Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 3n/a2.65487
Catrina and her family are moving to the coast of Northern California because her little sister, Maya, is sick. Cat isn't happy about leaving her friends for Bahía de la Luna, but Maya has cystic fibrosis and will benefit from the cool, salty air that blows in from the sea. As the girls explore their new home, a neighbor lets them in on a secret: There are ghosts in Bahía de la Luna. Maya is determined to meet one, but Cat wants nothing to do with them. As the time of year when ghosts reunite with their loved ones approaches, Cat must figure out how to put aside her fears for her sister's sake -- and her own.

Raina Telgemeier has masterfully created a moving and insightful story about the power of family and friendship, and how it gives us the courage to do what we never thought possible.

Paperback, 256 pages
Published on September 13, 2016 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545540623
ISBN-13: 9780545540629
441 Book Reviews
  • bigbookworm
    bigbookwormWednesday, June 2, 2021 at 5:35 am55 stars
    Amazing book! *WARNING:CONTAINS SPOILERS!* Catrina (aka Cat) and her family move to California. Everyone says there are GHOSTS there!Also there is this boy named Carlos, who is friend to Maya and later, Catrina. Then, Cat realizes there is such thing as ghosts because she SEES one! On the Day of the Dead, Cat goes to a party and meets many ghosts, and understands that not all are terrible or scary. Want the details? Then read the book! I also like that the book turns something origanaly scary (ghosts) and turns it into something not scary.
    • peachydayz_22
      peachydayz_22Friday, May 21, 2021 at 8:30 am55 stars
      This book is the best! I cried! (Don't ask why)
      • dream_beyond
        dream_beyondSunday, February 21, 2021 at 7:12 am55 stars
        I think this book was good!
        • heyosprinkles
          heyosprinklesWednesday, February 17, 2021 at 6:01 am
          i haven't read this book- but it looks interesting from the preview! i'll try to get hold of it ^w^
          • catnip_everdeen
            catnip_everdeenTuesday, February 16, 2021 at 11:41 am55 stars
            Very good Graphic Novel. I love Raina Telgemeir.
            • searchlight
              searchlightSunday, February 14, 2021 at 9:11 pm44 stars
              I really like this book. *MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS* It's about a girl named Catrina (Cat), who moves into a new town called Bahia De Luna for her sisters health. While on a walk Cat and her sister Maya find an arcade and they meet a boy who tells them about a ghost tour.
              • ananyadhar05
                ananyadhar05Sunday, February 14, 2021 at 3:38 pm55 stars
                This is a very good book. Totally recommend it.
                • crazber
                  crazberWednesday, February 10, 2021 at 6:54 am44 stars
                  This is a good book. It’s about a girl named Cat who has to move really far away because her sister has cystic fibrosis. She finds out that her town is haunted!
                  • notdaniela
                    notdanielaWednesday, February 10, 2021 at 6:47 am55 stars
                    amazing book
                    • cute_pie_deaf
                      cute_pie_deafTuesday, February 9, 2021 at 4:56 am33 stars
                      I love this book, is hilarious! I love read this everyday, bec I fall love in book!