Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5n/a4.639562
A National Book Award Finalist for Young People’s Literature.

Ghost wants to be the fastest sprinter on his elite middle school track team, but his past is slowing him down in this first electrifying novel of a brand-new series from Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe Award–winning author Jason Reynolds.

Ghost. Lu. Patina. Sunny. Four kids from wildly different backgrounds with personalities that are explosive when they clash. But they are also four kids chosen for an elite middle school track team—a team that could qualify them for the Junior Olympics if they can get their acts together. They all have a lot to lose, but they also have a lot to prove, not only to each other, but to themselves.

Ghost has a crazy natural talent, but no formal training. If he can stay on track, literally and figuratively, he could be the best sprinter in the city. But Ghost has been running for the wrong reasons—it all starting with running away from his father, who, when Ghost was a very little boy, chased him and his mother through their apartment, then down the street, with a loaded gun, aiming to kill. Since then, Ghost has been the one causing problems—and running away from them—until he meets Coach, an ex-Olympic Medalist who blew his own shot at success by using drugs, and who is determined to keep other kids from blowing their shots at life.
Paperback, 208 pages
Published on August 29, 2017 by Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books
ISBN-10: 1481450166
ISBN-13: 9781481450164
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • kalliarkos
    kalliarkosFriday, October 26, 2018 at 3:15 pm55 stars
    Really good!
    • slytherinfan
      slytherinfanMonday, September 24, 2018 at 4:05 pm55 stars
      Poor Ghost. He's been 𝘳𝘶𝘯𝘯𝘪𝘯𝘨 from his life, not for it.
      • Agirl0207Monday, August 6, 2018 at 8:33 am
        Hey does anyone know the conflict of the book Ghost?
        • b-dogMonday, March 5, 2018 at 8:25 am
          this book is very good and I read it in 3rd grade.
          • truesunshine
            truesunshineWednesday, October 18, 2017 at 3:43 pm55 stars
            One of the best books. It's about a boy named Castle with a talent, a running talent. He likes to be called ghost & is on the track team. His father tried to shoot him, which I found tragic. I don't want to spoil this book TO much for the people thinking of reading it, that's why i'm not going to say much even though I could write like 6 more paragraphs about this book! If you're planning on reading this, DO IT. I swear, you will like it!
            • BrendanMonday, October 16, 2017 at 9:36 am
              Best book ever i loved it so much!
              • JacobMonday, October 16, 2017 at 9:36 am
                best book ever i loved it so much
                • LoganSunday, May 7, 2017 at 3:32 pm
                  where is the setting in the book?
                  • acallender
                    acallenderMonday, December 19, 2016 at 11:39 am55 stars
                    This book was about a boy name castle and how he likes to be called ghost .His farther try to shoot him and his mom for leaving him and as they flee they hid in basment of a store of Mr.charles , thye called the police and dad got arrested.And how castle used to get in a lot of trouble at school getting a lot of alterations and how after school castle didnt like going home after school so one day he went to the track and saw these kids running on a track team and how this kid was fast lu and how the coach was acting like no one can catch up to him or beat him so castle challenged him and he was just as fast as him even probaly beated him and how the coach put castle on the team and he couldn't get any more trouble in school.
                    • isaac2169
                      isaac2169Thursday, December 8, 2016 at 7:54 am
                      Have you ever wondered what it would be like to get chased by your own dad with a gun. My book is Ghost by Jason Reynolds. The book’s setting is in modern times and it takes place in at the track field and middle school. The protagonist or main character is cash he is a african american boy who runs like no other boy on his middle school elite track team. He calls himself ghost he has two friends and is poor. First conflict is: he really doesn’t have a father figure in his life because his father tried to shoot his mom and him. So they ran to a little general store down the street where Mr.Charles the owner works they hid in back closet from his dad. The second conflict is this bully at school he bullies him about his clothes and that his mom works in a Cafeteria. He attempts to solve one of the conflicts by ignoring the bully but he can’t hold back and knocks the bully on the jaw. I would recommend this book to an audience of a mature level because it has some violence and swears other than that I personally think you should read this book.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Elizabeth67 wrote:

                      We love this show and the episod...
                      The Loud House #5: “The Man with...

                      starsky89
                      starsky89 wrote:

                      I can't really write a proper re...
                      The Unwanteds

                      starsky89
                      starsky89 wrote:

                      This book is great!! Defiantly r...
                      Echoes of Us (Hybrid Chronicles)

                      starsky89
                      starsky89 wrote:

                      This book is great!! Defiantly r...
                      Once We Were

                      Our Apps and Plugins