Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5n/a4.639562
A National Book Award Finalist for Young People’s Literature.

Ghost wants to be the fastest sprinter on his elite middle school track team, but his past is slowing him down in this first electrifying novel of a brand-new series from Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe Award–winning author Jason Reynolds.

Ghost. Lu. Patina. Sunny. Four kids from wildly different backgrounds with personalities that are explosive when they clash. But they are also four kids chosen for an elite middle school track team—a team that could qualify them for the Junior Olympics if they can get their acts together. They all have a lot to lose, but they also have a lot to prove, not only to each other, but to themselves.

Ghost has a crazy natural talent, but no formal training. If he can stay on track, literally and figuratively, he could be the best sprinter in the city. But Ghost has been running for the wrong reasons—it all starting with running away from his father, who, when Ghost was a very little boy, chased him and his mother through their apartment, then down the street, with a loaded gun, aiming to kill. Since then, Ghost has been the one causing problems—and running away from them—until he meets Coach, an ex-Olympic Medalist who blew his own shot at success by using drugs, and who is determined to keep other kids from blowing their shots at life.
Paperback, 208 pages
Published on August 29, 2017 by Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books
ISBN-10: 1481450166
ISBN-13: 9781481450164
16 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • corinnethepanda
    corinnethepandaMonday, May 20, 2019 at 4:23 am33 stars
    Ghost is the wonderful story of a boy who runs. He has gone through hard times before, and running helos hum get his feelings out. I suggest this book to 4th grade and up.
    • futbolmagicican
      futbolmagicicanWednesday, December 19, 2018 at 4:35 pm55 stars
      This was an amazing book! Especially for wanna be runners this book really hit it home. With the perfect balance between love, poverty, friendship and crime this book is sure to be a fan or at least make you top ten.
      • ytgamergirl
        ytgamergirlWednesday, December 19, 2018 at 2:35 pm55 stars
        I recommend this book because this book is filled with tons of thrill and puts you on the edge of your seat.
        • kalliarkos
          kalliarkosFriday, October 26, 2018 at 3:15 pm55 stars
          Really good!
          • slytherinfan
            slytherinfanMonday, September 24, 2018 at 4:05 pm55 stars
            Poor Ghost. He's been 𝘳𝘶𝘯𝘯𝘪𝘯𝘨 from his life, not for it.
            • Agirl0207Monday, August 6, 2018 at 8:33 am
              Hey does anyone know the conflict of the book Ghost?
              • futbolmagicican
                futbolmagicicanWednesday, December 19, 2018 at 4:36 pm55 stars
                Its really a charecter vs. self conflict
              • b-dogMonday, March 5, 2018 at 8:25 am
                this book is very good and I read it in 3rd grade.
                • truesunshine
                  truesunshineWednesday, October 18, 2017 at 3:43 pm55 stars
                  One of the best books. It's about a boy named Castle with a talent, a running talent. He likes to be called ghost & is on the track team. His father tried to shoot him, which I found tragic. I don't want to spoil this book TO much for the people thinking of reading it, that's why i'm not going to say much even though I could write like 6 more paragraphs about this book! If you're planning on reading this, DO IT. I swear, you will like it!
                  • BrendanMonday, October 16, 2017 at 9:36 am
                    Best book ever i loved it so much!
                    • JacobMonday, October 16, 2017 at 9:36 am
                      best book ever i loved it so much