Goodbye Stranger

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 2 - 12Z3.953669

Enter to Win Goodbye Stranger

This brilliant, New York Times bestselling novel from the author of the Newbery Medal winner When You Reach Me explores multiple perspectives on the bonds and limits of friendship.

Long ago, best friends Bridge, Emily, and Tab made a pact: no fighting. But it’s the start of seventh grade, and everything is changing. Emily’s new curves are attracting attention, and Tab is suddenly a member of the Human Rights Club. And then there’s Bridge. She’s started wearing cat ears and is the only one who’s still tempted to draw funny cartoons on her homework.

It’s also the beginning of seventh grade for Sherm Russo. He wonders: what does it mean to fall for a girl—as a friend?

By the time Valentine’s Day approaches, the girls have begun to question the bonds—and the limits—of friendship. Can they grow up without growing apart?

“Sensitively explores togetherness, aloneness, betrayal and love.” —The New York Times

A Boston Globe–Horn Book Honor Book for Fiction
Named a Best Book of the Year by The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, The Boston Globe, The Guardian, NPR, and more!

Paperback, 320 pages
Published on May 2, 2017 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0307980863
ISBN-13: 9780307980861
11 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • ryleyWednesday, May 24, 2017 at 10:09 am
    five stars i just read it so cool
    • coderme7330
      coderme7330Wednesday, May 24, 2017 at 7:28 am
      five stars, at least for the sample
      • JCWednesday, May 10, 2017 at 7:03 am
        Omg this is like the best book ever. Ful of action and suspense. A healthy blend of friendship and love. A must read for every one
        • demosthenes
          demosthenesThursday, April 6, 2017 at 8:56 pm55 stars
          AND! Que Rebecca Stead with another perfect novel about friendship and connection! This books was surprisingly pleasant to just fall into the complex drama of Goodbye Stranger and get wrapped into it's entertainment. Every time a character went through a high or a low, the reader wants to clap or mourn for them! Rebecca Stead's style is so captivating as if every sentence is supposed to be a mystery! I recommend this book to every brave reader!
          • Glittersnow98Friday, February 17, 2017 at 7:45 am
            I only got to read the prolouge and Chapter 1 bt it was still so good i'd give it five stars.
            • luckycharm12
              luckycharm12Friday, February 17, 2017 at 7:32 am
              I want to read this book so much!! Thanks to kitten7260! Go follow her!!!!!
              • kitten7260
                kitten7260Thursday, December 15, 2016 at 7:27 am
                This book is so good! I was so sad when it ended. Read this book!
                • candyman5
                  candyman5Wednesday, June 8, 2016 at 4:52 pm55 stars
                  this book is about betail, friendships and everything in between i think it perfectly describes what life can be like, the highs and lows
                  • sushi321
                    sushi321Friday, January 29, 2016 at 1:05 pm55 stars
                    I got this through a giveaway and am glad that I had received it.
                    • sushi321
                      sushi321Friday, January 29, 2016 at 1:04 pm55 stars
                      This is one of the best books I've ever read. It is written beautifully. You to see through a girl's eye view of middle school.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      ajg14
                      ajg14 wrote:

                      Wow!!! Great review @dictionary ...
                      Dork Diaries 1: Tales from a Not...

                      princesspower2

                      This book was amazing. From the...
                      The Unwanteds