockroaches coexist uneasily with humans. This world is on the brink of war, and Gregor's arrival is no accident. A prophecy foretells that Gregor has a role to play in the Underland's uncertain future. Gregor wants no part of it -- until he realizes it's the only way to solve the mystery of his father's disappearance. Reluctantly, Gregor embarks on a dangerous adventure that will change both him and the Underland forever.
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on September 1, 2003 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439435366
ISBN-13: 9780439435369
61 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • vincentThursday, December 6, 2018 at 10:02 am
    The OverLander is about a kid named Gregor. Gregor lives with his mom and sister named Boots. Gregor has been wondering for awhile where his dad went. His dad went in the laundry room and then never came back. His mom and other parts of the family thinks he’s dead. Gregor thinks that his dad is still alive somewhere. One day Gregor had to go and get laundry from the laundry room. Gregor took Boots with him and they started going to the laundry room. When Gregor stepped foot in the room he started getting a weird feeling. Then suddenly everything started to shake and Gregor fated. Gregor woke up and Boots was just running around. Then Gregor realized he was in another world. Gregor started to panic. He found people, but they looked different and called themselves OverLanders. They said he was part of a legend and needed to help them. What will Gregor do and what do The Overlanders want from him? I really like this book because it teaches you to always be brave. The reading level for this book is 6-7 grade. People who would enjoy this book would be people who like adventure and mythical animals. The author is Suzanne Collins and the book was published on September 1 2003. The grade level is 4
    • Kennedy08Wednesday, September 5, 2018 at 4:51 pm
      I haven’t read this book yet but it sounds like a great one. And falling is keep nd of Viollent. I don’t care if I spelled viollent wrong can someone tell me how to spell it
      • 05cjackson
        05cjacksonWednesday, March 1, 2017 at 4:38 pm
        I read this book in book club at school and I have to say, this was a pretty good book. It was almost "scary" in some parts but over all, I really liked this book, and I agree with lollypopies, that was my favorite part too!!!
        • lollypopies
          lollypopiesMonday, December 26, 2016 at 2:51 pm
          If you could only read one series of books per year, read this one. It adds a lot of suspense and drama. My favorite part is where Henry falls, and Gregor leaps and is caught by Ares.
          • scooby2016
            scooby2016Friday, September 16, 2016 at 10:34 am55 stars
            This book series is my favorite!!! I love how mysterious it is. I hope Suzanne collins makes more books like this one!!!!!
            • ethhut
              ethhutTuesday, December 15, 2015 at 5:50 am
              Gregor the overlander by Suzanne Collins is one of the best books I've read in awhile Protagonist: Gregor and boots antagonist: spiders . It starts with Gregor at the “tween” ages, and his 4 year old sister “Boots” playing in the laundry room when they for some strange reason fall through a grate in the corner and end up in this new world with rodents and insects as big as tall humans. Knowing Gregor, he wasn't confused, or even scared for that matter. As curious as curious could be, he searches this new world. And sure enough, it's inhabited with tall oversized humans. Soon after the meetup with these so called “humans.” Their placed on the backs of huge hairy cockroaches and sent to the “Regalia” . Gregor and boots later shake hand with the royal family of this underground city and are handed the prophecy . One conflict is when they unwillingly have to fight off spiders to fulfill the prophecy. The second conflict is when they find out their fate. The turning point I can't mention because it would give away the plot It states that the two overlanders and eight underlanders will venture to find the lost overlander with Luxa- the soon to be queen of the underworld. Will Luxa ripred the rat, a couple of spiders and all while riding bats, find the lost overlander Read Gregor the overlander to find out. I recommend this book because it keeps you on the edge of your seat.
              • demosthenes
                demosthenesSunday, October 25, 2015 at 6:43 pm
                This is a great book! I loved it!
                • kwall
                  Mrs. WallFriday, September 25, 2015 at 10:46 am44 stars
                  I wasn't sure that I would like a book about huge bugs and rats (I hate spiders!), but I found this book very enjoyable. Gregor is the kind of guy you root for. I even found myself crying over the death of a bug. If you like epic fantasy novels, you will like this book. I can't wait to read the next book in the series.
                  • gigaandrew
                    gigaandrewSunday, September 6, 2015 at 3:28 pm
                    This book was stunning. The animal behavior was spot on I loved the characters. The idea of a place like this existing is really cool. I am 15 now and first read it when I was 12. I have read the entire series 3 times since then. It is definitely worth reading.
                    • olliebob
                      olliebobSaturday, September 5, 2015 at 6:52 am44 stars
                      Gregor the Overlander was a good book. Gregor's father disappeared along while back, but Gregor knows he's not dead. One day, Gregor and his sister Boots, accidentally fall through a vent, into a world, Gregor never thought possible. Every bug and rodent there is oversized, and can talk. People can ride bats, and this city, Regalia is VERY dimly lit. Now Gregor must go on a quest to save his dad, Regalia, and hopefully get back home. This is a very good book!