Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 12Z5.029177
When people look at George, they think they see a boy. But she knows she's not a boy. She knows she's a girl.

George thinks she'll have to keep this a secret forever. Then her teacher announces that their class play is going to be Charlotte's Web. George really, really, REALLY wants to play Charlotte. But the teacher says she can't even try out for the part . . . because she's a boy.

With the help of her best friend, Kelly, George comes up with a plan. Not just so she can be Charlotte -- but so everyone can know who she is, once and for all.
Paperback, 224 pages
Published on April 25, 2017 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545812577
ISBN-13: 9780545812573
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • SleepeatforeverSaturday, March 23, 2019 at 7:16 pm
    Hi i'm a student in grade 6 and i read this book once and i loved so much, I love how it really shows you some of the situation that a transgender can have. I really enjoy the story and how it flows. I think that the author did a very good job on writing the book and really presenting a life of a transgender person and how it can be a struggle in your everyday life. And i enjoyed how this book shows all the bullying and horrible things that happen to a transgender person. This book is amazing, for the people who have not read George yet it is time to have a gripping read!
    • girlforgreen
      girlforgreenTuesday, November 6, 2018 at 6:46 am44 stars
      Well... I think it's interesting. However, I would not recommend it for younger audiences. Can get a little... mature. Overall, though, I feel this is a good book for people (especially for kids) to learn and understand the feelings and point of view of a transgender person.
      • futazahyxumepe
        futazahyxumepeTuesday, May 22, 2018 at 11:37 am55 stars
        This is a REALLY great book, I think this might have been my favorite! I think a good age range would be 11-15. because there are a lot of things in here children could not understand and a few slightly mature matter that just take you being older to truly get. The book is about a born male in 5th grade named George who is becoming a girl, he tries to audition for Charolette in the school play, but the theatre teacher says it's a girl role. Overall this book is truly inspiring and amazing!
        • mrsponge76
          mrsponge76Wednesday, May 2, 2018 at 9:21 am55 stars
          this book was amazing. it is a tiny bit inappropriate. so i think it is good for ages 11 to 24. it has a good story line the characters are good and it was interesting from the start so yea
          • grapefruit
            grapefruitThursday, February 22, 2018 at 2:16 am44 stars
            Meet George. She is a girl, though trapped in the body of a male with no way out. With her girly magazines and a make-believe name--Melissa, she longs to be 100 percent girl, complete with girl body parts and frilly dresses. So on the day of the Charlotte's web play her class is putting on, she decides to take her friend Kelley's place as Charlotte, the star of the show. Can she prove that she is a girl? Or will she have to hide herself forever? This book was good but it was awkward and unsuitable for little kids in some parts. Recommended for above 10's.
            • semuelita
              semuelitaMonday, January 15, 2018 at 6:54 am55 stars
              George is just a kid, going to school like everyone else. When others see George, they see a boy. George is, biologically, a male. But George doesn't feel like a boy. George wants to be a girl. She thinks that she needs to hold this secret for her entire life. Just tough it out as a boy. Then, the class play comes rolling around. Charlotte's Web. George can't wait to participate, but she doesn't want to be Wilbur or Templeton. She wants to be Charlotte. But her teacher wouldn't even let her try out... since she's a boy. George and her best friend, Kelly, hatch a secret plan to get George to play Charlotte, and to let everyone know that you don't have to be what society calls you. To accept everyone, no matter their quirks.
              • megank
                megankWednesday, December 2, 2015 at 7:26 am33 stars
                George, by Alex Gino, is a book describing a boy being a transgender and trying to figure out who he is. When you look at him, he's obviously a boy, but his inside is a girl who's caring and depressed. At first, George tries to keep her true identity a secret, but when their class is having a play of Charlotte's Web, George is motivated to show who he really is. With the help of her best friend, Kelly, she helps her gain confidence and lets her express her opinions freely. Will George get the role of her true identity? I loved how the book was simple and straight forward about this "awkward" topic. My favorite character of this book will definitely be Kelly because she's just such a free spirited, hyper, unique, and generous person that is willing to help George no matter what. This book really taught me a lot about being ourselves and not being afraid to show our unique and different side, because that's what makes us all so special :)
                • melodyf
                  melodyfWednesday, November 11, 2015 at 4:07 pm33 starsFeatured
                  When you look at George, he is a boy. But when you really see him, he has a heart of a girl. George thinks she'll have to keep this secret forever. Her days as a boy was miserable. Until her teacher announces that their class play is going to be based on the book, Charlotte's Web. George goal was to play Charlotte, but no one accepts this idea except for Kelly, her best friend. This is George's perfect chance to let everyone see who she truly is. How will her best friend, Kelly, help her? What is their secret plan? I wasn't sure if I want to read this book at first, however throughout the story, I felt like Alex Gino is really doing a great job on implying the importance on expressing yourself. I felt like this book somehow relates to a person I know. My favorite character in this book is Kelly, because I felt like even though she is possibly crazy, she is unique in her own way and willing to help others. I think that this book is an inspiration to many people. After reading this book, I learn that in order to survive through school and any circumstances, it is very important to express your own opinion, ideas, thoughts, and show who you truly is. "Full of wonder, hope and the importance of getting to be who you are meant to be"