Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.640235
Each day, Rusty feeds a dog that's left chained in the frigid weather with no shelter and no food or water. When he realizes that the dog's been injured, Rusty and his friend Andrew unchain the dog and take it. Are they stealing, or are they rescuing a dog in need?

With the dog living in their secret hideout, the boys face multiple challenges, including a mysterious ghost dog that tries to lead them to a startling secret, Andrew's snoopy sister, and the escalating threats of the dog's abusive owner. The fast-paced suspense builds to a surprising conclusion, which will leave young readers cheering for Rusty's compassion and determination.

Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on September 2, 2010 by Dutton Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0525421785
ISBN-13: 9780525421788
19 Book Reviews
  • nataliab
    nataliabFriday, December 4, 2015 at 10:51 am44 stars
    I love ghost dog secrets. It was the bomb. I love how Rusty dos everything he can to save the mistreated German shepherd. I also think that Mean Man Meyers is quite the name. It is one of the most interesting books ever.
    • wayleb
      waylebTuesday, October 13, 2015 at 5:23 am
      Do you like dogs? Do you believe in ghosts? If you do then this is a book for you. It's called Ghost Dog Secrets by Peg Kehret. In the beginning of the book the main character Rusty, sees a dog chained to a tree with no food, no water, and no shelter. The protagonists are Rusty and Andrew, and the antagonists are the dog owner and Gerald. Rusty feeds the dog everyday and gives him water. Rusty and Andrew take the chained dog and name it Ra. This is a really good book, it has action, and fantasy, oh yeah in the 2nd chapter there's a ghost dog that helps Rusty help the dog. I hope you like this book. The book starts at Rusty's house.
      • shaeWednesday, May 6, 2015 at 6:45 am
        A dog that Rusty and Andrew found is being abused. Will they rescue Ra? Or nah? Youll have to read youre self!
        • kayleea664
          kayleea664Monday, February 9, 2015 at 6:20 pm
          This dog is being abused by this kids neighbor so Ben(the kid)goes to his house everyday to feed him but then he finds out the the guy has a mariwana factory so he calls the cops and your going to have to find out what happens.... Very good book.
          • ShayThursday, January 29, 2015 at 7:26 am
            It's a good book and spooky too
            • jvanpelt
              jvanpeltWednesday, January 28, 2015 at 11:29 am55 stars
              This is such a good book
              • s36453
                s36453Thursday, January 15, 2015 at 7:10 am
                This book is a great, and sad, story about a tortured dog. I think this is one of my absolute favorites!:)
                • s40345
                  s40345Thursday, January 15, 2015 at 7:08 am33 stars
                  i decided to read this book because it looked interesting I liked it because he kept Ra at the end.
                  • xxjoemamaxx
                    xxjoemamaxxMonday, December 8, 2014 at 9:48 am55 stars
                    this book is cool and I just finished it :D
                    • despinoza1
                      despinoza1Thursday, December 4, 2014 at 11:50 am44 stars
                      This is a very good book. It is very adventurous. There are a lot of mysteries that the main character, Rusty, has to discover. If you like mystery or adventure books I recommend you read this book.