Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 3n/a2.65487
Catrina and her family are moving to the coast of Northern California because her little sister, Maya, is sick. Cat isn't happy about leaving her friends for Bahía de la Luna, but Maya has cystic fibrosis and will benefit from the cool, salty air that blows in from the sea. As the girls explore their new home, a neighbor lets them in on a secret: There are ghosts in Bahía de la Luna. Maya is determined to meet one, but Cat wants nothing to do with them. As the time of year when ghosts reunite with their loved ones approaches, Cat must figure out how to put aside her fears for her sister's sake -- and her own.

Raina Telgemeier has masterfully created a moving and insightful story about the power of family and friendship, and how it gives us the courage to do what we never thought possible.

Paperback, 256 pages
Published on September 13, 2016 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545540623
ISBN-13: 9780545540629
404 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ohiost8
    ohiost8Sunday, May 24, 2020 at 2:46 pm33 stars
    It is ok
    • pizzagirl7
      pizzagirl7Tuesday, May 19, 2020 at 12:15 pm55 stars
      Cats sister Maya has cystic fibrosis it affects your breathing..so cats entire family is moving.when they move they meet a boy that talks about ghosts a lot. cat is always really worried about maya.and when Maya comes in contact with a ghost and she has a hard time breathing cat gets really scared .now it's almost day of the dead.Will they talk with more ghosts?!you'll have to read to find out .I recommend this to all ages 😄.I rate this book 4/5 stars 😁. Thank you for this review! -Pizzagirl7💋
      • lilabug
        lilabugTuesday, May 12, 2020 at 1:03 pm55 stars
        It's really good i love all the Raina Telgemeier. Her books are all realy good . I have almost read them all of them! so good! (:
        • SAY CHEESE!Tuesday, May 5, 2020 at 10:31 am
          I have something to say. I want to know if this book is scary. I have a fear of ghosts, and get creeped out by horror books, and from what I know, Raina doesn't write scary books. So, is this a scary book about MEAN ghosts, or a nice, funny book about friendly ghosts? (As you can tell, I haven't read this yet.)
          • bookfan2008
            bookfan2008Tuesday, May 5, 2020 at 6:34 am55 stars
            This book is about a girl named Cat and her sister Maya. In this story they move to bahda de luna beacause it's hard for maya to breath. Cat isn't really happy about that. But things get more crazy when they go on a walk after unpacking to a cloudy beach and to a game area where they meet this weird boy who starts talking about a ghost tour! They turn out to be neighbors and Cat and Maya go ever to they house for dinner ( And the parents) The food there is really good so they boy offers to give them these really good cookies if they come on the ghost tour, they agree! But then crazy stuff happens! Read this book to find out more!
            • sylvie55555
              sylvie55555Saturday, May 2, 2020 at 7:44 am55 stars
              I love this book! This book is written by the author Raina Telegemier, and I think that it is amazing. In this book middle school Caterina (or Cat for short) has just learned that she is moving, and she and her family are on their way to their new home in Southern California. Her parents say that they are moving because of her dad's job, but Cat knows the real reason, her sister, Maya. Maya has a disease that affects her lungs. She was born with it and there is no cure for it. But, moving to southern California can help her lungs. After meeting a ghost obsessed boy as the first person they see in town, Cat is even more convinced that this town is crazy. But there may be more truth to what the boy says then they think, and Maya is determined to find out, even if Cat isn't sure. But when Maya has an unexpected accident, Cat must find the bravery in within herself to find the future. I think this book is really well written and conquers some hard topics in a really good way. If you likes this book you should read the book 5 feet Apart. I hope that you enjoyed this book and this book review! Happy Reading!
              • peixinFriday, May 1, 2020 at 12:05 am
                i love this story is the best off my life eek
                • gak893
                  gak893Friday, April 24, 2020 at 11:27 am55 stars
                  It amazing i like it
                  • gak893
                    gak893Friday, April 24, 2020 at 11:26 am55 stars
                    This is very good i like it it amazing
                    • Unicornpup04 Thursday, March 26, 2020 at 11:19 am
                      I love this book. It is about a girl and her sister who move to California .And find out that ghost live there. This is a AWESOME book!