Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5n/a4.741907

"Meet the new Ramona Quimby!" -- Entertainment Weekly

Gertie Reece Foy is 100% Not-From-Concentrate awesome. She has a daddy who works on an oil rig, a great-aunt who always finds the lowest prices at the Piggly Wiggly, and two loyal best friends. So when her absent mother decides to move away from their small town, Gertie sets out on her greatest mission yet: becoming the best fifth grader in the universe to show her mother exactly what she'll be leaving behind. There's just one problem: Seat-stealing new girl Mary Sue Spivey wants to be the best fifth grader, too. And there is simply not enough room at the top for the two of them.

From debut author Kate Beasley, and with illustrations by Caldecott Honor artist Jillian Tamaki, comes a classic tale of hope and homecoming that will empty your heart, then fill it back up again--one laugh at a time.

Paperback, 256 pages
Published on April 3, 2018 by Square Fish
ISBN-10: 1250143748
ISBN-13: 9781250143747
38 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • ajg15
    ajg15Thursday, August 30, 2018 at 12:52 pm33 stars
    Gertie Reece Roy is a fifth-grader on a mission. She lives with her aunt rae and her dad. Her mom left when she was baby an moved to a different neighborhood. Gerties #1 mission is to become the world's greatest fifth-grader!! There's just one teeny tiny problem, the new girl Mary Spivey who moved all the way from California to Alabama, her dad is a movie director and everyone thinks she is just the greatest thing ever. Gertie is not about to fail her mission and she is prepared to do WHATEVER it takes to become the best! I loved the book I thought it was cute and I liked Gerties fiery spirit. Thanks for reading -Ajg15's Reviews
    • pizzagirl7
      pizzagirl7Tuesday, August 28, 2018 at 10:48 am44 stars
      Gerties leap to greatness /////////////ok I loved this book!I didn't like it last year I don't know what was wrong with me!!LOL ok so I rate this 4 stars and recommend it to preteensπŸ˜ƒ ok so this book is about gertie Reece foy. so Gerties mission is to help a big bill from come back to life and it worked ! πŸ˜ƒ πŸ˜ƒ πŸ˜ƒ now Gerties mission is to be the best fifth grader in the world! But Mary sue (Gerties classmate) during this book there is so much adventure and gerties aunt ,aunt rae helps her through out the book does gertie become the best fifth grader ever???you have to read the book allllll the way!!!!it was AMAZING! Thank you so so so much for reading πŸ“š-pizzagirl7!!! πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜ƒ πŸ˜ƒ πŸ˜ƒ πŸ˜ƒ πŸ˜ƒ πŸ˜ƒ πŸ˜ƒ
      • happy_cat
        happy_catFriday, August 10, 2018 at 9:33 am55 stars
        Gertie Foy is mad 😑 . *really mad*. Mrs. Foy, her mother, wants to move away from the beloved town that they dwell in! 😞 But Gertie won’t go without a fight πŸ‘ŠπŸ» . She has a goal to become a great 5th grader - the greatest to ever live! But things don’t always come on a silver platter... Snotty Mary Spivey also has her piercing eyes πŸ‘€ on that goal, too! What was a girl to do? Find out with this πŸ˜† humorous story! Beasley really knows how to write her books β™₯️
        • jwarne
          jwarneMonday, August 6, 2018 at 1:37 pm44 stars
          I didn't want to read this book based on the cover, but I gave it a chance, and I'm really glad I did. I was really sad that Gertie's mom was so absent. I was sad that she felt like she had to get her to love her. But, I really liked her friends. She was lucky to have such good friends.
          • readingkendal
            readingkendalTuesday, July 17, 2018 at 12:23 pm55 stars
            Gertie has her eye on becoming greatest 5th grader in the world but every time she tries things don't go right because of the new kid in her class, Mary Sue Spivey ( who’s dad is a filmmaker and gets to hang out with movie stars). Though Gertie never gives up because Gertie is not like most kids. There is a reason that she wants to become the greatest 5th grader, to impress her mom ( who is divorced with Gertie’s dad) that she was wrong about leaving Gertie and her dad .Gertie tries and tries to beat Mary Sue. Will her efforts pay off or will it all be for nothing?
            • jso6
              jso6Sunday, July 1, 2018 at 1:53 pm11 star
              I thought this book would be better than it was because of all of the positive reviews, but it was pretty boring. Gertie wants to be the best fifth grader in the world, to try to impress her mom, but a girl at school wants to the best, too.
              • belle252
                belle252Thursday, June 28, 2018 at 7:30 pm44 stars
                This is such a nice inspiring book i read this again after finishing it its about a little girl that is amazing and this book is abut that one step which is all it takes
                • extrememsb
                  extrememsbSaturday, June 23, 2018 at 9:39 am44 stars
                  Meet Gertie Reece Foy, a fifth grader who never gives up on missions. She has completed everyone of her missions. After her mother( Rachael Collins) left and gt married to this guy named Walter, Gertie has a new mission, to become the best fifth grader ever. Easy, right. the only new problem is the new seat stealing girl Mary Sue Spivy. Her father is a film producer and worked in a lot of films with this actress named Jessica Walters. Her mother is this environmental protection agent. Everybody loves this new girl, even the teacher ms Simms loves her. Gertie never gives up so, she will do anything it takes to complete her missions. Even if it means that people don't like her. Follow her adventures as she tries to complete her mission to become the best fifth grader ever. I think this was a great book. I think it would be for grades three and up. This was an awesome book. I would recommend it to anyone! This was a great book!
                  • awesomessb
                    awesomessbTuesday, June 19, 2018 at 5:40 pm44 starsFeatured
                    Gertie Reece Foy never gives up on her missions. She hasn't and she will never. She lives with her dad and her great-aunt-Rae. When her absent mother decides to move away with someone named Walter, Gertie decides she will become the greatest fifth grader ever. There is also a new seat steeler, Mary Sue Spivey this year. Her father is a famous director. She is also smart. With her two best friends Junior Parks Jr. and Jean, they will help Gertie become the best. Gertie decides to do something she has never done before- study! However, new problems also arise. Half the plot was a little basic, but the twists and turn were unique. I enjoyed this book. It is a great story for grades 3 and up.
                    • applemango
                      applemangoSunday, June 17, 2018 at 5:49 pm55 stars
                      This author is one of my favorite authors Kate Beasley and I really just love this book!! I have read this book multiple times and each time I saw something new in this book!!! This is one of the first books that my friends have recommended to me and that's how I really became to like then love this book!!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      prestyu
                      prestyu wrote:

                      This is the first Geronimo Stilt...
                      Singing Sensation (Geronimo Stil...

                      hellgirl10981

                      this seems pretty cool? jk, i L...
                      Dark Lord: The Early Years

                      hellgirl10981

                      ummmm, who were the invaders aga...
                      Boxers (Boxers & Saints)

                      pdawg272
                      pdawg272 wrote:

                      this book looks alright i like it.
                      The Sword Thief (The 39 Clues, B...

                      Our Apps and Plugins