Gregor and the Prophecy of Bane (The Underland Chronicles, Book 2)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8V4.756663
The action and adventure continue in this stunning fantasy from a rising literary star.

Gregor is summoned back to the Underland by the terms of a second prophecy. Spies have reported the sighting of a Rat King, a character who has been legendary since the Middle Ages. Recognizable by its tremendous size and snow-white coat, the Rat King is destined to bring a World War to the Underland. Gregor eventually comes face to face with the Rat King, and to his surprise, he finds he is unable to kill this creature. His heart tells him he's making the right decision. Will it be a decision he lives to regret?
Hardcover, 312 pages
Published on September 1, 2004 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439731372
ISBN-13: 9780439731379
21 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • dragonlady34
    dragonlady34Friday, May 25, 2018 at 11:08 am55 stars
    wow! this is an amazing book!
    • dragonlady
      dragonladyFriday, May 25, 2018 at 9:12 am
      I decided to read this book because I have read the first book, Gregor the Overlander and it is a great book. It is when Gregor and his sister, Boots fall into a vent in their laundry room, which they share with others, because they live in an apartment. Now, they have to follow the prophecy of bane, i think.
      • tcwgaming
        tcwgamingThursday, April 19, 2018 at 1:01 pm55 stars
        An amazing tale about a 12 year old boy and how he ventures into the under land under NYC that is in peril. Will Gregor fulfill the prophecy and fulfill his duties as the under land warrior
        • gopackgo
          gopackgoMonday, December 18, 2017 at 11:05 am55 stars
          This book is amazing! I hope everyone likes it as much as I did! It is the sequel to book one in the series. I love the suspense!
          • lollypopies
            lollypopiesMonday, December 26, 2016 at 2:47 pm
            I think this book is super awesome!!!!!!!!!!!! My favorite part is when Nerissa finally figures out that the baby in the prophecy isn't Boots, but is the Bane.
            • scooby2016
              scooby2016Friday, September 16, 2016 at 10:36 am
              This an awsome book!!! I like how Suzanne Collins put someone so young as a warrior. This is the best book series!!!
              • demosthenes
                demosthenesSunday, October 25, 2015 at 6:46 pm
                This was an amazing second book in the series. Suzanne doesn't let down!
                • ca23
                  ca23Tuesday, February 3, 2015 at 9:41 am55 stars
                  love this series
                  • analise
                    analiseSunday, November 23, 2014 at 5:11 pm55 stars
                    The series was really cool! Imagine a world where all your everyday creatures are oversized. That is what the UNDERWORLD is like in Gregor's land. He must venture out into the world and save Regalia, which is like Rome but a lot more modern, and dark. Collins wrote a book nothing like the hunger games, and I think all of the Collins fans out there should read it!
                    • tanner55
                      tanner55Thursday, September 4, 2014 at 4:19 pm
                      This book is great. Its about another prophecy, the prophecy of Bane. Gregor must set off to defeat the to-be rat king, but can he do it?