Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 12T6.157047
'They didn't think for one moment that they would find anything but a burnt-out fuselage and a charred skeleton; and they were apparently astounded when they came upon my still-breathing body, lying in the sand near by'. In 1938, Roald Dahl was fresh out of school and bound for his first job in Africa, hoping to find adventure far from home. However, he got far more excitement than he bargained for when the outbreak of the Second World War led him to join the RAF. His account of his experiences in Africa, crashing a plane in the Western Desert, rescue and recovery from his horrific injuries in Alexandria, and many other daring deeds, recreates a world as bizarre and unnerving as any he wrote about in his fiction.
Hardcover, 176 pages
ISBN-10: 0224024078
ISBN-13: 9780224024075
13 Book Reviews
  • summerprince
    summerprinceThursday, January 14, 2021 at 3:12 am55 stars
    Hi. I read this book. Its boring at first but then it gets INTERESTING. My fav part is when he goes to the war thats when everything gets EXCITING. I would recommend this book to people who like Roald Dahl but want non - fictions books.
    • gold3nglare
      gold3nglareTuesday, November 17, 2020 at 11:32 am11 star
      I will be honest. This book is super boring. There. I said it. Boring. Just plain old boring. Super Boring.
      • livvie1239
        livvie1239Saturday, November 17, 2018 at 8:35 pm
        REALLY good
        • DonSaturday, November 17, 2018 at 3:02 am
          Cooool story
          • ethan_q
            ethan_qWednesday, February 24, 2016 at 5:38 am
            This book is about Roald Dahl journey to Africa as a worker for Shell and him joining the war and serving as a pilot. It starts off in 1938, he is a worker for shell and he's sailing on a ship called SS Mantola to Africa. On the way he sees some strange, funny things going on. When he gets to Dar es Salaam, the city they're going to, he thinks that it's a very nice looking place. There was a lot of wildlife there, he saw many elephants, hippos, zebras, and antelopes there. The only animal he didn't like was snakes, he hated them a lot, especially the black mamba, one bite from one of those snakes and you will die. One time he was shaving in the bathroom, and he looked out the window and saw his shamba-boy, Salimu raking, and then he saw a black mamba coming right at him, and if he hadn't warned him about the snake behind him, he wouldn't been bitten and died. When he was in the military serving as a pilot, his airplane crashed once and he suffered injuries that would affect him for the rest of his life. This book has many adventures from his journey, it is a very interesting book and I would recommend this book to anyone looking or a good non-fiction book to read.
            • leeza915
              leeza915Saturday, February 7, 2015 at 9:36 am44 stars
              the story right after Boy and starts right where Roald Dahl left off in Boy somewhat dramatic and yet funny
              • brutishkiller
                brutishkillerMonday, November 24, 2014 at 9:31 am55 stars
                really cool
                • obliviate
                  obliviateMonday, November 18, 2013 at 4:01 pm
                  I NEED THIS BOOK!!!!
                  • cottoncandyfluf
                    cottoncandyflufWednesday, May 29, 2013 at 1:11 am33 stars
                    roald dahl really was quite adventurous!
                    • cottoncandyfluf
                      cottoncandyflufSunday, April 7, 2013 at 5:27 am33 stars
                      roald dahl really was quite adventurous!