Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 3n/a2.65487
Catrina and her family are moving to the coast of Northern California because her little sister, Maya, is sick. Cat isn't happy about leaving her friends for Bahía de la Luna, but Maya has cystic fibrosis and will benefit from the cool, salty air that blows in from the sea. As the girls explore their new home, a neighbor lets them in on a secret: There are ghosts in Bahía de la Luna. Maya is determined to meet one, but Cat wants nothing to do with them. As the time of year when ghosts reunite with their loved ones approaches, Cat must figure out how to put aside her fears for her sister's sake -- and her own.

Raina Telgemeier has masterfully created a moving and insightful story about the power of family and friendship, and how it gives us the courage to do what we never thought possible.

Paperback, 256 pages
Published on September 13, 2016 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545540623
ISBN-13: 9780545540629
411 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • miniscule
    minisculeFriday, October 9, 2020 at 11:59 pm44 stars
    I really liked this book but my favorite series that she wrote was the graphic novel of the babysitters
    • savage_twilight
      savage_twilightMonday, September 28, 2020 at 9:01 am
      I want to read dis boook
      • fulluflepopThursday, September 24, 2020 at 12:55 pm
        it was pretty good
        • jlucky711
          jlucky711Tuesday, September 1, 2020 at 6:59 am55 stars
          this was one of the best books that I had in a while and would recommend this book to anyone
          • mc_donalds
            mc_donaldsSunday, August 16, 2020 at 7:41 pm22 stars
            The little sister Maya, has cystic fibrosis #Spoileralert
            • LOVEREADINTuesday, July 14, 2020 at 9:11 am
              gOOD BOOK! wELL DRAWN TOO!
              • lovereading310
                lovereading310Monday, June 29, 2020 at 2:57 pm55 stars
                i can kinda relate to Cantrina. I relate to the story a lot. i do not have breathing issues like Maya, but i relate to this form the celebrations to the characters! 💯
                • willow123goma
                  willow123gomaTuesday, June 16, 2020 at 4:38 pm33 stars
                  This book is about a girl who has a disabled sister that gets all of the attention of her parents. She feels jealous, and kind of heart-broken that 98.5% of her parent's time and energy goes to her sister. But she finds out, maybe the attention and energy goes into her sister, not the love of her parents. This book is A M A Z I N G!!!!! Definitely read it!
                  • pizzagirl7
                    pizzagirl7Tuesday, May 19, 2020 at 12:15 pm55 stars
                    Cats sister Maya has cystic fibrosis it affects your breathing..so cats entire family is moving.when they move they meet a boy that talks about ghosts a lot. cat is always really worried about maya.and when Maya comes in contact with a ghost and she has a hard time breathing cat gets really scared .now it's almost day of the dead.Will they talk with more ghosts?!you'll have to read to find out .I recommend this to all ages 😄.I rate this book 4/5 stars 😁. Thank you for this review! -Pizzagirl7💋
                    • lilabug
                      lilabugTuesday, May 12, 2020 at 1:03 pm55 stars
                      It's really good i love all the Raina Telgemeier. Her books are all realy good . I have almost read them all of them! so good! (: