Gregor and the Prophecy of Bane (The Underland Chronicles, Book 2)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8V4.756663
The action and adventure continue in this stunning fantasy from a rising literary star.

Gregor is summoned back to the Underland by the terms of a second prophecy. Spies have reported the sighting of a Rat King, a character who has been legendary since the Middle Ages. Recognizable by its tremendous size and snow-white coat, the Rat King is destined to bring a World War to the Underland. Gregor eventually comes face to face with the Rat King, and to his surprise, he finds he is unable to kill this creature. His heart tells him he's making the right decision. Will it be a decision he lives to regret?
Hardcover, 312 pages
Published on September 1, 2004 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439731372
ISBN-13: 9780439731379
23 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • golfdude
    golfdudeSaturday, April 4, 2020 at 2:14 pm55 stars
    This book is about a kid from New York who goes down into a different world to fulfill a prophecy. He must kill the Bane who is a snow white rat. This world has huge bats and rats that talk. It also has huge bugs such as cockroaches and spiders and humans with pale skin and violet eyed that are called underlanders. I liked this book because it has a lot of action. For example, there were huge serpents they had to get past while flying on bats. Overall this book is very good and I would recommend it if you like action and adventure.
    • celia_berry13
      celia_berry13Thursday, February 6, 2020 at 7:51 am55 stars
      Gregor thinks his adventures in the Underland are over, but he could not be more wrong. Gregor is called back to find and kill the Bane, a snow white rat that is said to one day destroy the Underland. I really enjoyed the characters and the humor in this book! The characters are so deep and diverse. I think the only thing I didn't like is that there were a few gory scenes, but not too bad! I suggest this book to people age 11 and up. If you liked reading the Hunger Games, then you would definetly enjoy reading this one!
      • dragonlady34
        dragonlady34Friday, May 25, 2018 at 11:08 am55 stars
        wow! this is an amazing book!
        • dragonlady
          dragonladyFriday, May 25, 2018 at 9:12 am
          I decided to read this book because I have read the first book, Gregor the Overlander and it is a great book. It is when Gregor and his sister, Boots fall into a vent in their laundry room, which they share with others, because they live in an apartment. Now, they have to follow the prophecy of bane, i think.
          • tcwgaming
            tcwgamingThursday, April 19, 2018 at 1:01 pm55 stars
            An amazing tale about a 12 year old boy and how he ventures into the under land under NYC that is in peril. Will Gregor fulfill the prophecy and fulfill his duties as the under land warrior
            • gopackgo
              gopackgoMonday, December 18, 2017 at 11:05 am55 stars
              This book is amazing! I hope everyone likes it as much as I did! It is the sequel to book one in the series. I love the suspense!
              • lollypopies
                lollypopiesMonday, December 26, 2016 at 2:47 pm
                I think this book is super awesome!!!!!!!!!!!! My favorite part is when Nerissa finally figures out that the baby in the prophecy isn't Boots, but is the Bane.
                • scooby2016
                  scooby2016Friday, September 16, 2016 at 10:36 am
                  This an awsome book!!! I like how Suzanne Collins put someone so young as a warrior. This is the best book series!!!
                  • demosthenes
                    demosthenesSunday, October 25, 2015 at 6:46 pm
                    This was an amazing second book in the series. Suzanne doesn't let down!
                    • ca23
                      ca23Tuesday, February 3, 2015 at 9:41 am55 stars
                      love this series