Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.747174
Joey Jordan loves gymnastics: the thrill of performing a backflip on the beam, the cheers of the audience when she sticks a landing. But even with all her talent and style, she's never quite made it to that gold medal stand.

Now big changes shake up Joey's life in and out of the gym. Joey wants to break out some daring new beam and floor routines--but she'll have to defy her strict coach to do it. Her best friend, Alex, is thinking about quitting gymnastics for good. And an old friend named Tanner just moved back to town, and he's suddenly gotten very, very cute. Can Joey handle all the challenges coming her way, and make her gold medal summer happen at last?

Drawing on her real-life experience as a competitive gymnast, acclaimed novelist Donna Freitas delivers both a terrific gymnastics story and a classic novel about stretching some limits, bending the rules, and finding your balance.
Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on June 1, 2012 by Arthur A. Levine Books
ISBN-10: 0545327881
ISBN-13: 9780545327886
7 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Fourtris4Tuesday, March 29, 2016 at 1:01 pm
    i love this book i read it about a year ago and just found there is a new one! so excited!!!!!!!!!
    • annmarie10
      annmarie10Sunday, June 14, 2015 at 1:04 pm44 stars
      i have read it like 5 times and i injoy it
      • ginny67
        ginny67Friday, October 31, 2014 at 5:59 pm55 stars
        i read this book because i love gymnastics and i read this and somehow i find a way how this can relate to many peoples lives. its about this girl that is into gymnastics and her world just changes in many ways.
        • winterneeser
          winterneeserThursday, March 6, 2014 at 6:09 pm
          Great book!If you were rating this in gymnastics then it would be a flat 10.00.It's a ''prefect cartwheel" or a kip,front-handspring,front walkover,split,or anything prefect!
          • winterneeser
            winterneeserTuesday, February 18, 2014 at 8:27 pm
            Great book!
            • sweettart23
              sweettart23Wednesday, December 26, 2012 at 2:42 pm55 stars
              I really want to read this book. Its about gymnastics, and I like gymnastics. I saw it from a magazine, and now I want to read it.
              • mapletree
                mapletreeSunday, December 23, 2012 at 5:55 pm55 stars
                Tells a story about a gymnast who really wants to win regionals! I read this book 5 times all the way through. Thank you Donna Freitas for writing this book!