Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 8X5.047893
Lois Lowry once again creates a mysterious but plausible future world. It is a society ruled by savagery and deceit that shuns and discards the weak. Left orphaned and physically flawed, young Kira faces a frightening, uncertain future. Blessed with an almost magical talent that keeps her alive, she struggles with ever broadening responsibilities in her quest for truth, discovering things that will change her life forever.
As she did in THE GIVER, Lowry challenges readers to imagine what our world could become, how people could evolve, and what could be considered valuable. Every reader will be taken by Kira’s plight and will long ponder her haunting world and the hope for the future.
Paperback, 256 pages
Published on March 5, 2013 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0547904142
ISBN-13: 9780547904146
29 Book Reviews
  • thesmessywriter
    thesmessywriterMonday, February 8, 2021 at 3:47 pm55 stars
    kira is so brave and amazing and thomas is adorable but can we all agree that matt (matty) is the best and funny i love that he's so loyal to kira!
    • hunlon2021
      hunlon2021Tuesday, January 26, 2021 at 11:10 am55 stars
      Deceit is an awful thing, is it not? Kira was deceived her whole life by the only thing she knew. Kira is a girl that has been through quite a bit, and has to face more and more! Kira is faced with the task that reflects on all things alive. She also lives next to a forest and what seems like a “field”. She lacks the right to choose as she only is a two-digit. As Kira continues with her task she finds an unsettling secret that has to be unearthed! What will she do I wonder? Will she make the right choice in all of this? The book Gathering Blue gives an amazing story with amazing characters. I think you should read this book if you enjoy more of a dystopian setting and the previous book The Giver.
      • lovetoread26
        lovetoread26Saturday, July 11, 2020 at 12:21 pm44 stars
        Great book! Only problems are a. It has nothing to do with the first book and b. The surprises aren’t even that surprising. But on the positive side, the book has a great plot, and it has great character development. Kira has just suffered from the loss of her mother. Her cott is burned to get rid of the sickness. Her leg is crippled and she has nowhere to go. To top it off, nasty Vandara wants to take her land and send Kira to her death. Vandara brings Kira to the council, where they acknowledge her skill with needle and thread and give her a place to stay. Kira is satisfied until she digs up ugly truths about her community, and she doesn’t know what is real anymore. Most readers will love this sequel to The Giver!
        • joshua54321
          joshua54321Thursday, March 12, 2020 at 2:38 pm55 stars
          The connection I made was that Kira had a twisted leg, and once my sister had an injury in her arm. This book is about a girl named Kira, who had to watch her mother pass away, with a twisted leg. However, she soon realizes that the Council, and their purposes, are not what they seem to be. I rate this book a five star because I love reading books by Lois Lowry, and this is another great book by her.
          • heavytoothpaste
            heavytoothpasteMonday, October 28, 2019 at 7:11 pm55 stars
            Kira, an orphan with a twisted leg, lives in a world where the weak are cast aside. She fears for her future until she is spared by the app-powerful Council of Guardians. Kira is a gifted weaver and is assigned a task that no other community members can carry out. Though her talent keeps her alive and brings certain privileges, Kira soon realizes that mysteries and secrets surround her. No one must of her plans to uncover the truth about her world-- and to find out what exists beyond it.
            • celia_berry13
              celia_berry13Wednesday, June 5, 2019 at 8:50 am55 stars
              This book is so sweet! I recommend it to people ages 9 and up. It's a good book for people who enjoy books by Lowis Lowry.
              • snibborj
                snibborjSaturday, May 26, 2018 at 12:06 am55 stars
                I love how the books in this series intertwine without just being a continuation of the story from the last book. This is about kira who was born disabled and is shunned by her community because of it. Until the counsel finds use for her and she is made to sew and fix a ceremonial robe. She is happy to be accepted finally, but during her time spent so close to the council she fimds out they might not be so good after all.
                • k2lit
                  k2litMonday, April 9, 2018 at 10:47 am44 stars
                  this has been a very good book so far and I hope to finish it soon I got 3 chapters left to read
                  • gtaylor505
                    gtaylor505Thursday, November 2, 2017 at 10:46 am55 stars
                    A companion book to The Giver, Gathering Blue is about a young girl with a disability in her leg who lives in a dystopian society that shuns the weak or deformed. I highly recommend this book, as well as the companion books by this author.
                    • cheetahluver
                      cheetahluverFriday, January 29, 2016 at 3:03 pm55 stars
                      Gathering Blue is about a girl named Kira who loses her mother to a disease. Since her father was killed by the beasts, she is all alone, until the Council takes her in, seeing her extraordinary skill with weaving. At first, she is told that she will be working on the Singer's robe that will be worn for the Song that he sings every year. However, she soon realizes that the Council, and their purposes, are not what they seem to be. This book is the sequel to the Giver, and it is just as good.