Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5n/a4.639562
A National Book Award Finalist for Young People’s Literature.

Ghost wants to be the fastest sprinter on his elite middle school track team, but his past is slowing him down in this first electrifying novel of a brand-new series from Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe Award–winning author Jason Reynolds.

Ghost. Lu. Patina. Sunny. Four kids from wildly different backgrounds with personalities that are explosive when they clash. But they are also four kids chosen for an elite middle school track team—a team that could qualify them for the Junior Olympics if they can get their acts together. They all have a lot to lose, but they also have a lot to prove, not only to each other, but to themselves.

Ghost has a crazy natural talent, but no formal training. If he can stay on track, literally and figuratively, he could be the best sprinter in the city. But Ghost has been running for the wrong reasons—it all starting with running away from his father, who, when Ghost was a very little boy, chased him and his mother through their apartment, then down the street, with a loaded gun, aiming to kill. Since then, Ghost has been the one causing problems—and running away from them—until he meets Coach, an ex-Olympic Medalist who blew his own shot at success by using drugs, and who is determined to keep other kids from blowing their shots at life.
Paperback, 208 pages
Published on August 29, 2017 by Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books
ISBN-10: 1481450166
ISBN-13: 9781481450164
18 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lawalex
    lawalexTuesday, June 18, 2019 at 2:02 pm55 stars
    This start to the Track series is a really cool story of a troubled boy that finds running track to be his happy place. I recomend reading the other books in the series!
    • soso17970
      soso17970Wednesday, May 22, 2019 at 8:21 pm44 stars
      Despite being short, this was actually a very deep book. Ghost is a runner on the Defnders track team that tries to hide from his past. He now lives with his single mother who struggles to raise him. Ghost is very fast, but this lack of proper equipment becuase his family is poor slows him down. Ghost makes many mistakes, but throughout the book, he learns to control his anger and to trust other people such as his coach and team. Worth reading!
      • im-riddikulus
        im-riddikulusMonday, May 20, 2019 at 4:23 am33 stars
        Ghost is the wonderful story of a boy who runs. He has gone through hard times before, and running helos hum get his feelings out. I suggest this book to 4th grade and up.
        • futbolmagicican
          futbolmagicicanWednesday, December 19, 2018 at 4:35 pm55 stars
          This was an amazing book! Especially for wanna be runners this book really hit it home. With the perfect balance between love, poverty, friendship and crime this book is sure to be a fan or at least make you top ten.
          • ytgamergirl
            ytgamergirlWednesday, December 19, 2018 at 2:35 pm55 stars
            I recommend this book because this book is filled with tons of thrill and puts you on the edge of your seat.
            • kalliarkos
              kalliarkosFriday, October 26, 2018 at 3:15 pm55 stars
              Really good!
              • slytherinfan
                slytherinfanMonday, September 24, 2018 at 4:05 pm55 stars
                Poor Ghost. He's been 𝘳𝘶𝘯𝘯𝘪𝘯𝘨 from his life, not for it.
                • Agirl0207Monday, August 6, 2018 at 8:33 am
                  Hey does anyone know the conflict of the book Ghost?
                  • futbolmagicican
                    futbolmagicicanWednesday, December 19, 2018 at 4:36 pm55 stars
                    Its really a charecter vs. self conflict
                  • b-dogMonday, March 5, 2018 at 8:25 am
                    this book is very good and I read it in 3rd grade.
                    • truesunshine
                      truesunshineWednesday, October 18, 2017 at 3:43 pm55 stars
                      One of the best books. It's about a boy named Castle with a talent, a running talent. He likes to be called ghost & is on the track team. His father tried to shoot him, which I found tragic. I don't want to spoil this book TO much for the people thinking of reading it, that's why i'm not going to say much even though I could write like 6 more paragraphs about this book! If you're planning on reading this, DO IT. I swear, you will like it!