Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6U5.498938
New York Times Bestseller
National Book Award Nominee
Winner of the Edgar Award for Best Juvenile Mystery



It’s wintertime at Greenglass House. The creaky smuggler’s inn is always quiet during this season, and twelve-year-old Milo, the innkeepers’ adopted son, plans to spend his holidays relaxing. But on the first icy night of vacation, out of nowhere, the guest bell rings. Then rings again. And again. Soon Milo’s home is bursting with odd, secretive guests, each one bearing a strange story that is somehow connected to the rambling old house. As objects go missing and tempers flare, Milo and Meddy, the cook’s daughter, must decipher clues and untangle the web of deepening mysteries to discover the truth about Greenglass House—and themselves.
Paperback, 384 pages
Published on November 1, 2016 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 054454028X
ISBN-13: 9780544540286
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • shayshaygirl25
    shayshaygirl25Wednesday, August 14, 2019 at 5:45 am55 stars
    This book is so good. me and my friends got it as a book club and It was the best!!! loved It and got ahead of the book club because It was so good that I could not stop reading it!!! I love the mystery and all of the storys!! I love the mystery of all the crazy guests !!!
    • birdsong
      birdsongTuesday, August 13, 2019 at 7:39 am33 stars
      It was wintertime at Greenglass House, and Milo, the innkeepers son who was adopted, was going to spend his vacation relaxing, but on the first cold night of his break, the bell outside rings. A lot. After many bell-ringing, Milo's house is overflowing with guests, who have stories of how they are connected to the Greenglass House. Will Milo and Meddy(cook's daughter)find out about the secret of Greenglass House?
      • applemango
        applemangoFriday, August 9, 2019 at 4:30 pm55 stars
        This book is magnificent!! Strange customers keep coming to this greenglass house. Milo just wants some time to himself!! He was finishing his homework when the customers started coming in! He met Meddy , and lot's of other friendly? customers....Meddy and Milo start a company...a secret one. Where they become characters. Milo as Nagspeake. Milo then discovers somebody is a thief....perhaps it is Mr. Gowervine? OR somebody entirely different! They soon find out that Mr. Vincent is up to the plan a thief!!!! And Ms. Georgiana and Ms. Candler seem to know each other and who is Owen? Maybe he is a loved one by both of these characters....Is Addie Whitcher still living as a ghost? Maybe it is Meddy....Clues are all around! On Mrs. Hereward's bag too..and a mysterious map?!! This is a definite thriller!
        • ccswishingstar
          ccswishingstarTuesday, May 28, 2019 at 12:36 pm55 stars
          I love the mystery and the excitement of this book. It has so many characters with unknown, mysterious backgrounds. My favorite part of the book was when the ghost of Addie Whitcher appears to everyone in the room and makes Mr. Vinge and his helpers leave Greenglass House.
          • yellow43528
            yellow43528Thursday, September 1, 2016 at 5:08 am44 stars
            I think this is an excellent book. I loved the mystery and the unexpected ending with danger and friendship. Go Kate Milford!
            • happypug12
              happypug12Wednesday, January 20, 2016 at 6:42 am33 stars
              Greenglass house starts rather interestingly, with Milo, a kid who DOES NOT like anything to change. He expects to have a perfectly cozy and wonderful week off from school. Until the first guest arrives. Then another. And another. He would have gone crazy if not for Meddy, the cook's daughter. Not long after meeting her, things start to go missing. The book was nice, but if you're looking for a thriller, this book is not the place to look. It was pleasant, but usually in a mystery I'm looking for something that will send a shiver up my spine. It was interesting enough to keep me turning the pages, especially near the end, but I think Kate could have added a little more spice. And it was slow paced. Three stars.
              • im-riddikulus
                im-riddikulusWednesday, March 13, 2019 at 8:43 am
                I like books that are exciting also. Even though happypug12 said that it isn't quite a rip-roaring tale, I think I'll try it out! Thanks!
              • lululemon10
                lululemon10Tuesday, December 1, 2015 at 5:34 pm
                i really liked thie book the green glass house because it is a mystery. i didnt like that it was very slow moving and not super intentive
                • etfantastic
                  etfantasticWednesday, October 29, 2014 at 4:20 pm55 stars
                  This is my favorite book at the moment. It's about a young boy,adopted,who's adoptive parents run a motel,for,how do you say,smugglers pretty much. As the Christmas holidays comes up,our main character is ready for some peace and quiet. But instead,tons of surprise guests,which never happens around Christmas,show up and they're all snowed in. Then he meets a young girl,who introduces him to,we'll,I can't say,anything else will ruin the surprises! The ending has a twist though... Enjoy!