Catrina and her family are moving to the coast of Northern California because her little sister, Maya, is sick. Cat isn't happy about leaving her friends for Bahía de la Luna, but Maya has cystic fibrosis and will benefit from the cool, salty air that blows in from the sea. As the girls explore their new home, a neighbor lets them in on a secret: There are ghosts in Bahía de la Luna. Maya is determined to meet one, but Cat wants nothing to do with them. As the time of year when ghosts reunite with their loved ones approaches, Cat must figure out how to put aside her fears for her sister's sake -- and her own.

Raina Telgemeier has masterfully created a moving and insightful story about the power of family and friendship, and how it gives us the courage to do what we never thought possible.
Paperback, 256 pages
Published on September 13, 2016 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545540623
ISBN-13: 9780545540629
161 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • madeleinem
    madeleinemMonday, May 29, 2017 at 2:03 pm55 stars
    The book Ghosts is about a girl named Catrina- or cat- and her little sister Maya, who has Cystic Fibrosis, which causes breathing problems in your lungs. Cat misses her friends back at her old town, but in her new town, a boy named Carlos comes in and ends up hurting Maya, making Maya in the hospital and now wearing a breathing tube. Carlos believes in Ghosts, but Cat doesn't. However, Cat's new friends do, too! One of Cat's friends even met a guy that was over 20 years DEAD! Will Cat change? Find out in the book!
    • aub112705
      aub112705Saturday, May 27, 2017 at 4:01 pm55 stars
      This book is about a girl and her sister. Her sister has a breathing problem. So Cat and her family move to a town that is very gloomy. Cat does not like this place because it gives her creepy vibes. Cat and her sister Maya adventure out and meets this boy who turns out to be there neighbor. He tells them about how the town is haunted and how he runs a ghost tore business. Maya wants to go on the tour but Cat doesn't because she is afraid. Well they go with the boy but something happens to Maya. Read to find out more
      • dictionary
        dictionarySaturday, May 27, 2017 at 11:49 am55 stars
        This book was great! It's about a girl named Catrina (Cat), and her little sister Maya. They are moving to the coast of Northern California because Maya is sick. Cool, salty air is good for her. But Catrina is not happy because she does not want to leave all her friends. When they get there, a neighbor tells them there are ghosts in town. Catrina doesn't believe in ghosts.. But maybe there are ghosts? This book was full of adventure, friendship, fun, and more! Raina Telgemeier really put her heart into this. I recommend this to kids who have siblings with health problems, like Maya. I definitely rate it 5/5.
        • 5680saf
          5680safSaturday, May 27, 2017 at 5:21 am44 stars
          Ghosts is about a girl who moves to California because of an illness that her sister has. When they get there, she and her sister start to see ghosts! They meet someone who tells them about the ghosts and the girl finds out more about herself.
          • scigirlronni
            scigirlronniFriday, May 26, 2017 at 10:27 am55 starsFeatured
            I love this book Ghosts! It taught me about friendship,after-life,and Mexican culture.I have a disease almost like Maya's,so I know how it feels.In this book Cat and her family move to a gloomy place called Bahia De La Luna.Cat doesn't like that everyone believes in ghosts.When she finds out ghosts are real her whole world turns upside down.Her sister's disease gets worse,she makes new friends,and so many other things.Both she learns that even if she loses somethings,inside she really still has them.Raina Telegemeier made a wonderfully moving story about the power of friendship and family,and the power of courage that we never believed we had.I hope you love it read it a 1,000 time and love it with all your heart! Love you guys!
            • 400bella
              400bellaThursday, May 25, 2017 at 2:50 pm55 stars
              This book was super good. Raina Telgemeier is my favorite author. This book is about a teenage girl that has to move to a new town because her little sister is really sick. When they get there people try to convince them that Ghosts are real. On Halloween they find out they are and make some good friends.
              • coolgirl124
                coolgirl124Thursday, May 18, 2017 at 5:00 pm
                love it
                • fireblazer
                  fireblazerThursday, May 18, 2017 at 5:00 pm
                  Then read it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                  • am12896
                    am12896Thursday, May 18, 2017 at 5:00 pm
                    It is.
                    • goofball2000
                      goofball2000Thursday, May 18, 2017 at 5:00 pm55 stars
                      my friend Mara is going to let me borrow her copy. i heard it is a good book. i think i will like it

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      twong
                      twong wrote:

                      Rodrick really did staying home
                      Rodrick Rules (Diary of a Wimpy ...

                      twong
                      twong wrote:

                      the party looked so fun and the ...
                      Double Down

                      twong
                      twong wrote:

                      when they were making the about ...
                      Double Down

                      foxtastic
                      foxtastic wrote:

                      I LOVE NARWHAL AND JELLY!!
                      Super Narwhal and Jelly Jolt: A ...